Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looking forward to a quaint historic hotel!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The old downtown feel.
Cons: Cleaning, upgrading
It was a quaint hotel, and I wouldn't have minded that it was a bit run down, but the cleanliness was an issue. Just little things like the inside of the elevator doors and the floors. The hotel was in dire need of updating and maintenance. The caulking around the vanity was coming loose as was the wall paper. I had high hopes and was let down. Could be so much more.
3 out of 5
by Alex

Hotel has seen better days

Posted Jun 5, 2014
This hotel looks like it used to be really nice. There are a few disappointments at present, however. The bed was nice and the staff were pleasant, but the floor and chair of my room had stains on them, the bathtub had no plug, and the windows were so dirty that it was difficult to see out of them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting...

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Historic section of it
Cons: most of it
wallpaper pealing... holes in walls... stains all over bed in first room I was given... but the hotel is getting a $8 million dollar renovation starting this year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TV's in the rooms are very old school.

Posted May 26, 2014
Horrible experience I couldn't hook up my connections to the basic TV in room. Television needs a upgrade a this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Atl to bham

Posted May 25, 2014
Hotel needs major upgrades. Period. No more to add other than that
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hank Williams spend his last night here

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: We chose this hotel as we were on a road trip and this was the Hotel Hank Williams spent his last night.
Cons: In need of some TLC and some local info would be good.
Location: Few blocks from any food. Nothing much in the area.
It is a nice hotel shame they don't make the most of it. Our room was a bit shabby but spacious. Someone knocked on our door at 9am to ask if we were checking out and breakfast finished at 9.30. Not great when you are on holiday! Roof top bar was a joke, but they did say it wasn't finished yet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted May 11, 2014
We had a block of 10 rooms and were told to check in at 3. When we got there, they told us they didn't know if or when our rooms would be ready. We all hung out in the lobby for about 30 mins, with no one really communicating with us. The rooms were small, outdated, and our bedspread had several stains. The worst part was check out the next day. No one was at the front desk for about 30 mins, so we were forced to hang out in the lobby again. The people working there had no idea what they were doing and didn't seem to care.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel review

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: the people were polite and friendly.
Cons: the air conditioning in my room was either really really cold or not at all.
Location: nice restaurants near by, view was ok. its an old hotel and could use some TLC in the rooms.. overall it was average.
Parking at this hotel is a real problem. its a 5.00 fee per day plus no security. the rooms had no hangers in the closet and no iron. room service never came to clean my room. towels never got changed and bed never got made up with clean sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by katie from Franklin, Tn

LOVED IT!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Stayed here because it was $100 cheaper a night than hotels just a block away. SAVING! The historic hotel is beautiful. Our room was HUGE! Twice the size of an average hotel room. It felt apartment like. The bed super comfy. Staff delightful and parking $5! It's $20 just 1 block up at the Tutweiler. No frills , a great value , and a super nifty roof top bar! Walking distance to great restaurants !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margie from Tuscaloosa, Al

Awesome Rooftop Bar

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Had a good stay at the Redmont. Cool Art Deco historical hotel. Air conditioner not that great but Rum got us a fan. No restaurant but an an awesome rooftop bar where Rebeca served great drinks. It was Thursday Latin night. Would love to stay again after renovation. The manager of the hotel was visible and walking throughout the hotel. He was very friendly and professional. Will definitely stay again.