Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for the University

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: I thought the service was very good.
Cons: No, I was extremely happy with Lancaster House Hotel
We had a lovely stay in this hotel. We ate in the restaurant and had a very good meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Great week staying at Lancaster House Hotel. Walked over to the university each day for class, very convenient. Appreciated breakfast included in my rate plan and the pub was enjoyed nightly. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Nice hotel with pool and excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Good clean hotel on grounds of Lancaster university. Sports facilities are free. Pool is very nice size. Breakfast is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

Large but friendly hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Location: We only stayed overnight,
We really enjoyed our overnight stay. The hotel restaurant served us a wonderful meal. The bar had a relaxed atmosphere. The room and public areas were very clean. The only complaint was that we were unable to adjust the temperature of the heated towel rail as the control dial was missing. Everything else was excellent. We would like to return for a longer stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrollton, TX

Great find in the English countryside!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Everything! Nice quiet, spacious room -- good Internet service -- good food and wonderful spa in the English countryside.
Cons: Can't think of a single thing.
Location: Across the street from Lancaster University, where it is very easy to catch a city bus that runs to and from city centre every 15-20 minutes.
We decided to stop over in Lancaster on our way from Isle of Man (via ferry) to Edinburgh (via train) -- SO glad we did! This is a lovely, quiet English town with very friendly folks, and the Lancaster House was a wonderful respite after some hectic sightseeing in London, Cardiff and Liverpool. The hotel is located on the grounds of Lancaster University, five miles from the train station -- about a 15-minutes cab drive away in heavy traffic (quicker in quieter times.) We had a spacious, quiet room -- and our dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant were both very nice. There is also a nice pub with friendly bartenders and a wonderful spa where I had a nice massage. We left feeling very rested and recharged -- ready for the rest of our sightseeing in Scotland and Ireland! It was also quite easy to catch a city bus across the street to go to the city centre for some sightseeing/shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely hotel with good facilities.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The really exceptional food and friendly staff.
Cons: Updating the furniture in the room and advanced warning of when the restaurant would be busy for breakfast.
Location: Right next door to lancaster university.
Bed really comfortable, furniture a bit dated. Excellent food, which was served promptly, despite their being two large coach parties in the restaurant. Friendly and attentive staff. Leisure facilities brilliant, the warmest jacuzzi ever and huge sauna and steam room! downside was queuing to get in the restaurant for breakfast due to the two coach parties but the breakfast was exceptional, although don't ask for coffee if you like a strong cup!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not far from Lancaster center

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Facilities where excellent, wine expenses in resterant not much chouice in food, hotel bar has good menu and is cheaper!. Would stay there again, but eat in bar resterant area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Comfortable hotel, decent food judging by room service only, but comfortable all round. Nice staff, great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uni Pick Up and a regular Visitor

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Staff always friendly. Room great. Gym great. Restaurant great. When my son leaves Lancaster Uni, I will still come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Canada

Close to Lancaster University

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is comfortable, but no air-conditioning.