Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Marlyland

Good family value

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This Best Western has a good location near Cornell University and is one of the few hotels to comfortably sleep five. We had two double beds, plus a double sleeper sofa, and still there was ample space in the room for suitcases and freedom to move around. The room was a little outdated, with dust and some high cob webs, but overall it was fine. The included breakfast was decent, with good variety. The hotel is located in a strip mall, with food and groceries nearby. It was just a couple of minutes in the car to reach the Cornell campus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saugerties, NY

Very nice

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great staff, nice free breakfast buffet, clean.
Cons: Could've used an extra full length mirror ( there was only 1 mirror in the bathroom), but that's my only complaint.
Location: Convenient location to many attractions. Walking distance to mini mall with grocery store.
We were in town for a wedding and needed to check in earlier than the 3pm check in and they put a note in the system to have housekeeping put a priority on the room. We arrived at 2pm and the room was ready. Very pleasant and accommodating staff. Room was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Right beside a strip mall and shuttle to downtown area.
Cons: Our beds were fine but our friend's bed was too hard so maybe a thicker mattress cover.
Location: It was on the edge of town which is nice as it was quiet and there was a strip mall right beside it with a spirit and wine and grocery store!
We stayed for 3 nights and our only issue was toiled didn't work properly but staff fixed it immediately. Kyle was the shuttle driver and she was amazing and gave us lots of information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Not nearly as bad as some of the negative reviews

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location - 150-200 yards to grocery, drug store, liquor store, gas and restaurants. Minutes from Cornell and The Commons.
Cons: This hotel offers good value. Expecting newer exercise equipment, larger flat-screen TV's or something bigger than a very small pool would mean more$
Location: Free shuttle makes hotel unique. We arrived on two wheels and it rained so we used the shuttle often. Drivers took us past mileage limit when slow.
While our stay was less than perfect, I feel the need to defend this hotel from some of the recent negative reviews. First of all, It's a Best Western. That means have realistic expectations, Best Western's are rarely "best" at anything. For example, the breakfast was great! I'm not sure what some folks eat for breakfast at home or what they expect at a restaurant but describing the breakfast as "less than adequate" or complaining about there not being enough seats is just plain ridiculous. An attendant was stocking and cleaning the breakfast area the whole time we were there and there was seating for about 40 in a larger than average dining area. Trays were available to take your breakfast back to your room, several picnic tables or the couches in the lobby. As for the cleaning, again it seems some have unrealistic expectations. We left the hotel several times daily and also walked the hallways a dozen times taking out our dog. Housekeeping is a fairly numerous, friendly, efficient staff. I saw carpets being washed and maintenance staff doing their thing daily as well. Another thing worth mentioning is that if you are a pet owner this hotel is probably one of your better options in Ithaca. There is a small amount of grass outside every door and window but plenty more green space at the end of building 100. There is quite a bit of undeveloped acreage adjacent to the hotel as well as some Cornell Admin buildings that have a lot of trees and lawn as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Verbally attacked by hotel staff!!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The front desk clerk Sheila was wonderful. That's the last nice thing that I can say about this Hotel. The housekeeping staff was heard talking about us about our early check in and when out toilet overflowed. At check out when I complained about them, I had Roger the maintenance guy verbally attack me and told me that my husband and I must have done something to it. Are you kidding me!!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleaniness, front desk friendliness.
We ended up not staying there because the room was filthy. They switched us to a different room which was worse. The bedding was all stained, there were bugs everywhere, dust and dirt. The first room also had 2 beds and they switched us to a one bed (double sized) room which was not comparable anyway. We will never stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Close to Cornell campus. Quiet, well kept facility.
Cons: Better signage would help in locating the hotel from the road.
Kyle, at the front desk was terrific. She was so very helpful and pleasant. Made me feel like I had a friend so far from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from State College

Nice and clean.

Posted May 23, 2014
It is close to a supermarket. pretty clean and comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merrick, NY

Ithaca Skate Jam

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: close to the skateboarding event my children were attending.
Cons: small things. like tissues in the main room. towels that were put on floor, as requested, were not replaced. Complimentary breakfast was adequate,only
Location: small strip mall that had bagels and wings which worked for my 18 and 22 year olds.
Ithaca is a remote area so we didn't find alot to do. But the hotel was close to the event we were attending, so that was all that mattered. Hotel was VERY CLOSE to Cornell University, so it was perfect for anyone who was there for school related activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from New York

Good stay

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Clean, convenient, nice staff, reasonable cost. Just wish the breakfast area was larger. Would definitely stay here again when I am in Ithaca.