Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA, USA

Paradise in Santa Catarina

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Glorious setting especially from room 25, sounds were amazing (music, rain, children, birds, roosters), nice restaurant, beautiful courtyard
Cons: door was opened twice while I lay sick in bed...without a knock. uncomfortable....causing me to use deadbolt more often. add room safe for valuables
Location: I did not get to explore, since I was there to assist my daughter get medical care, but the excursions you could book in Panajachel were plentiful.
In spite of negative blogs that I read, my experience was fabulous. I used the hotel, not for vacation, but for an emergency purpose to check on my daughter's welfare (UCD student) after a dog bite. My room #25, could not have had a more breathtaking view of both the volcanoes and the lake. It was clean, had hot water, was serviced well and one night the maid even dressed up my towels into an animal shape. I had all that I needed....and if I were there on vacation - I still would have been satisfied. There were still some natural challenges that were par for the environment....a quiet stream of ants and one other annoying insect creature - but it is Guatemala! I took pictures of the beautiful courtyard and enjoyed the birds that also seem to love the balconies and court pleasantries. I never got the pleasure of using the pool or hot tub....but next time when I bring my spouse, I shall. I felt safe there most of the time from outside, more sinister nighttime activity...as the gates seemed to be shut each night. The restaurant was well staffed, colorful and had the same glorious setting as my room. the music from both the church and central square in Santa Catarina could always be heard lending to the ambiance. The children's voices...at the school nearby was such a happy sound...loved it. Can't wait to stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fede from Guatemala

Nice hotel, with a warm little pool, enjoyable.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The only thing that was disappointing was a noise church that didnĀ“t let me sleep a nap. everything else was excelent... acording to the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel & grounds, but not worth the price

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Beautiful grounds, staff and restaurant. Great hot chocolate!
Cons: The beds and room decore
Location: Great location to lake Atitlan!
Beautiful hotel, great location and great grounds. The food is great and staff was also very nice. The beds were pretty uncomfortable, unless you like hard mattresses. The room decor was very sparse, so I don't think the room was worth the price paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
2 out of 5
by Merlin from San Pedro, CA

Not Happy

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Nothing. I have stay in many, many hotels in Panajachel and have enjoyed my stay every time with the exception of this time.
Cons: Everything.
Location: There was nothing to do around. We had to drive far away to eat and do some shopping.
I went to this hotel expecting to see a beautiful place with great accommodations. My room was ugly with a strong musty smell. It ugly vinyl floors that were crooked from humidity and ugly popcorn cielings. It had twin beds and my sister and her husband had to sleep in separate beds. My brother-in-law complained of not being able to sleep all night because the beds were uncomfortable and too small. They had very old 13 inch TVs in each room with bad reception and remote controls did not work in either room. My room got flooded after a heavy rain. We only had a view of the swimming pool. The next day we were told that we did not qualify for a free breakfast because we had a discounted room. We did not even qet a receipt after checkout because they did not like that we booked with Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London UK

Hotel Villa Santa Catarina Guatemala, lake Atitlan

Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is at a quite position at the lake Atitlan perhaps 15 minutes with a tuktuk from Panajachel. It was a relaxing place and recommend it. Boat hire to goto more lively places are available.
3 out of 5
by Pete from Mexico

Beauty here, chanty there

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Pros: The coffee at breakfest
Cons: The location
Location: In the middle of a cinderblock town, wit a nice name
Beautiful hotel surrounded by shanties. The hotel is nice enough, the staff is good. It just happens to be built in an area that is surrounded by the extremely poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Christmas in Santa Catarina

Posted Dec 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
The views from this hotel of the volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan were superb. Sadly, neither the lawns nor gardens ran down to the Lake which were abutted by soccer and basketball facilities. The village is unfettered and Christmas Eve Mass in its Church will always be remembered. The hotel was almost empty during our stay and despite its relatively high charges was deficient in many areas. The hot and cold water supply was indifferent; there was no coffee or tea provision in the room or vending in the hotel; the pool was not wholly clean and the hotel catering prices were twice that of the village eateries. Toiletry provision was limited to two small bars of soap for 3 days occupancy. The Receptionist Natalia, was very helpful and made all our onward bookings for us. A final note: the villages around the Lake are very commercial except for the lesser know ones and the Lake crossing can be bumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Christmas at Santa Catarina

Posted Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Junior Suite has excellent view.
Cons: Indifferent hot water, no tea or coffee facilities in room, no complimentary water.
Location: Is not as near the lake as probably perceived.
The views from this hotel of the volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan were superb. Sadly, neither the lawns nor gardens ran down to the Lake which were abutted by soccer and basketball facilities. The village is unfettered and Christmas Eve Mass in its Church will always be remembered. The hotel was almost empty during our stay and despite its relatively high charges was deficient in many areas. The hot and cold water supply was indifferent; there was no coffee or tea provision in the room or vending in the hotel; the pool was not wholly clean and the hotel catering prices were twice that of the village eateries. Toiletry provision was limited to two small bars of soap for 3 days occupancy. The Receptionist Natalia, was very helpful and made all our onward bookings for us. A final note: the villages around the Lake are very commercial except for the lesser know ones and the Lake crossing can be bumpy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great hotel tucked away

Posted Oct 27, 2011
Location: I would recommend staying in the town of Panajachel as that is where all the restaurants and shops are.
We stayed here when we visited Panajachel Guatemala. The hotel is well maintained, has a lovely garden and very nice employees. The downside to this hotel is that it is not actually in Panajachel, it is about 7km away and located in the very small town of Santa Catarina. Anytime we wanted to go to Panajachel we paid between $5 and $10 for a tuk-tuk or taxi for a 15 minutes drive, so it is not very convenient. That said, it is a great place to relax at night, and the food in their restaurant is amazing. They have several night watchmen that patrol the grounds so we felt safe.