Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mrs. P. Tan from Singapore

Great Hotel Location.

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
We chose the Grand Metropark Hotel for its excellent location. It is within the city walls, and just minutes away from the Bell and Drum Towers, as well as the brightly lit and busy Muslim Street, a bazaar street lined with fancy stalls/shops selling authentic food, local snacks and souvenirs, etc. The hotel is big and pleasant, and rooms are generally clean and comfortable. Do note that the hotel appears to be quite popular and fully booked, so check in early if you have preference for non-smoking and/or adjoining rooms (our party of 3 was put in rooms on different levels!). And go down early for breakfast if you don’t want leftovers:(.
5 out of 5
by S.Y. Ong from Singapore

excellent hotel at reasonable price

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our 2 nights at the hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Hotel staff were very helpful, though it would have even more impressive if they spoke more English.
5 out of 5
by Paulette from Sydney

upmarket hotel at a reasonable price

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels
the hotel was in a good location to the city and shopping. about 15 mins walk to city wall. there english was not the best but they tried to understand and help. the rooms were very clean. the food in the restuarants was great. they helped us to get taxis to our location.
5 out of 5
by Belinda from Australia - SA - Adelaide

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Customer service, willingness to help
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Melbourne Aust

Walking distance to just about everywhere

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Service was efficient, the concierge very helpful.
Cons: Soundproofing of higher floor rooms
Location: Lots of shopping centres, local food establishments, access to public transport
The hotel is 20 minute walk from the Bell Tower along a main road and plenty of excellent shopping. The East Gate on the Town Wall is about 15 minutes walk in the other direction. The main Xian railway station is twenty minutes north, and the trendy night life near the south gate is about 30 minutes away on foot. Of course, there are many taxis and buses passing the hotel all the time. My stay was comfortable except for noise coming from an open air diner next door, and the sound of rock music from a shopping complex across the street. The diner shut down at 12:30am ach night, customers or not.
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Adequate Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2012 on Hotels
The Grand Metropark Hotel in Xi'an is an older hotel in a good location. We are a family of four with young kids, so we booked 2 rooms. Upon arrival we learned that there were no adjoining rooms available, so the front desk upgraded us to the family suite, which had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a sitting area. Very nice of them to do that! The room was very clean but smoking was permitted in that room so there was just that "smoky" feeling. The breakfast buffet was large but the food was satisfactory. The location was good for walking to the center of town and lots of shopping/restaurants. It took about an hour to get from the hotel to the terracotta warriors and about 40 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport.
4 out of 5
by A Fisher

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels
Western breakfast much to be desired, not nearly as good as other hotels in China; choices were limited. Was difficult understanding hotel staff, their English was very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location inside the wall

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Great location inside the city wall. Formerly a Hyatt hotel. Nice restaurants. Like many similarly rated hotels we visited in china it appeared to be hotel largely empty. The hotels executive chef spent a few hours walking with us in the Muslim quarters which was a nice gesture.
5 out of 5
by Dave

Nice location and affordable.

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was located within walking distance of the Xian wall which made it easy to hit one of the better in-town destinations. The price was reasonable and the staff was excellent. The atrium has live birds in cages and koi fish. The restaurant was very good. The beds, however were hard and the hotel shows it age a bit. There didn't seem to be a lot of nearby restaurants to choose from. Overall I recommend this hotel for tourists looking for a nice and affordable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2012 on Hotels