Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday weekend

Posted Sep 6, 2014
As Always the staff here have gone the extra mile for us Thanks for the help with the flowers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from SVK

Centrally located. Not too far from airport.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Functional, American-style decor.
Cons: Some confusion about provision of kettle/drinks. I had a standard room last time and kettle etc was in wardrobe. This time I had to ring reception,
Location: Billa supermarket nearby for standard provisions (water for 4 or 5 lei instead of 22lei). Pizza Hut and Nescafe coffee shop within 2 mins walk.
Comfortable stay. Centrally located. Not too far from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MAD MAX

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good for a business stay. Casino is on site. Location is great. Building is a bit old though. Service was good, room was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2014 by Sonia Nastase, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experince at the Howard Johnson Grand Plaza Hotel. Also would like to thank you for the appreciation words. Looking forward to your returning. Kind Regards Sonia Nastase General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel has a casino. Rooms were alright. Convenient location. Good for business. Some loud guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2014 by Sonia Nastase, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for posting your commments on Expedia website and most of all thank you for being our guest. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sonia Nastase General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Slovak (UK citizen)

2nd visit after 2008

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Overall 4-star. Exterior very modern. Rooms about USA style 1995-2004. Not too posh or intimidating.
Cons: Beware: there is one small bottle of complimentary water on a small table. Too other bottles on the television table but marked 22lei.
Location: Piata Romana - central for metro and shops for basics. Billa supermarket 5 mins walk to your left from the entrance.
Slightly more pleasant. No frosty welcome/checking in this time. The hotel is much the same as in 2008. Very central location. Staff overall seemed very solicitous and eager to help. Pizza Hut nearby. Costa Coffee disappeared but nice Nescafe coffee house 2 mins walk., Billa supermarket 5 mins walk away for essentials. Had breakfast once - wide choice but at 79ei /€17, a little pricey if you're not a big eater. Had room service dinner once - delivered on a mini hostess trolley with its own heater. Again a little pricey but I usually indulge myself if I arrive after 8pm. Taxi service muich improved from airport. Use a touch screen and you get a ticket so no cons this time. Hotel have a similar machine so you get a normal taxi. On a personal note, fropm 2005-2008 I used Crisstaxi which was previously reliable and cheap. I ordered one at 3pm on Sunday, again at 3.17 and then at 3.30. I gave up and got the hotel to order.(3mins)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for posting such a detailed review about our hotel. We also appreciate that you have a better stay and hope each time to find improvements. Best regards Sonia Nastase General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by thorthonesch from London, UK

A few bad apples

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Me and my wife spent a couple of nights, two weeks apart, between visits to relatives and we had mixed views, hence the low overall rating. Though the rooms were fairly clean and hotel location advantageous (but don't expect a room with a view), there were some differences between the rooms (for the same price we paid). Also, on our second stay we were charged a 50 euro early check-in fare (which is nowhere mentioned on the website to my knowledge). And one more thing: who would pay almost 5 euro for an Evian 1L bottle?
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2014 by Sonia Nastase, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you for posting your review on expedia website. Your comfort is our highest mission and we are doing everything to continue our high level of service , even though there is always room for improvement. We hope next time you will visit us everything to be up to your expectations. Kind regards Sonia Nastase General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Good downtown hotel, cool (but somewhat expensive) bar, very friendly staff. Overall, a little pricey, but pleasant and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Claudia from California

Great hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
First of all, staff was courteous and professional, secondly the hotel is very quiet, the rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. The only inconvenient was that not all rooms have breakfast included. Overall this hotel is worth staying at.