Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Bryan from Washington, DC

Not in renovated wing

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: It was inexpensive and clean.
Location: Convenient to Paddington Station, which was especially helpful during a tube strike. Hyde Park is very close by.
Evidently there is a nicer, renovated part of the hotel around the corner (which was promised as part of my reservation), but I was in a small room on the fourth floor of a walk-up (83 steps, five more than the tube stairs that were only to be used in an emergency!). The staff at least carried my heavy suitcase up and down. It reminded me of a room in the Pod hotel, only not modern. Extremely compressed bathroom and a warning from staff not to take a shower around 9 am - that's when everyone else does. (Maybe the hot water doesn't make it to 4 in that case.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Hotel is ok, good location, nice staff. Room are quite nice. Breakfast ok. Hall needs refurbishment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and worth for the cost.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Staff, cleaniness, cost..
Cons: Photos of the room could be displayed so that it would help to choose before booking.
The place is near to central locations. Its a nice hotel to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erin from NZ

Handy Location, clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 28, 2013
The customer service was excellent and the rom comfortable and clean and the rate excellent. The only downfall we had with this hotel is that our room was in a different building around the corner to reception and the breakfast room. This meant that you had to walk in London weather to get there. Not a big problem. Also, the hotel was a little hard to find as there is no signage on the street and the building is behind large hedges. But it is a very handy location for getting around London and close to restaurants, tube and train.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Geoff from Portsmouth

Friendly, good value + location and decent size

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pleasantly surprised with size of room (#247) with nice spa bath. Not bad for £85/night a few mins walk from Hyde Park. Very friendly communications on phone prior and during our stay. Would happily recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Betsy

Good hotel very near Paddington Station

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Location extremely convenient. Quiet neighborhood. Staff very helpful.
Cons: The breakfast room is cramped and the food offerings could be improved if there were more space.
Location: This is London! There is everything to do near by.
Hotel staff were most helpful and accommodating, as well as cheerful. The bathroom/shower was very modern and functioned very well. This hotel has steam central heating, but also (unusually) has air conditioning which is easily controlled using a remote device. Television was very good as well, though navigating the cable system was not as easy as it might have been. I plan to visit this hotel again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful staff and Service

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Granted this is a budget hotel, but the rudeness of the staff is unnecessary. Not sure why, maybe they were just in a bad mood that day, but I sure felt terrible with the entire experience. They won't be receiving my patronage again.
3 out of 5
by James from Oxford

Hotel close to Paddington but no lift

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Great location
Cons: Including a lift
Location: Everything in Paddington, the station with links to the rest of London and lots of nice eateries
I took a risk in an attempt to save money and didn't book myself into a chain hotel, instead going for a guest house near Paddington station. I paid a bit more than other guesthouses hoping to get a lovely room and a good breakfast. on arrival after going back lots of guest houses with marble floors I found this one. On checking in I found out I was in an annex rather than the mine building and on the top floor with no lift. I went up what seemed like seven flights of small stairs until I reached my room. I had keys instead of a key card but I feel I could of pushed the door open without much force. The room was as small as possible to fit a double bed in, I was bigger than the bathroom but the shower was nice and the room very clean, no problems. I slept well on an ok bed. In the morning I rejected my breakfast being down all those stairs and around the corner, I didn't fancy having to come back the stairs, I checked out and left. I think I will go back to chain hotels, this one hasn't got anything wrong with it but it's no frills and you need good leg muscles.