Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids, IA

Very nice stay

Posted Jun 30, 2015
We stayed here on a Saturday Night that we went to an ICubs game. The hotel is near a shopping center which is nice. The hotel is very clean. We didnt eat in the hotel but food area was very nice prices seemed reasonable. We didnt have time to swim but the pool looked like a good size and very clean. There was a 20$ service charge added onto our card we didnt know about but they are refunding that. Very good service. The biggest thing for us is that we felt clean, some hotels you walk into arent this one was amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from omaha,ne

Weekend of Baseball

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Clean and fast service when called upon
Cons: Tubs are slippery- recom. a better surface and change either the cable service or remote, tv or something- it frustrating if you are a channel clicker
Location: Bring your ATM card and make sure enough in the bank- food galore and shopping
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Only issue was the cable TV selection format. There is an irritating delay changing channels- each time you change a channel it takes approx 2 to 3 seconds before it comes on the screen- thus, if you are a "professional clicker" EXTREMELY annoying. Front desk personnel were accommodating and friendly. Had an issue with billing, immediately handled. Will be coming back next year for the Des Moines baseball tournament.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davenport ia

nice hotel next to restaurants

Posted Jun 7, 2015
There was a sports event going on at the hotel so the receptionist Put us in the north tower on the 4th floor away from all the noise. Great room. She even found us a cart as we took a large cooler with us. No need for that as the room had a nuke fridge and a kurick. On check out I couldn't find the lobby then when I did it was full of little leaguers all having the breakfast buffet there wasn't a seat to be had not that I needed one I just wanted a cart after I located a cart I had to weave through all the tables of all the people eating to get to the hall and get to the elevator. as everyone knows who owns A kurick makes a extremely small cup of coffee. our choices in the morning were only one regular coffee tWo decaf coffee and 1 English breakfast tea I think maybe we should have had the option at check in to tell her which ones we wanted otherwise a very peaceful sleep on a great bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Graduation

Posted May 21, 2015
We stayed to attend a graduation and will stay there now anytime we visit Iowa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sally from Iowa

Nice Place.

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place. We enjoyed our afternoon snack in the lobby. The pool and hot tub looked great; small pool, extra large not tub. (although we did not get to use them) My only complaint would be that I could hear the tub/shower/toilet water running down the pipes from the rooms above. Kind of noisy plumbing. Otherwise it was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, NE

3rd Year, sinking rating

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, bar is nice
Cons: Gym-weights fixes & need a few more equipment essentials, bed firmness, vents in bathroom to let steam escape, extend the bar time an hour
Location: The mall is great if its your thing, seems to be an area with more money-safe. Away from noise of interstate/airport. New development.
Stayed here for a trade show 3 years in a row now, and my opinions are declining each time. -First the curtains in the rooms look like the flag of Spain, sideways; dated. -My bed was also a rock...I believe a firm mattress is good in general but a sleeping bag on concrete would have been more comfortable. -In the pool area, the sign says "first aid kit located at front desk" which isn't exactly wise. -Pool times are confusing, door says one thing, and the pool signs say another. -The main pool was freezing cold (despite that it's an indoor pool), but the kid pool was warm. -My biggest issue is with the dumbbells in the gym, two sets still have loose weights on the end. I complained about this last year, even bringing one up front to show them. Apparently they fixed half of them or they broke and they had to replace them, but left the others in that dangerous state. Skull-crushers isn't just an awesome name for an exercise, its truth in naming. -Location is at a comfortable distance from the interstate and in a good shopping area. -I'm baffled there is no bathroom fans, in the new north addition. In prior 2 years in the older section, the ceiling were suffering moisture damage. -Kurig coffee is fine, but 16oz of coffee for two people is a bit stingy, if you can get more it would be nice if there was a memo somewhere. Unfortunately since management seems to be letting things slide here and there as the facility ages, I'm less likely to stay here next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greg from Marion iowa

Would stay again

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
When we ever go back to Des Moines we will stay again. Nice hotel in a great area. With a toddler, we loved the baby pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Worth the money!

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding accommodation for a technical training. Room was very comfortable and the training room was very adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christine from New York

Great Experience!

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.