Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Dec 28, 2016
1. No housekeeping. 2. Restaurant on site was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. I hope you had a chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast and dinner on Christmas Day & Boxing Day. Our 24 hour guest services was available for any needs in your room as well. I hope you have another chance to come and try our hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

great view of beautiful Portage street in Winnipeg

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: There is a pizza shop inside the hotel
Cons: A free chocolate on the pillow?
I drank wine in my room alone and watched hockey until I fell asleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. We appreciate all guest feedback and find it a powerful tool as we continue to improve our hotel. Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Breakfasts were great 2/3 mornings. Last morning, eggs cold, order mix up and waited 15 minutes AFTER eggs were eaten before receiving toast. Three other guests also left dining room as they did not receive their meals in a timely fashion
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience here at the Holiday Inn and Suites Winnipeg Downtown. I am happy you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location and that you were pleased with the service and would also like to apologize that your restaurant experience was not 100% satisfactory. We have had a few new additions to our restaurant and will be sure to use your feedback and review your experience with those whom were here during your visit to ensure all our guests get the service we strive to achieve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good value downtown hotel, some street noise

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Stayed here 3 times in October, very happy with hotel, but third visit was given room overlooking busy intersection, so some street noise. Breakfast sometimes slow in arriving and not cheap if not included in room rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very Central

Posted Sep 22, 2016
It is a great place to stay in the heart of the city. Thanks Holiday Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for taking the time to post a review of the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown. We appreciate your kind comments about your stay and we look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to Winnipeg!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

we had a nice stay close to mts centre

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: close to downtown
Cons: more coffee in room
Location: mts centre
had a good sleep I don't wish to add any more mmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmm
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for taking the time to post a review of the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown. I am happy you had the chance to take advantage of all we have to offer with our great location and that you were pleased with the service we strive to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Room smelled of smoke disguised by air freshner. Breakfast service took forever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by amanda.janz@whg.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. I would like to apologize your stay was not 100% satisfactory. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us, and we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We are committed to every possible effort to provide a pleasant environment and comfortable accommodations. I would like to apologize that your restaurant experience was not 100% satisfactory. We have had a few new additions to our restaurant and will be sure to use your feedback and review your experience with those whom were here during your visit to ensure all our guests get the service we strive to achieve. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay, Ontario.

Super location.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
A clean and friendly hotel located in the heart of Winnipeg. The location is central for getting around. 5 minutes from The Forks, Museums, etc. Bus routes available. University of Winnipeg and Booth College University are at your door step. Although we had to pay for the parking, using our hotel key for access it was easily accessed with an elevator and well lit, which I feel is important especially for us gals. Nice pool and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We always appreciate our guests feed back. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from regina sk

All you need

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Went up to Winnipeg for the Hip concert this hotel was everything we needed and close enough to walk to the MLS centre, it was clean and centrally located to everything we wanted to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your feedback. We love reading thorough and candid reviews such as yours. It's great to know you had a wonderful stay with us and that you were able to explore our great city. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location for what we needed was good

Posted Jul 26, 2016
It was just ok, the staff was friendly, they didn't clean our room one day and didn't seem very concerned about it, the bathroom sink didn't drain properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I would like to apologize your stay was not 100% satisfactory. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us, and we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We are committed to every possible effort to provide a pleasant environment and comfortable accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.