Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marco from London

Absolutely wonderful retreat

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed every aspect of our stay - wonderful setting, warm reception and hospitality, great attention to detail, fantastic food and wine, and luxurious tranquil bliss. Thank you, Steenberg Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sioned from me

Beautiful location , stunning Dutch Cape building

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Loved the location , the style , and the personalble service
Cons: Communication between team members ; and also greater consideration of accommodation guests , when they take large outside catering function parties
Location: Fabulous location albeit not as rural as we might have expected . Great for wine tasting , and touring Constancian wineries
Loved everything about the weekend , and would recommend it as a memorable amd stylish place to stay . Only two points of feedback spoilt the experience . Firstly they were happy to allow children to play football for hours on the beautiful lawn , which didn't really support the peaceful , luxurious position of the hotel . Secondly we booked a bike ride and picnic , but despite a beautiful guided bike ride , and wine tasting , the picnic never transpired . Although they were very apologetic , it did spoil the experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
by M & A from Ireland

Beautiful property but a few odd things

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
THe property itself is beautiful but I found some of the check in and out items a bit bizarre. At check in you have to sign that you will pay if you lose a key or the security token for the gate. I realise the key may be expensive but this impression was that you were signing your life away! Also on check out I said that we hadnt taken anything overnight from the minibar but also had to sign that we hadnt used the minibar. This was a 5 star deluxe hotel and Ive never experienced like this in a comparable hotel before! Also I was quite annoyed on leaving the property as we were going to a cellar tour on site at a particular time to find out that the tour went early (I think due a visit of travel writers) and we were not able to be accommodated even though we were offered this tour on check in. Catherinas restaurant is lovely and the grounds are lovely but Im nor sure I would go back. We paid off season rates and I dont think that high season rates would be worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Restaurant closed on first night. Lovely swimming pool and grounds. Excellent service. No senior management visibility. Breakfast excellent but evening food satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Delightful

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent, venue, great staff and well located..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin

A world apart in Capetown

Posted Apr 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
A beautiful vineyard setting close to Capetown with its own Flora and Fauna. Catherina's restaurant and Tapa's bistro are excellent. Staff outstanding throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Steenberg Hotel-World Class!

Posted Jan 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband and I went to the Steenberg hotel for our holiday last December. We had a fantastic time at the spa and Catharina's restaurant as well as the wine tasting and tapas bar. I highly recommend this world class hotel for a relaxing getaway thats only about 30 minutes drive from Cape Town City Centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Burnley, United Kingdom

One of the best hotels ever!

Posted Nov 27, 2011
Location: The V&A Waterfront is a must to visit. Good hotels and restaurants are plentiful. Also a trip to Robben Island and the cable car to Table Mountain are must do's. It's vital to pre-book both though.
I practically live out of hotels as I travel the world extensively on business. The Steenberg Hotel rates as one of the best I've ever stayed in. Pulling up at the main security gate, staff were expecting me and the barrier was lifted. As I drove up through the vineyards to the hotel, I was waved through and pulled up outside reception. The duty manager welcomed my wife and I and ushered us through to check-in which was an easy process. We were offered a drink and then were taken across the gardens to our luxury room. By the time we got there, our luggage had been put in the room and the car had been parked for us. We were shown the facilities and then left in peace. A couple of hours later I called reception for an ironing board, which was delivered within 5 minutes along with a maid who offered to iron my shirts. We walked across the garden to Catharinas Restaurant where we stopped to photograph an owl and her two chicks which was a wondrous sight from close up. Then we were welcomed for what turned out to be a sumptuous meal which we both enjoyed tremendously. Then a good nights sleep and a fantastic breakfast outside on the terrace. Check-out was easy and our packed car awaited us outside reception. The price for all this was cheaper than you would expect, can't wait to go back, which we will.