Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Barry

A super friendly boutique hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
This is a super friendly boutique hotel. It is set in ruins of UMCA’s St Mary’s School for Girls and the grounds are steeped in history. The hotel is set in a tree covered site that slopes quite steeply down to the beach. It is a really beautiful location, but not necessarily good for people with mobility problems. The staff is great - very friendly and excellent service. The breakfast buffet has an amazing choice of dishes, together with pancakes and eggs freshly prepared to your specifications. The food provided by the restaurant during the rest of the day was excellent and very good value. The beach has a sandy sitting area but paddling in the sea tends to be a muddy because of the nearby mangroves. The pool is fairly small, but adequate for our children to enjoy a few hours a day. All in all, an excellent place to stay for our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We only booked at this hotel because it is a convenient jumping off point for our trip to Chumbe Island Eco resort and we enchanted when we pulled up to this romantically lit " ruins" the evening of our arrival. The staff were without exception delightful, helpful and friendly. The restaurant is in a lovely setting and they were happy to move a table anywhere we liked. We would loved to have stayed longer and would definitely return if we have the opportunity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Orbitz
For the price, the hotel was as expected. If you are expecting a Marriott, it is not a Marriott. It was also difficult to get to and the hotel overcharges you to take a taxi to stone town. If you are expecting to be away from the noise of the city you won't find it here, while I was there kids played loud music on the beach all day and there was a loud party on Saturday night coming from the restaurant or neighboring building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Relaxing Hotel, Super Staff, Lovely Breakfast

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Care, attention, helpfulness & friendliness of all staff. Breakfast Buffet. Lovely and calm views of beach and sea. Beautiful sunsets. Wonderful trees
Cons: Shower space, shower water pressure, supply of bottled water and tea making sachets, More info on the local trees and plants.Supply of nsect repellent
Location: 10 minutes from Airport 15 minute free shuttle drive to Stone Town (drop and pick). Spice Farms, Beaches, Boat Rides. Can do a trip to DaresSalaam.
My wife and I stayed 5 nights on our special and first ever trip to Zanzibar. Staff were absolutely great and room staff went out of their way to decorate our room nicely and lovingly for our celebrations. The approach road to the hotel is absolutely terrible, a nightmare ride for about 10 minutes each way. The free shuttle to/from Stone Town was useful The room was comfortable, but the shower was tiny. The shower water pressure was not brilliant. They should provide additional water bottles as tap water for kettle is not very clean. Extra daily sachets of milk powder, sugar and tea bags would be nice. The location is very pleasant, with lots of amazing plants and trees (Including their own coconut trees). Many trees are labelled, many are not. A short local horticultural map / catalogue would be very useful indeed. The Mbweni Ruins within the Hotel grounds are interesting. With lots of trees / vegetation and being directly on a lovely beach (with beautiful daily sunset experiences) the place does suffer from lots and lots of insects and mosquitoes. However housekeeping do spray the room and bed daily (inside and outside the Four Poster Mosquito net). Nevertheless the Hotel should consider providing additional insect repellents and sprays inside every room. Breakfast (included) was brilliant and for us pure vegetarians, the lunch / dinner menu options were fine. The chef even cooked a special request meal for us a couple of times. Overall we had a wonderful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Beautiful Hotel and Restaurant by the Beach

Posted Jul 4, 2016
The pictures of the Protea Hotel don't do the hotel any justice in my opinion. Our family room was absolutely gorgeous and the hotel grounds were even more beautiful. The staff were extremely nice and welcoming. Upon checking in we received a nice cold glass of mango-passion fruit juice and a towel to clean our hands. This small gesture made us feel like royalty. We would definitely stay at Protea again!
3 out of 5
by Inge

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
All fine except the beach is mud when the tide is out. Friendly secure relaxed. Free yoga on Wednesdays. .. lovely secluded spot . Mbweni Ruins worth a visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

Excellent Staff, Average facilities

Posted Feb 14, 2016
First I must say how wonderfully friendly & welcoming all the staff I encountered were. From the front desk, bellhop, wait staff & housekeeping. They always spoke when I saw them & went out of their way to be helpful. The pier & beachfront were pleasant. I especially appreciated that the local residents were free to enjoy as well. The grounds are plush & well kept. Where it not for the rooms being a bit aged & rustic, this would be a true 4 star facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice get away with easy access to stone town

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Good hotel on the beach and with gorgeous gardens and ruins
5 out of 5
by Ernestein

Beautiful, exclusive accommodation

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel Protea Mbweni Ruins was a really beautiful accommodation. The room was really nice. My mother and I stayed at the hotel and the room we were in had separate sleeping quarters for me. The beds were comfortable, the sitting area was nice, and there were screens and mosquito nets everywhere. The bathroom was great; the water pressure, temperature, and toiletries provided were all excellent. One thing that really set the hotel apart was that it is only 15 rooms. This made for a very intimate feeling. When coupled with the low-key entrance next to the ruins and the dedicated beach front access, it felt really exclusive. Breakfast had a lot of choice and the staff were very attentive and helpful in the morning. I would absolutely stay here again.