Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Nice location, shame about the room

Posted Oct 26, 2014
The hotel is located very close to the river with nice views, around 2 1/2 miles from the city centre, just a short bus ride. An all day bus ticket was just £4 The hotel staff were helpful and I understand that the food was good, although we didn't have a chance to eat in the hotel. Unfortunately we stayed in the lodge, which was run down with very small rooms. It only had a single wardrobe, which we couldn't use as it was full of blankets. We were woken at 6.30am by the first of several delivery lorries unloading right outside our ground floor room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from france

Beautiful setting,excellent staff

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Great location,thoughtful staff
Cons: Heating a little difficult to manage as room radiators on timer
Location: Easy,woodland walk to Bath.
We stayed in the annexe.Having read that someone previously had found the beds narrow and facilities poor,we were a bit concerned.Pleased to say the beds were quite ok,very comfortable,annexe good.Very good breakfast and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wilts

Lovely views

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Last min booking used for base for longleat. Lovely hotel right by the river. Friendly staff . Delicous breakfast andlovely room. Stayed in lodge not hotel. Would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay in the lodge of the Old Mill Hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Lovely location, and there are some river boats during the high season which you take you to Bath central from the lock right next to the hotel.
Cons: Knock the lodge down and rebuild
Location: If you want to go into Bath from the hotel, walk up to the main road and catch one of the many buses that takes you to the city centre.
The room was very very small but clean. I understand from the new manager that they are planning to demolish the old lodge which really is past its sell by date and extend the main hotel down. I think this would make a vast improvement to the place. I would not have wanted to stay more than one night in the lodge and would have paid a little more had I known to stay in a nice room in the main hotel. The food and service was absolutely fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a lot of potential for the future

Posted Sep 26, 2014
The staff were jolly and very helpful. The food was excellent. The only criticism is the room was far too small for a double and should be a single
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hit and miss.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Staff were friendly enough. However WiFi was £2 an hour which is frankly absurd. This is 2014 WiFi should be free. rest of the hotel was reasonably nice. Breakfast was average, however the choice of food was nice. The double bed was just two singles stuck together which started to come apart whenever anyone was to sit in the middle of the bed and was not that comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Old Mill Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The setting and location to the river for the boat into Bath
Cons: Parking. More helpful staff. Beds that can be slept on!
Location: As above. Pub by the river (from where boat departs).
Stayed here for two nights recently. On the positive front the hotel location was great, especially liked the fact that within a few minutes walk you could catch a boat into Bath (highly recommend). Also thought the food was good, the breakfasts were great and had dinner there one evening and that was good too. We stayed in the hotel rather than the lodge, which looked to be the nicer of the two. Potentially if you had the right room, you would get a stunning view of the weir and river. On the negative front, as the reviews suggested the parking is rubbish. They really need better marked car park spaces to make the of most the space. We arrived to no parking being available and were fortunate that somebody left shortly after we arrived. If you timed it wrong with your arrival the parking has potential to be a real hassle. What really spoilt our visit here was that one side of our double bed was broken (base collapsed in a couple of places). You would think room service would have noticed it when they changed the linen, but they didn't. We reported it to the reception and were told that as a bed base wasn't available at short notice, the maintenance man was going to cut a sheet of ply to fit under the mattress as a temporary measure. This wasn't done, a short length of skirting board was put under the mattress along with two rolled up towels, which really wasn't good enough. We were really disappointed the bed didn't get fixed and at the way the staff handled this
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We stayed in the lodge and it was terrible.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The hotel was run down, rooms small smelly and damp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Friern Barnet

Great location, stunning views,ok hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Absolutely great location, views are stunning. Hotel was ok for one night stay. Room was modern and comfortable. In the morning we had good breakfast. Staff (Agi) was helpful and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton Lancs

Nice Hotel,close to river taxi on the river Avon

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: All staff smiling and friendly
Cons: Nothing
The staff very pleasant,and helpful in reception and in the restaurant,the food was good.Our room was clean the man on reception made sure my mother was in the next room to us,walked in the gardens looking at the ducks.Really pleasant stay thank you.