Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Hotel handy for city but disappointing

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Handy for the city walls
Cons: Most things
Location: Easy for the walls and shopping
There was no room in the car park and I was told I would have to park on the street or in a pay and display car park, some distance from the hotel. There was no air conditioning in the room and the decor was tired. We were advised by reception that breakfast was served until 10.30am only to find that this was on weekends but we were staying mid-week and it ended at 10.00 am. Quite honestly, the price we paid for the room did not equate to good value for money I was extremely disappointed. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst hotel on my trip!

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Lots. Read my experience.
This was the most expensive and worst hotel on my trip to Northern Ireland. Specifically, the view outside my room window was of dirty furnace metal boxes of some sort and windows from rooms (or other apartments) about 40 feet from me. It would not have been hard for someone from one of these other places to drop down, walk along the roof with hotel machinery boxes and come in my window. I was not so worried about that, but found the view abnormally depressing. (I realize all hotel rooms cannot have a scenic view.) But, the beds were extremely bad. There were two twin beds. I tried to sleep in the one furthest from the window but it was very soft and lumpy and sloped noticeable to the floor. I slept in the other, which was the worst bed on my trip, but, at least it was fairly level. Also, the corridor smelled strongly of cigarettes, although it was a nonsmoking hotel. Interestingly, this was the only hotel on my trip that had no refund policy. Once I reserved, the money was immediately taken out of my account, and there was no option for changes. The fact that it was the most expensive hotel and the no refund policy, I thought I was in for an extravagant lodging experience. Instead, it was really dreary, uncomfortable and definitely sub par. The front desk staff said that they had renovated the top two floors but could not keep working on the bottom two floors during the summer season. So, they should have been discounted! I definitely do not recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A Very Pleasant Stay.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Positioned, so you could walk to most areas of the walled city.
Cons: The food served in the bar.
Location: The guided wall walk was very informative.
We stayed at this hotel while visiting relatives. I was a bit apprehensive as some of the reviews were a bit of a let down. However check in at reception was quick and the receptionist was friendly and helpful. We were given rooms on the third floor which is one of the refurbished floors. Our room was very nice and spacious,. The bed and pillows were comfy. Although we did not have a safe, there was enough security in the hotel, eg. Card operated lift and stairwell doors. The bathroom was nice and clean with the usual toiletries, fluffy towels and a hairdryer. The breakfast was varied with cereals, fruits and full English, It was very tasty and plentiful. The location was brilliant within the city walls. All in all a great stay. Would recommend .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlinton KY

Nice hotel close to family and downtown.

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Did not have face cloths. Had people hanging out and making noise well into the night outside the hotel. No air conditioning had to keep windows open which made outside noise even louder.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Solid hotel in excellent location

Posted May 29, 2015
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for exploring Derry. The price and amenities were a good value for us. We had breakfast included and parking was available on site for no extra charge. The room was large and comfortable, with the exception of noise and an inability to control the heat. The room faced the main street and there was much revelry late into the night. And, the room was quite warm and there was no way to cool it down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Das Hotel und v.a. das Frühstück waren ganz okay. Einzig das Zimmer war wirklich zu klein. Die anderen Zimmer waren grösser, gemäss Feuerwehrplan an der Eingangstüre. Dies auch nachdem wir erfahren haben, dass unser ursprünglicher Zimmer (411 = grösser) auch ausgetauscht wurde mit eben diesen kleinen Zimmer (Nr. 209). Ansonsten ist es ein gutes und v.a. Zentral gelegenes Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only hotel located within Ferry's walls

Posted May 21, 2015
Great location inside the walls of this city. It makes it walkable and accessible to anyone. However, outside of the lobby's remodel, the rooms are dated and "meh.". Nothing amazing from the service or the quality of rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Friendly staff in a friendly city

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Room,breakfast,staff.
Location: Go and meet the locals..a friendly bunch who like a chat. History,both recent and older just steps away..walk the walls to get some perspective
Great location inside the historic city walls,just yards from shops,bars and locals live music spots. Very friendly and helpful staff in an already friendly city. Reception staff went out of their way to make me welcome and explain.Room was big and well equipped,wifi was good although needed to be renewed in the morning. Short stay in the city but I would return to this hotel again. Hotel bar is a good place to relax with delicious Guinness. Breakfast was good,buffet style with lots of choice and lots of local produce. Parking was easier than I expected just around the corner..hotel is easy to find either on foot or by car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: the reception staff were lovely
Cons: the carpets on the main areas and in the bedroom need to have those big stains removed, and the carpark needs to be redesigned
we received a lovely welcome from the staff, the girls we met on both days were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and professional! the parking at the hotel was extremely limited, and the carpark needs to be redesigned, in order to make better use of the space available to them, maybe redraw the lines, and consider double decker parking, the location of the hotel is wonderful, and the hotel is nice, the carpets are very stained on all floors, and in the bedroom we stayed in, and need to be cleaned and/or replaced as it doesn't look good, and is a drawback, the dining room was nice and the breakfast was very good, overall it was very nice, and I would stay here again, and a special commendation to the reception team who were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lara from Tamworth

Newly refurbished

Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
I was in a newly refurbished room which has been redecorated to a high standard. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food in the bar and the breakfast was very good. I was worried about the car park situation and whilst the car park is very small, I got a space both nights. Can highly recommend this hotel.