Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, nicely appointed

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The hotel is lovely and the rooms are pretty with very nice bathrooms. The two things I did not like are having to pay a hefty fee for wi-fi and no free coffee in the lobby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Upscale Value!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for just one night, wanting a break from NYC. Was greatly surprised at the luxe room, contemporary yet comfy and peaceful. The hotel has done a really nice job upgrading their rooms in their renovation. We definitely will come back for the quality of our stay, the on-site amenities (including an outdoor patio bar which we were not able to take advantage of) and its proximity to NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bellmore new york

very nice hotel but...

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: expedia
Cons: the 2nd room charge can be taken off my credit card
Location: the area is excellent, lots to do nearby, walk to restaurants.
I book with expedia gave the check in clerk my information at check in and they billed my credit card for a one night stay. So now I paid for the room twice. very disappointed with that. also the pool and gym were under construction. I brought my granddaughter there for an overnight stay and we were going to go swimming:(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Overrated Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Food at Polo is excellent as is service.
Cons: See above
Hotel recently renovated. Apparently forgot to adequately light rooms, bathroom has no counter space for toiletries, air conditioner loud and inefficient, toilet flushes itself repeatedly, no wash cloths, no fan in bathroom, TV did not include stations to watch local baseball teams, pool closed for renovation, no complementary coffee in morning but you can pay $4.00 per cup, and new outdoor cafe right off busy street is just silly - they're on Long Island, not Puerto Rico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Very nice!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
This hotel is likely very pricey normally, but it was under construction during my stay (not disturbing at all!), so the price was half of Marriott. It was excellent! Clean, comfortable and very fancy. I hope I can get the same deal in the future. Highly recommended.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MW from Queens, NY

My Son stayed at Garden City Hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My son stayed at Garden City Hotel for 2 nights and we booked two rooms. We paid our bill through Hotels.com, but Garden City Hotel charged my sons credit card for $369 and he still did not get it back almost two weeks later. We called the Hotel many times, they have terrible management /customer service there , no one knows what is going on. No one calls you back. I just want everyone to know that they charge you a lot for a room, and they charge your credit card extra. And they don't want to refund your money. Terrible, terrible, terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by travel from Florida

Helpful staff

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only negative was that the fitness center was under renovation and not available onsite. My room was clean with a comfortable bed and nice toiletries. The staff were very friendly and helpful in answering questions and obtaining service needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SL from Washington DC

Classic Elegant Venue

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fabulous service, professional staff, wonderful level of comfort at a very affordable price. Room service was excellent, the surrounding area is quaint parks and elegant old homes, with several blocks of great small restaurants, cafes, and organic food stores.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kathleen from Minnesota

Overall Experience

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really appreciated the kindness of the staff and their understanding of our stay. The room was very clean but the lighting was too dim to read easily. I wish they would've supplied more coffee in the room . One caffeine cup when 2 people want it seems cheap. The wait, in the restaurant while very friendly, was long. The food was good. I would recommend this hotel to others.