Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxon

Central, cosy and very friendly

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything - a nice sense of history too in the lovely old buildings which have kept their charm.
Cons: a shower cap in the bathrooms ! they cost nothing but are really useful to us ladies :)
Location: Lots to do and see, Jane Austen's house Gilberts whites house, the Watercress steam train line and a lovely market . Close to the pretty countryside
My daughter and I stayed here a couple of times and both times the welcome was lovely. We felt relaxed and comfortable. Reasonably priced and good rooms and breakfast, clean comfortable and warm....couldn't ask for anything more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Location is best thing...

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: It did have some history and a sense of character.
Cons: A good all over refurbishment would be what it needs. More of a deep clean and a lick of paint, than any remodelling.
Location: The high street is great...no mobile phone shops!!! Great town to visit and meet friendly people.
...with the hotel in centre of town, leave the car in the car park and walk the high street for shops and restaurants of your choice. Staff are great, but the hotel is showing signs of being tired. Carpets in places especially food rooms are heavily stained, worn and just so dirty it's sticky when walked upon. Toasters are self operated (not a problem with that) but the units barely warm up, so take ages to produce toast that's invariably very dry. I would stay again, but more because of the location and knowing what it was like, not because of what it was like, if you understand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Luke23

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Duncan from Yorkshire

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
An old building and in need of some TLC. The staff were great and the location was perfect as a meeting place for friends from all over the UK. Also central in the town. Drinks prices a bit high but food was very reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Methon,i Greece

A happy one night stay at the Swan Hotel, Alton.

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The Staff and the environment
Cons: The breakfast administration and some refurbishment of the toilet facilities but still within an historical setting.
Location: Brilliant countryside. Direct railway line into London Waterloo. A good base to visit many interesting places.
A pleasant short one night stay in the hotel in the very centre of Alton with history, helpful and understanding staff, a warm busy and friendly atmosphere. My wife, Mary and I regularly use hotels so that we are very aware of the number and standard of facilities. The Swan has atmosphere shown, obviously by the age of the facilities. The room was clean but the bathroom and WC needed some modernising. We are always unhappy to experience an apart WC without a hand wash basin. Walking from one compartment to another without washed hands is not a desirable situation. The bathroom needed a shelf for our toiletries. But the quality of the staff compensated for those negatives. The evening meal was good and delicious within an attractive environment and a friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast, in the same setting as the evening meal requires better self service buffet facilities. Having to order and wait for the warm full facilities, and having coffee served slowed up the experience. The meal was good and the atmosphere excellent. A good experience, that will be repeatable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Roger from Somerset

Comfortable Hotel and good food

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room very good, comfortable bed and the evening meal and breakfast were not only very good, but reasonably priced
2 out of 5
by Businessman from Wales

Disappointing; has the management team changed?

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: To be honest, not a lot.
Cons: The quality of food and customer service.
Food disappointing, tables dirty. It was difficult to find a table that wasn't sticky with glass rings (did readily wipe off with a damp serviette). The only evening meal I ate in the hotel (albeit on a Sunday) was below par. The mashed potato contained cold spots throughout - almost as though it had been inefficiently microwaved. The breakfast service on two of the three days I stayed was seemingly overwhelmed. Service was slow and inefficient (although a couple of the front-of-house staff did their best to keep things moving). On my last day, the Continental choices were still being set-up after 7:00 while increasingly restless customers were waiting for table service. Orders were mixed-up and it took over 25 minutes from ordering for two under-cooked (jellyfish-like) poached eggs to be served to me. A supremely unimpressive performance all round. Room (comfortable, but dark and dingy). The soft-start(?) energy-saving lights took a considerable time to produce sufficient light to be useable. It was virtually impossible to see anything for several minutes after turning these on. The Reception staff informed me that they were already aware of the problem (in their words the hotel staff been "told to" change bulbs in the bedrooms, but hadn't yet "got round" to my room). Needless to say, I expect better and do not intend to stay at the Swan again (except in extremis). I have also already warned my colleagues about the apparent slump in standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A

Old-fashioned hotel with character.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Its character
Cons: I have stayed here several times and once had no hot water due to everyone else in the particular area of the hotel having had a shower!
Location: A market town (albeit with very little character due to poor shopping area) but Jane Austen's house is withing easy distance, as well as Selborne
A long-established hotel with a bit of character to it - creaky floorboards under the carpet, very comfortable beds, wifi access, good choice of breakfasts, pleasant ambience, friendly unhurried helpful staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by robc from London

Mixed

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Main complaint my room was noisy. About every 30 minutes a noisy machine clicked on and rumbled for about 5 minutes. I thought I could sleep through it but it woke me and kept me awake. Tried phoning reception in the night, no answer. So lumped it, felt very tired next day. Breakfast very good, staff ok, nice location, pleasant room. So lots of good points, but a good nights sleep is always the acid test.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Glennstoat from Surrey

Nicedownstairs

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms very basic and dated, but clean and did the job. Breakfast service a bit haphazzard. Minor, but had to chase toast and got a bit of a blank look even though the menu said coffee, tea, toast all supplied as standard,Great location for the town and excellent market on the Saturday we were there.