Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well Presented, clean comfprtable and ggod food

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: better dusting in rooms
Location: Near town centre and Nene valley railway
Good soundproofing, friendly and helpful staff. enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antwerp

Queensgate hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Food was always good and wifi reliable. Room was very comfortable. Staff always very polite.
Cons: A bigger table in the room and shelves in the bathroom.
Location: Just a 10 minute walk into the city centre. Close to the football stadium too.
Staff were always very polite and pleasant. The room was a good size with just about everything a traveler would require. There was a hair drier, iron and board, trouser press, tea and coffee facilities plus a decent shower. The wifi was also an added bonus and generally required for the business traveler. My only comments would be that the table was very small. Once the tea and coffee making tray was on it there was barely room for my laptop and anything else I was referring to whilst using the laptop. Also there was not a proper shelf in the shower room for toiletries nor anything in the shower itself for hand soap or shampoo. There wasn't even a toilet roll holder! Roll just balanced on top of the cistern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Close to city centre

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Very close to centre
Cons: Better room temperature, quieter setting and better cleaning staff
Location: Very close to city centre which includes shopping mall, restaurants and nightclubs. Also close to the cathedral.
The hotel is very close to the city centre which was useful for me and my friends stay. We ordered a twin standard room for 2 nights. We were welcomed nicely by a female member of staff who asked if we would like a range of add-ons (such as breakfast and dinner) although we opted out for this. Our room was clean and tidy and was at the front of the hotel. Although, this was an issue as there is a pub across the street (The Peacock) which was blaring out LOUD music until the early hours of the morning which was annoying as we had to get up early. The room was also very very hot, meaning that we had to have the window open, therefore not helping with the music across the street. On the Saturday morning we left the room at midday, the member of cleaning staff asked if we would like our room cleaned/tidied and we said yes. She seemed a bit annoyed with this as she stated that "she only had one to do and then was going to go home". She seemed quite stern which we found both rude and unprofessional. Other than that, we walked into the centre which was about 10 minutes and was very close to everything which was fab. We had a great weekend and will stay here again, although will ask for a room at the back of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n Ireland

Close to town and cathedral which was important.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: Improvements are being carried out on regular basis. The hotel gradually being updated.
Location: I was based in the cathedral all week so not concerned about other things but good shops, restaurants were a bonus.
A pleasant experience, friendly,helpful staff. The 'steak night' was excellent, the young chef excelled himself producing steaks cooked exactly as diners requested.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Garry from Hampshire

overnight stay in Peterborough

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: staff, room, and generally the service.
Cons: WIFI
Location: middle of a residential area, and busy road at the front.
This hotel was clean and comfortable and had everything expected. The food from the restaurant was nice with plenty of choice and reasonably priced. The breakfast menu had plenty to offer with cereals and fruit etc. as well as cooked options. I chose their full english which was a good size unfortunately it was slightly overcooked and the mushrooms didnt appear that fresh! My only real problem was the wifi which was so slow and intermitent. If I was running a busines in the area I would find it totally unacceptable. The hotel does state it is free and could be unreliable, but in this day and age an internet connection is so important. I actually choose my hotels now based upon having internet access, and for this reason I am unlikely to choose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mr A from NorthWest

Wonderful friendly greeting on arrival

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly greeting on arrival. Room comfortable, great shower. Breakfast good vfm. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AR from Virginia, USA

Good Locatipon

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Train evening staff to be polite and civilzed
Location: Down town attractions are at 15 minutes walking distance.
It is a nice hotel. As it is front desk staff can kill all good work. Day time staff was courteous and helpful, however evening staff wascomplete opposite. Some what rude and threatening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Natalie from London

Perfect for working in the city centre

Posted Sep 25, 2013
I found this hotel to be mostly great value for money- quite a good sized room and a nice shower, however the room I stayed in (single with en-suite) was quite noisy and the window faced onto a brick wall. Also the TV kept turning itself on in the middle of the night...! But OK for a few nights if you want to stay somewhere cheap and cheerful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

short stay 3 nights

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: comfort and lovely beds
Cons: decoration and moving smoking area from under bedroom window
Location: football stadium shooping arcade cathedral
friendly and excellent service of staff car parking and easy walk to town.