Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hit or Miss

Posted Aug 3, 2014
I'm a wedding photographer and I picked this place for its great location. Our first stay with them was pretty good. Quiet, clean, normal. The place obviously needs some updates but it was perfect for us. The second (and last) time we stayed was the night of some event that they were hosting on the top floor (or rooftop). There were people everywhere. All night. Like until 5AM. People in the hallways. Music and screaming everywhere. You would think a cute little historic hotel downtown would not approve of this and maybe fix it. But no. I felt like I was surrounded by college students during spring break at Panama City. Unfortunately, I won't be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looking forward to a quaint historic hotel!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The old downtown feel.
Cons: Cleaning, upgrading
It was a quaint hotel, and I wouldn't have minded that it was a bit run down, but the cleanliness was an issue. Just little things like the inside of the elevator doors and the floors. The hotel was in dire need of updating and maintenance. The caulking around the vanity was coming loose as was the wall paper. I had high hopes and was let down. Could be so much more.
3 out of 5
by Alex

Hotel has seen better days

Posted Jun 5, 2014
This hotel looks like it used to be really nice. There are a few disappointments at present, however. The bed was nice and the staff were pleasant, but the floor and chair of my room had stains on them, the bathtub had no plug, and the windows were so dirty that it was difficult to see out of them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting...

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Historic section of it
Cons: most of it
wallpaper pealing... holes in walls... stains all over bed in first room I was given... but the hotel is getting a $8 million dollar renovation starting this year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TV's in the rooms are very old school.

Posted May 26, 2014
Horrible experience I couldn't hook up my connections to the basic TV in room. Television needs a upgrade a this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Atl to bham

Posted May 25, 2014
Hotel needs major upgrades. Period. No more to add other than that
4 out of 5
Recommended
by carpet from birmgingham

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
the toom was great but the carpet when was the last time it had an up date bbedroom and hall way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Larry from Ms

Good for stay near UAB

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here while we visited friends in UAB hospital. Worked great for that. If just going to Birmingham I would pick another area Older downtown so not much going on on the weekends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Hoover

Our stay

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location downtown which we wanted. The front desk staff were never at the desk. They were always in the side office talking and laughing. We had to get their attention multiple times during our stay. Rooms were fine and what we expected in an older hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com