Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Va.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Lovely older resort with well kept grounds. Sabor restaurant on property with good food. Short walking distance to all shopping,dining and activities. Pleasant, helpful and accommodating staff. Overall satisfied for the money spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Still a fan of Pelican Bay!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Staff, grounds, pool, and the suites are awesome. Very homie. Oh, and the free fancy coffee.
Cons: Some of the regular rooms are falling off on quality. Decor, upkeep etc.
Location: Great location. Most everything in walking distance
I arrived late on a Friday on a busy weekend. I had prepaid for a King Waterside. The room given (313) was really awful, some amenities missing, chaise chair in room and balcony were just chairs. More uncomfortable than anything was the extremely strong smell of moth balls. At any rate, this would be my first less than pleased experience. I have stayed in the suites and regular waterside rooms before ( my 5th stay here), and always have found the rooms to be in good order. I did end up upgrading to a suite as 313 was unacceptable. I felt I could have requested a discount on the upgrade but didn't have the heart since the girl at the counter was a trainee. Staff was lovely as the always are, and pool and grounds were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Big rooms, great value, low-key atmosphere

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Centrally located for diving, shopping, casino, dining and free water taxi to beach. Informal and affordable, but spacious, clean - and friendly staff
Cons: Safe in room, but non-functional.
Location: Snorkeling trips, dolfin swim/dive, shark & reef dives at Unexso next door, local beach can be reached by foot, or Taino Beach by free water taxi.
The price tells you that this is not the island's grand-lux accomodations, but it's beautifully situated occupying the end of a peninsual. Three nice pools, one is a quite pool towards the rear, one's heated (never checked if it is) and one has a hut-tub and good quality pool-side restaurant and lively bar. Breakfast buffet in the new conference wing, offered all the typical choices - and even had an omelette station. Same place had a lunch buffet with a quite nice salad bar that also offered soups and 2 ot items (such as grilled chicken / fish). Many other restaurants (from $100 a person to even a Pizza Hut) and a cute shopping area with an open square for night-time entertainment is merely a 5 minute walk - so is the casino. Rooms were spacious with two queen size beds, table, TV and fridge, nice bathroom with shower and a good size entrance area/foyer to hang clothes, leave suitcases. Balconi was large and offered privacy. Beach towels were available and exchange any time for free, and free water-taxi use to Taino Beach Resort. Staff at the reception desk was always friendly, accomodating and competent. Of course, it's situated right next door to Unexso, which makes it the perfect base for anyone for a dive-vacation. The facilities are low-key enough that you don't feel bad about strewing dive gear around in the entrance area or letting suits dry on the balancy. You can quickly walk back and forth between dive shop, boats and your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nassau, Bahamas

Quiet hotel with gorgeous water views

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great food, good views, quiet, friendly staff at Bones Bar.
Cons: Customer service at Sabor; bathroom cleanliness
Location: Port Lucaya Marketplace was nearby with lots of shops and restaurants. There was a live band and music at night.
My boyfriend and I spent two nights here over Easter (Friday and Saturday). The property is quiet with lots of scenic views. There are three pools that were mostly empty, however we spent most of our time at the gorgeous pool which has a swim up bar (Bones Bar) and a spectacular view of the bay. We had lunch at the hotel's restaurant, Sabor, on Friday. The food was really tasty (I'm a vegetarian) but the service was slow. I could tell the two girls who were working did not want to be there on a public holiday. We ate at the breakfast buffet twice, the food was hot and good, but on the second day I had a burned pancake that was at the bottom of the tray. It seems like the food runs out quickly at the buffet and it takes staff a while to refill. (But the food at the hotel is much better than the nearby Grand Lucayan, where we stayed last year). The room was great and the bed was comfy. We slept like rocks while we were there. The room was generally clean except for some clumps of dust in the corners of the bathroom. Also sometimes we could hear the TV from other guests' rooms. My biggest complaint was how long it took us to get checked in to our room. We had an early flight and got to the hotel around 8:30am, our room wasn't ready so we left our bags and went to the pool. Our room was not available until about 12:30pm. Aside from that, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel for people who are looking for a quiet, tranquil hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

great getaway

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Nice room. Excellent restaurant. Fun bars. multiple pools
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Janesville, WI

Vacation resort

Posted Mar 22, 2015
The pools are beautiful especially the swim up pool next to Bones Bar. All the staff are great and personable.Food and drinks at Saber Restaurant are very delicious. Bones Bar is a hidden jewel at the resort. Hotel is very nice. Aquarium Dock is very cool!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to many attractions

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Nice value with breakfast
Cons: Update rooms
Location: water activities, casino
Pleasant stay with great weather!!!!!!!! Enjoyed local eateries
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved location close to beach but private.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The staff was awesome! Best of both beach and quite surrounding when you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oxford,ma

Not bad for the price

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Freeport is great! The hotel at times didn't have it together, when we arrived it took 3x to get the right key for our safe! The pools are very nice. We had water front view room, that was nice seeing the boats coming in and out of the harbor. Georgia and Vandyke were very nice at the Sabor Restaurant. The private beach, Taino, is a time share environment. The beach was beautiful, however, the chairs were all cracked , so plan on bringing your own. The breakfast at the hotel was very nice, well worth the money. Liz was very nice at the buffet. It was nice having the straw market across the street, with different restaurants and bars. Check out Rum Runners bar, great people!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hürth

Schönes ruhiges Hotel mit super Service

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Ruhige Lage, Service
Cons: Zimmer etwas renovieren. Matratzen tauschen!
Das Hotel befindet sich in Lucaya und ist am Kanal zum Hafen hin gelegen. Der Lucaya Marketplace ist fußläufig erreichbar. Zum Taino Beach kommt man problemlos zum wirklich schönen Strand. Auch der Pool des Taino Resorts kann genutzt werden. Das Pelican Bay verfügt über 3 Pools, eine Bar und ein Restaurant am Hafen, sowie dem Frühstücksrestaurant im Business-Gebäude des Hotels. Essen und Getränke im Hotel sind durchweg zu empfehlen. Auch der Service ist TOP. Die Damen am Empfang sind einem bei der Buchung von Touren oder dem Ausleihen von Autos behilflich. Lediglich die Zimmer sind etwas abgewohnt und die Matratzen haben ihre besten Tage hinter sich. Das Hotel ist jedoch sehr sauber! Ich würde zum entspannen und als Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge jederzeit wiederkommen!