Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good Hotel close to shopping, beach and airport

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Proximity to shopping and airport, efficiency, location.
Cons: Some minor maintenance issues.
Location: Shopping at the Gateway Shopping Complex. Easy access to Umhlanga beaches. Close proximity to Durban city area. Restaurants in the area.
Umhlanga is a suburb of the city of Durban. The Hotel is located on the Umhlanga ridge, and is central to shopping, business and beaches, and very close to the airport (15-20 minutes). The hotel is directly across the road from the very large Gateway Shopping Complex, and is situated close to many large business companies. Umhlanga beaches were just down the hill from the hotel. There are a number of restaurants in the Gateway Complex, and a short taxi drive could take you down to Umhlanga beaches where there are numerous other restaurants and fine dining experiences. We noticed many business people using the Hotel, and consequently this resulted in a very efficient service within the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent Facilities and Comfort, 100% recommended

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Room conditions and amenities
Cons: Restaurant service, timing to take orders and serve food
Location: I didnt go around as I left the very next morning for work
Business Trip, Room was absolutely beautiful and incredible big. The only down side (but not a deal breaker at all) was that the restaurant staff took quite a long time to take my order and serve the food. But they were very polite and friendly, so it's OK. Everything else was absolutely perfect!! Recommended for business or pleasure! I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
very nice staff , very clean rooms, great location across shopping mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacqueline from Gauteng,South Africa

Hon

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
We had a good stay but being told in the morning that not alk guests are covered for breakfasts it was just an embarrassment,how do you charge a number and nit check that breakfast is covered. I booked 6 rooms my Reward membership is 52837419 and onl one booking is recognised. I also had an additional room in my name as number seven.Two bookèd under Karabo Moseneke and Lele Mfuyo were booked with my card.Please give me rewards due.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S from midrand

bad

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
hotel was not up to standard
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didnt give us more of an indication of your disatisfaction. We sincerely appologise for any inconvienance caused. Warm Regards Royal Palm Management and Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A P from Bethlehem

Great stay

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, treat stay. Only problem is I got 240 volts through me when trying to fix the bed light that was broken, but else excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your input has been noted and we appreciated your feedback. Safe Travels, Warm Regards Royal Palm Hotel and Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

High rate because of the Mall next door

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Spacious and clean room! Great location as a huge mall is just next to the hotel. Just across the alley, 1 mn walk. But service is mediocre, you might feel unsafe in the corridors of the hotel as everyone seems to have access. There are also offices (different companies) installed in the same floor as the rooms. Breakfast is not clean at all. Hundreds of Little flies on the fruits and nobody seems to care. Overall recommended because the room is nice a spacious and you've got the mall for plenty of food options.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Service is key to our industry and apologise for any inconvienance caused. Unfortunately with the heat and humidity in Durban, fruit flies are a problem, we certainly manage this as best we can. Travel safe. Warm Regards Royal Palm Hotel and Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Damian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bartlett, TN

Spacious Accommodations

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The location of the property was great for me. It was literally steps from the Gateway Mall and numerous eating establishments
Cons: The cleanliness, or lack of the three bedroom penthouse was disappointing. The kitchenette was not equipped with any utensils, noted in other reviews
Location: Hotel was literally steps from the Gateway Mall and numerous eating establishments. It's a little noisy due to the clubs located across the street.
The staff haphazardly demonstrated efforts to assist guest. The front desk associates were not knowledgeable in hotel's procedures. It took several attempts to retrieve additional internet service, they could not assist in "things to do" and overall a lackadaisical approach to customer service. I felt as if I was bothering the staff. Breakfast (including in my package) left a lot to be desired, you'll be better off to eat at one of the near by restaurants. The only staff member that had an idea about customer service was Isarel, security employee. The layout of the three bedroom penthouse is great; however, the sofas and carpeting need serious cleaning. Several of the lights did not work and/or needed light bulbs. Overall the room shows that regular attention and cleaning are lacking. Balconies are added value to sit out and relax. Warning: beware of the U-Cabs service lurking in front of the hotel, they will attempt to take advantage of tourist, especially Americans. That will be a separate review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by Sally, Hotel Management
Dear Sharlene, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your points are valuable to our hotel and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. The departments have been addressed. Service is key to our industry and we sincerely opologise for any inconvienence caused. Thank you for acknowledging Israel, we have conveyed your gratitude. Thank you. Safe Travels Royal Palm Hotel and Team