Featured Image

Reviews of Winthrop Inn

2 out of 5
Winthrop Inn
960 Highway 20, Winthrop, WA

Overall score and ratings

3.9

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 95 out of 330 reviews
5 - Excellent 29%
Rating 4 - Good. 143 out of 330 reviews
4 - Good 43%
Rating 3 - Okay. 58 out of 330 reviews
3 - Okay 18%
Rating 2 - Poor. 23 out of 330 reviews
2 - Poor 7%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 11 out of 330 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

4.0/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

3.6/5

Amenities

3.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Quiet
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Always clean, quiet and so comfy Good buy ..best in town
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Pro: Clean. Comfortable bed. Good water pressure. Con: Wall is paper thin. Can clearly hear guests next door.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
it's completely no-contact check-in. i didn't see a soul. office was already closed even tho it was only 630pm when i arrived but checkin process was clearly explained via texting ahead of time. completely exceed my expectation. will definitely stay here when i am in town next time.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The owners are in the process of making some really nice updates to the rooms.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
No management on site...inside access to rooms...no cups provided for the coffee maker... The balcony was nice...easy parking...plesant management on phone... Would'nt choose to stay again...
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
old and decrepid
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Room was nicely organized. Place was quiet.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was a simple room that was clean, inexpensive and conveniently located. Exactly what I hoped for.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
“Functional”, clean, nothing fancy but nice base to explore Winthrop
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
We got a dog friendly queen which has not been renovated in quite some time. The pictures online appear to be for one of their newer rooms which we did not get. Pros: attendant was nice and friendly; easy access to the river from a grassy area which was great for dogs; bed was pretty good. Cons: the room needs updating as carpet, bathroom, shower all need a refresh. Slight smell that required opening a window. Too far from town for walking.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff was super friendly, gave lots of great recommendations! Only negative was the WiFi was pretty bad which made working difficult. But overall a great stay. Excellent location and very comfortable room.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service
Not very up to date for the price. And the lamp shade was completely cracked and falling apart. Most likely will not stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Hair in shower, broken chair on deck, no hair dryer in room, no ice bucket. Overall very disappointing.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice, quiet location.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Staff was great. Very helpful. Hotel needs updating. Surfaces and beds were clean but carpet on floor was in bad need of shampooing/replacing. Convenient location and affordable.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The room was modern and clean. There were just no amenities to enjoy. The pools was empty. It would have been nice to have the pool available for my 8 year old to enjoy, but other than that we had a great time
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent motel at reasonable price
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Showed it's age
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The inn is under renovation, we stayed in an old room which was clean and the beds were comfortable but the room showed it's age.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities
I made the reservations for the wrong day, but didn't know it, so I called the emergency number when there was no one there to check us in. The person who answered the phone, fixed everything and moved our reservations to my preferred day and was very kind about it. They have things pretty well handled, in terms of checking in and out, even if no one is there. The amenities were very limited: The microwave needed repair (heated things up, but the turntable didn't move). The air conditioner and refrigerator were very loud and kept us up most of the night. No clock. No book describing the area and the hotel (a small thing, but it's a nice amenity that we see in most places). Lamp shades were broken. That's all. Other than that, the bed was fine, the TV was tiny, but it worked. I'd give the whole experience an OK rating.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with pets
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Can't say because I didn't stay. Trip plans aborted due to local wildfires closing roads.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Winthrop is great!
Under renovation and we got one of the completed rooms! The new bed was awesome! Great location and many thanks to Chad (manager) for making our stay so comfortable.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
All our power blow out in two rooms and the staff doesn't show up till 9:00 in the morning
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I loved that it was in walking distance to the river. They have a great grassy area just above it. I was thankful it was dog friendly. They are going through some remodeling so we had a remodeled room that was nice. All around is in a great location and quiet.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We stayed to get our dogs away from the fireworks. They are pet friendly. There is plenty of room to walk the dogs. Close to the river. Please note this hotel is on hwy 20. Which does get very quiet at night but keep your dogs on a leash. Room was clean, had a fridge, loved the shampoo and soap. If you are looking for luxury this is not it but this was absolutely perfect for us.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Located light next to the grocery store that is huge plus
Stayed 8 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
We had difficulty with the uneven stairway. I didn't see an elevator.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It was clean, staff was great. The manager was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. I stayed 2 nights and the room was not serviced during the time. I do not require or expect housekeeping to tidy up every day, but an envelope invited me to leave a tip. A continental breakfast was included, but was not available until 9 am, so I could not use it.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff. Good locations with easy access to store and town. Clean and comfortable room.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I booked here knowing it would not be deluxe digs. But since it’s very hot out, the pool swayed me into staying. The pool is defunct- 6” of green water! The non-smoking room smells like an ashtray. The bed is comfortable- thank you! This is one of the most important things and I’m grateful. The staff are friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Terrible
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
This is a cute old school place and the owners are doing lots of gradual updates to modernize and refresh it. Friendly staff. You can walk down to the river behind it. We are adding another night on because this town is so cute and we like the room. Today we will go to the lake nearby to swim and do some more exploring.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
It's in a quiet area with easy parking; however, property condition is in need of repair; wall and floor is thin, you can hear every step upstairs and your neighbor's talk.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
The Inn is located in a great spot if you are looking to be close to Winthrop but not right in the “old downtown” area. We had our bicycles which made riding to the shops and restaurants very easy from the trail across highway 20. The only disappointment was that the pool was completely out of service and that was one of the main reasons we booked there. I even called ahead to ask about towels and nothing was mentioned. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again in the winter as their hot tub was up and running.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Dog friendly Inn
The Inn is a little dated and needs some renovations and I saw that they were in the process of doing that but will take some time to get it all done. Was disappointed that the pool was closed because it was hot outside and would have been nice to cool off. Hopefully they will get the pool done in the next year and it will be awesome. Chad the front desk manager was awesome and very accommodating five stars for Chad! This one of the few dog friendly places to stay in town but unfortunately not a lot of restaurants are dog friendly in town so you will be very limited and I mean very limited. I believe this is do the the current health status but either way we will be leaving our fur babies behind the next time we come over to Winthrop.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Charming quiet spacious and comfortable.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Room was clean and very quiet. Property needs some TLC.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021