Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wallasey, UK

In need of an upgrade

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The food; the location; the facilities
Cons: The decor; a bit grubby and in need of an upgrade.
Location: The old town is only a 15 min walk away - it's down a hill so be prepared for that when coming back! Lots of bars, cafes and restaurants - great place
The hotel needs redecorating and to a much better standard than before. Other than that, it has everything so it's just a shame that this small aspect wasn't up to scratch. If it looked a bit more clean and modern then it would be an absoultely fantastic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great hotel in good location!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Spacious modern room with a large balcony and amazing ocean view. Great facilities and staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Good location, 15 minute walk to old town, nice beach 20 minute walk away. Loads of easily accessible day trips to the islands.
We loved this hotel, our room and balcony, the staff and the location. Easy 15 walk down hill to the old town and a reasonable taxi fare back. Only one thing you should consider, ask for a room on the highest floor available. We checked into a ground floor room and the amazing view onto the bay was pretty much spoiled. The staff were able to provide a higher level room after the first night and it made a big difference when relaxing on the balcony, the ocean view is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rixos, Dubrovnik all round decent hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We have stayed in the Rixos Dubrovnik on a couple of occassions and find it to be a great hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to assist with any problems. I have to say that the hotel itself needs some attention, it's just the little things like wall carners damaged by trolleys, the odd broken tile. Spotlight lamps not working, miss-labeling of switches in the rooms. All of these are litle things that need addressing and when spending GB£250.00 per night you expect very high standards. I understand that the whole hotel is earmarked by the Rixos group for refurbishment, but this is likely to be another year or so before it begins due to new hotels being opened by Rixos elsewhere. In all I would recommend the hotel and we will stay there again next time we visit Dubrovnik, which is one of my favourite cities in the world.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Past its time

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Spectacular location, but this hotel has past it's best times as it badly needs a renovation, for example the (passé) orange chairs at the breakfast room were dirty to the point of having to seat on the edge. Our room had many decades of smoking in it and the general condition of the lobby (carpet, elevator) simply deplorable. Granted, Dubrovnik is so beautiful and this hotel so well located that one is easily distracted by the location...this hotel does not deserve 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely sea views and friendly staff

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Hotel is 20 minutes walk from old town and has spectacular views. Staff friendly and reliable. The bathroom was strange in that you could see through it into the bedroom, even when blind pulled down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

relaxing heaven on sea

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location, food and view
Cons: general building condition tired - the planned revamp will ensure a ***** star rating
all better than good - staff all willing to go the extra mile
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Really lovely hotel, great views from our room. Good breakfast choice in nice surroundings, when the weather allowed breakfast outside made a really good start to the day. Would have been good to have a kettle in the room. The worst thing was people reserving sun beds by laying towels down early morning, then not using them for hours, hotels should not allow this to happen in my view. Previous hotels I have stayed in have notices on beds to this effect and it seems to work well. The pool area however was very nice and all the loungers comfortable and good quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

very nice place to stay 10 min walk to old town

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: polite service with a smile
Cons: maybe an AM and PM ticket system for the Beds/loungers
Location: Sailing Walking Restaurants Bars sight seeing visiting close by countries
the staff at the hotel and the people of Dubrovnik are very polite and are genuinely please to see you and be of service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent service - hotel needs renovation

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, service, food & drink.
Cons: Decor needs updating and I understand that the hotel will be fully renovated this year.
Location: Walking distance to Dubrovnik which is a wonderful city to explore with great restaurants and attractions.
The hotel was excellent - the Spa suite rooms are recommended. There were some problems with the facilities - the fuse kept tripping, Jacuzzi had some problems and one of the rooms we saw wasn't very clean, but otherwise the stay was excellent. The staff were very helpful, particularly Jelena who made sure we had exactly the room we wanted when we checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by v from usa

Excellent hotel with a poor air-conditioning syste

Posted Jun 17, 2014
This hotel is excellent in every way except for the air-conditioning. After running the AC full speed for a day our room went from 26 centigrade down to 25. And that was after the technicians, at our request, check the system and replaced the filter. The restaurant/breakfast area was equally hot and sweaty.