Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dinesh from Kingston,NY

Hotel review

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Swimming pool and restaurant on premise. But many restaurants close by at walking distance
Location: Close to center of town
Nothing fancy, old place with wood cabin type of feeling, but excellent helpful staff, comfortable bed, hot water shower, average breakfast, close to center of town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Keiko from Argentina

It was hard to find the hotel.

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Owner of the hotel was very friendly and helpful.We enjoyed to stay there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Less than mediocre sleep quality

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am very confused by the reviews that give this place 4 - 5 stars. I feel misled now that I have stayed there. Maybe I just got the one bad room. I had a really poor experience and couldn't wait to leave. Juan is incredible, carried our bags, gave us a map of the place, explained different tour options to look into. The location is a 10 min walk from town, so it felt quiet and quaint, better than lots of traffic and other tourists. Right next to 2 amazing restaurants, one to the left and one to the right. Cons:The room was very outdated and uncomfortable. But the linens were dirty - the bedspreads had stains and dirt streaks, the blankets had hair and smelled moldy. The walls were PAPER thin! I could hear people in the adjacent room breathing! Not snoring, but breathing! When someone rolled over in bed, I could hear it. Even people whispering was completely audible. It was awful. The bathroom was outdated - old and unpleasant. The hot water never warmed up so we took freezing showers. The breakfast was not a breakfast, it was some bread for toast and some tang and water. So don't expect much. All-in-all, I wouldn't stay here ever again. The building was pretty, but the sleep quality and breakfast were very very poor. All you need is a comfy quiet place to sleep in patagonia b/c you are probably on tours and adventures all day, so you don't need a glamorous hotel. But I was really disappointed and left this place exhausted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lily from United States

Good hotel staff with basic comforts

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the downtown area of El Calafate, which is not long, but may be a bit tiresome if you've been trekking all day. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Beatrix from Ottawa

great value

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We made our decision on booking this hosteria upon reading previous reviews. We can recommend it to others as well. It was the cheapest in our Argentinian tour but it gave lots for our money, such as: clean and quiet room, quite spacious, very helpful staff with good English knowledge; adequate breakfast, though no fruit. It is close to downtown but there is a small hill to climb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liliane from Guelph, Canada

Cheaper Hotel- Well Kept

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Staff Juan was most helpful upon arrival in making recommendations for restaurants, tours.
Cons: Lighting in rooms . The breakfast buffet is more a continental breakfast: proteins could be added to breakfast (i.e. eggs, cheese, ham.)
Location: The town center is within walking distance . Visit Los Glaciers National Park and enjoy the Patagonian lamb.
We stayed there for 3 nights. The rooms are clean but very dark. Beds are reasonably comfortable. Worth taking a day tour (AR 28 versus AR 20 for public bus) to go to Perito Moreno glacier as the bus provides free pick-up and drop off the the hotels and makes a few stops on the way to allow people to take pictures. Also, we would recommend the Todos Glaciares Tour although it is more expensive, to truly appreciate the magnitude of the glaciers and the icebergs. Excellent restaurants close -by. If able, for tours, hotels and restaurants, pay in US dollars rather than in Argentinian pesos as much better exchange rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good rooms friendly very clean

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly people, nice rooms, exceptionally clean rooms, the only minus is a small bathroom. About 10-15 minutes walking distance to center of el Calafate Overall it is a great place for this price
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Irene from Chicago

Comfortable and quaint hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed my stay at Hosteria Hainen. It was a 5-10 minute walk to town and about 20 minutes to the bus station. I liked being in the location because of the wide open spaces which made one feel a bit away from unusual and from the busier streets. There was an excellent restaurant just down the block. The staff was very helpful and helped us book other hotels for our visit to other cities. The room was very quaint and clean. They also let us leave some of our luggage their for a few days. I would book here again. Good value and an interesting hosteria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gene C

Great option in El Calafate

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a really nice little place in El Calafate. It's about a ten minute walk from the center of town. The room was really cute and clean. The breakfast was simple, typical for Argentina, but good. The staff were nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to El Calafate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
All of the staff was wonderful. The restaurant on the same street was excellent and we would have missed it had it not been for the staff recommendation.