Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We liked it a lot

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: most things
Cons: Restaurant
Location: Everything
Excellant - ran out of lobster for dinner - very upsetting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Seattle

Beautiful Beach Within Feet of Your Room

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: Its location.
Cons: A better mattress on the bed; good room lighting, and a full dresser in the room.
Location: The entire Basque Atlantic Seaboard is at your disposal.
This charming hotel features rooms of modest comfort. We enjoyed the helpful staff, the beautiful dining facility, and great spa amenities. We spent a week in a small room with no adequate reading lights and cramped storage space. We did, however, enjoy the ability to walk outside and be everywhere we wanted to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nancy from NYC

Wonderful!

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved everything about the Grand Hotel. The location was perfect, the staff gracious, helpful and wonderful in every way.The rooms were beautifully appointed as well as the whole hotel. We would return in a heartbeat. Bravo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bernhard from Crawley

Expensive but worth it

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is a bit expensive. But the quality is outstanding. I have never been in a quieter hotel. I can't find nothing wrong with it. So the price is justified.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Jul 27, 2013
thought the staff were really nice. hotel and situation to die for. our stay was booked late but the staff were very obliging about our requirements. I will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Yury from Moscow

Close to beach. The best location.

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing. Outstanding comfort and old fashion atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeestar from Singapore

Friendly staff and great location

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very happy to stay this hotel because a room was very clean and bed was comfy. Staffs that i met was very nice. also, hotel is located in front of the beach area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob and Sue from Bristol UK

Stylish Stay

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This 5 Star Hotel has a long and distinguished history. It is ideally placed on the sea front behind the promenade of Saint Jean de Luz. It is over 100 years old and has been modernised in a classically elegant French style. In one or two public areas there was some evidence of faded grandeur. The facilities include a Thalasotherapy department (with multiple treatments available) and with adjacent indoor pool, sauna and steam room. The restaurant provides true haute cuisine and an extensive wine list. The staff are attentive and helpful. This high quality hotel provides a luxury experience – at an appropriate luxury price. This high quality hotel provides a luxury experience – at an appropriate luxury price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is great as well as the Thalasso SPA . We enjoyed our stay and will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ros from Kent

A traditional spa hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: the views
Cons: hotel restaurant
Location: overlooking the bay of St. Jean de Luz
A lovely traditional spa hotel in central St.Jean de Luz with fabulous views over the bay. However, having had one evening meal there we were all very disappointed with the food and the service. The food was horrible and not what you would expect from a hotel like this and it cost a fortune! Best advice would be to visit one of the many wonderful eateries in town which are plentiful, cost less and serve delicious food that we expect from our French neighbours and all in walking distance! The reception/concierge were extremely helpful in recommending and booking reservations in local restaurants in the area. The spa was a delight, although can get rather busy. The rooms overlooking the bay are a must, the outdoor terrace overlooking the beach wonderful on sunny days with a glass in hand ...