Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Posted Dec 17, 2014
great hotel, pleasant staff, breakfast, location, beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mn

Resort great! Reservation not as great.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
My boyfriend and I were nearly denied access to the front desk on arrival as the person at the entrance had my name connected to a Stewart. No Stewart's in our party. Friends meeting us from Spain arrived in the middle of the night and had to go to another hotel. There's more but I'll leave it at the hotel and its staff did their best to accommodate for some major errors. It should be noted the staff said this was unusual for Expedia and that they rarely see issues with booking through them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Illinois

Flamingo Beach resort has it all!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Hotel is very clean and comfortable. Staff is wonderful. I liked that they had a billiard table for added fun. Tennis courts too. right by beach.
Cons: Nothing. Perfect.
This hotel is beautiful, clean, great helpful and friendly staff, comfortable, and right at the beach. Very clean pool with swim up bar, free wi-fi, nice restaurant with great buffet breakfast. Even the days that were booked full, you still felt like you had the place almost to yourself. Very good layout. Beach is steps away and the water is perfect, warm and clear; and plenty of room for everyone. There are bushes along there that provide shade for those that want it. Very nice locals that sell handmade jewelry nearby. Town is walking distance and has at least two good restaurants for local food, and some nice shops. You can rent a car in town for the day and go explore and/or go adventuring. We loved it here and didn't want to leave!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Waste of money.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Hotel staff were rude. During the night the staff was moving metal cases and laughing next to my room door from 10-1am. Waited four extra hours to check in, room was not what I ordered or paid for, couple I was with had same problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Beautiful Beach

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: bed and pillows, food was excellent,
Cons: food and drink service around the pool
nice size of resort not too big staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Key West FL

Nice hotel and relaxing!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Family and friendly atmosphere. There are lots of activities. Never boring.
Cons: The quality and the price of their drinks need improvement. The price of food need to be lower.
Location: Short walking to boats for offshore/inshore fishing. White water rafting. Zip lining/horseback riding/mud bath and hot spring. And more...
My husband and I first time in Costa Rica to celebrate our belated honeymoon/1st year anniversary. After many researches, we decided on Flamingo Beach and Spa Resort. We are so pleased with the resort!! The resort is right on the beach. The beach and their pool are so beautiful and relaxing!!! Walking distance to couple restaurants (my favorite was Angelica's and Marie's restaurants) and a few minutes drive to others (The Beach House restaurant). Staffs are super friendly and helpful (kudos to Manuel and Sergio). Didn't care much for the drinks at our resort because it was pricey, and same for food but it was delicious. Room was always kept clean. Overall, loved it and we would book there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tx usa

Ok hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Ok but we had to change room it smell like mold. Breakfast good lunch and dinner not so tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff was very friendly

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: cleanliness and the massage and spa.
it was a great experience in the hotel. All the staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Perfect! Steps from the Beach.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: How close it is to the Beach, friendliness of staff, restaurant menu options.
Cons: The only thing that I would suggest is to play more music at the pool. Karaoke night was fun and I think more music would improve the vibe
Location: I would suggest renting a car ,taxis are expensive. There is a "commercial center" across the street which has shops and a tour desk - check for ATVs
This is a smaller resort with 100 or so rooms but the service is definitely 5 star. The rooms are good size and the balcony is nice and convenient for drying bathing suits :-) The pool was kept very clean, never a problem to find a chair. There are a few chairs in the water on a little ledge that are perfect. Swim up pool bar is really cool, and you can also order snacks, pizza, fries, burgers, sandwiches, wings etc - very convenient. Only one restaurant but the food is pretty good. The menu was broad so we didn't have the same thing twice - except at breakfast where the buffet was pretty much the same but you can order french toast or an omelet. The fresh fruit is ridiculously good! We never did visit the lounge upstairs for tapas, but it is a great place (besides the beach) to see the sunset. Beach is literally steps across a minor road - seriously, maybe 15 steps. Not many chairs on the beach, but this wasn't a problem, hang your things on a tree branch and hit the waves but be careful - beautiful beach but the waves can be very strong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Wait staff and bar staff slow. Internet is terrible. Wish there were chairs at the beach. If I knew there weren't, I would have booked elsewhere These are the reasons for 4, instead if 5 stars