Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Great Hotel! Comfortable and spacious rooms. Staff is very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, boutique hotel.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Very large and nice with exposed brick walls.
Cons: More soundproofing in the floors.
Location: Not much nearby.
The hotel was great and the restaurant excellent. Being a very old, wood building, the floor above creaked. The hotel placed a family with kids in the room above and all we could here were the kids running around above.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Lovely, quiet hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Extremely helpful staff and an excellent on-site restaurant! We stayed for 2 nights while we were relocating out of state and it was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from White Stone, VA

Historic hotel with flair

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Unique and price on Expedia
Location: We were only in town for 1 night, but besides the hotel restaurant which looks good, there is a brewery nearby. I'm sure there's more in the area.
Wonderful experience - front desk upgraded us to 2 queen beds for a family of 4. Rooms are a nice size with comfortable beds. Bathroom is up-to-date in decor. Loved the exposed brick and loft style ceiling with beams. The restaurant/bar had a neat atmosphere - felt like you're in a dungeon with stone walls. The breakfast which comes with the room, was a wonderful display and selection. We enjoyed our short stay and will return there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, ON

Loads of Character

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Lovely hotel with a ton of character. Staff are wonderful and the room was very clean and comfortable. Only drawback was the creaky wooden floors. Could hear the people above us walking around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Factory Conversion is OK

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The converted factory style was nice.
Cons: If you give free breakfast, make it a little better, or offer a better one to buy.
Location: It's a bit out of the city center, and the surrounding area isn't great. There is a nice brewpub/rst a short walk away which was good.
Maybe I was expecting too much, but this was less than I'd hoped. Partly it was my own fault in not checking the location carefully enough. I'd assumed it was in the city center, but it actually a 30 minute walk from downtown central, which was a lot during hot weather. The room was rather spartan and not as "cool" looking as one in the picture on the website. We were on the ground floor overlooking the car-park. However it was clean and friendly enough. The breakfast was included, but the breakfast area was overcrowded, noisy and the provisions were rather unexciting, but OK. The restaurant stopped serving at 9pm (seems early for a city hotel?), so we were too late for dinner and had to go out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Friendly welcoming staff, very comfortable room, great restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainview, NY

Very nice idea

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Location: Central Market on Tuesdays is 1.3 miles away. Go there hungry!
The Cork Factory is a great recycling of a structure that would probably have been demolished otherwise. The motif included many antiques left over from a previous era. The lobby has a fireplace which must be very inviting in the fall and winter. Somehow, the preseved/restored brickwork is verey cozy. The brickwork is preserved on the exterior walls but the interior walls are clean and modern as is the bathroom. The only negative I can say is that the lighting in the bathroom was a little subdued for shaving carefully. The biggest negative was a mix up by the CFH staff with the Expedia reservation. When we arrived they had us down for only one night, not 2.The evening desk clerk looked into her records and discovered that Expedia had specified 2 nights but whoever was responsible at the hotel for blocking off the room for 2 nights had incorrectly made it only one night.The clerk volunteered (her idea) to upgrade us to a suite for our inconvenience.(Truly, it took her maybe 2 extra minutes to rectify this and get us our room keys, but we were certainly impressed by the suite that we were sent to.) The mattress was very good and we had a great sleep. We were awakened at about 11AM by the front desk which was totally unawares of the reservation correction the night before other than that we were staying an extra night. The day clerk said that I would be charged extra for that 2nd night however she figured it out even before I got down there with my Expedia reservation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Hotel was clean and quiet. The decor was very nice. For the price, it's definately the best bargin in town! I was in town for a week for a work conference and decided to stay here based on the reviews and boy am I glad I did. The hotel that was hosting the conference (Lancaster Host) was not even in the same league. I am planning a return trip with my family and wouldn't think if staying Anywhete else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lichfield, UK

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Comfortable Hotel in a period building. Despite booking weeks before, we were put in a room in a seperate building so we had none of the period features that we chose the hotel for. Continental breakfast very good but hotel restaurant very expensive so we chose to eat at the excellent Lancaster Brewery around the corner. There was a hotel gym which was good but very basic considering the size of the hotel so a lot of time was spent queuing for equipment. Overall, an excellent hotel which I would stay in again, it just lacked in a few areas.