Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sedgefield

Great get away.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Day time facilities (pool, sauna, steam room, bar, outdoor mini golf, grounds), hotel staff, food.
Cons: There was a lot of left over room service trays/plates/glasses left out in the hotel corridors for most of the day before they were cleaned up.
Location: Located in close proximity to the A1 which means Chester Le Street, Newcastle, Durham & Darlington are all easily accessible.
Booked in for one night. Check in was smooth and handled professionally. Think we got upgraded to a larger room than we had initially signed up for as we got a large room with seating area, couch and coffee table with a large bathroom and jacuzzi type bath. Room was very clean although it suffered from having a few light bulbs out and the room was either quite cool or very hot if you turned the radiator on. Spent the afternoon having afternoon tea and in the pool/spa area. The facilities were great and staff very friendly. We booked into the hotel restaurant for an evening meal which was necessary as it was busy. Food was very good and struck a good balance of quality and quantity. The restaurant is large and we found that it did not lend itself to much of a relaxing ambience. Hotel corridors were quiet and did not suffer from noise from the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was of a reasonable quality although I would not say this was the highest standard of breakfast we have encountered in other hotels of a similar standard. Open log fire in reception was a nice place to spend some time after the meal with a drink. Bar drinks were pricey, but then again this is becoming more of a standard rate - single shot with a mixer £4.20
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Middlesbrough

A wedding venue conveyor belt.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Bought an upgrade to delux room which was quite small and made smaller by the ceiling being the slope of the roof at one end. One small narrow window plus velux window. Bathroom was 5* , breakfast good but evening meal was limited and expensive for what it was. All in all not value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sunderland

Gorgeous hotel with original features

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Efficient, friendly, great food, clean and loved the original features
Cons: More bar staff at busy times - there was a bit of a wait during the day to be served when it was busy.
We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our friend's 50th birthday. There were 24 of us in total and there was also a wedding on at the same time so the hotel was very busy. However, check in was very efficient and most of the rooms were ready for us. We booked a standard room and it was in the original part of the hotel. It was really quite large as was the bathroom and was immaculate. I loved how the windows were set into the original stonework of the hall with what looked like the original (or at least very old!) iron frames. I also loved how there were sockets underneath the main mirror - something so simple but makes a massive difference to people drying their hair for a night out! In the old part of the hotel, the rooms can only be accessed by quite a few stairs, so if you have problems using stairs, you don't want to be in this part of the hall. Some of our friends had rooms in the newer part of the hotel and they were equally as impressed with the rooms. Our meal on the night was really lovely and the breakfast was amazing with lots of choice - full English buffet, continental with cereals and lots of fruit to choose from. The plates provided were quite small so you had to stack your plate high if you didn't want to keep going back to fill up!! The hotel were very accommodating with our friends when organising the night - and so we all had a great time.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Ok hotel would benefit from a makeover

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Location: Good location not far from A1 and good access to North Yorkshire
Hotel seemed a bit tired. It has rather an odd lay out, with the dining room in the middle (no windows) and the leisure facilities in a different section accessed via narrow stairway and corridor. The food was ok, nothing special so we ate elsewhere on our second night there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Yorkshire

Spa break.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel is easy to get to off the A1 and is set in its own grounds. Plenty of car parking at the back of the hotel amongst the trees.
Cons: The dining experience would have probably been better in the older side of the restaurant.
Location: Durham is only 20 minutes away and is great for the shops and sites.
Booked for a Spa treatment for the wife as a treat and an evening meal. Spa treatment and facilities were very good as was the quality of the evening meal. The room was spacious and comfortable with a super king bed. The spa bath in our room was an unexpected bonus. We used the Health Club facilities which was also very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing overnight stay

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Cons: £9.95 for a glass of Chardonnay from the hotel bar was a bit steep
Location: Locomotion at Shildon is very close by, & interesting
A special birthday treat for my wife, so I pushed the boat out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LAURENfrom jarrow

would love to come and stay again

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I took my boyfriend as a surprise for his birthday, we both had an excellent day and night! Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The food and breakfast was lovely lots of choice. Bedroom and bathroom very clean and cosy, would recomend this hotel to anyone. Will defiently come again! Thank you for a making our stay so great :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north yorkshire

A relaxing break

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The staff and the restaurant.
Cons: The lift system. It's baffling.
Location: In summer it would be nice to wander in the grounds but not in December. Durham is about 10 miles away with a good park n ride.
A lovely old hotel that has charm. They have built a new accommodation block which compared to the old part is lacking in any redeeming features. However my room was clean and functional with a fabulous shower. The restaurant was really good and no more expensive than places in towns. A very good wine list as well. The staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bar is a nice relaxing place to sit and have a sandwich and drink and read the paper. A good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommended Hotel.

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel,delightful,friendly,helpful staff. Nice food. Lovely atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by hannah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com