Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The good aspects of this hotel was its charm, it's location on Mt. Hood, and the restaurant which had a very extensive breakfast selection and a good dinner. The negatives were it's very thin walls through which we could hear every word our "neighbor" was saying and their TV, bathroom sink faucets which were too big for the small sink making it hard to use, a very soft and lumpy mattress which we found hard to sleep on as we like a firm mattress, and 2 uncomfortable straight-backed chairs as the only seating. The room was small, but we anticipated that as the hotel was built in 1937. I will say that the room had all of the amenities one would expect. It was the comfort that was lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location, food
Cons: air conditioning
Attended wedding, beautiful! Had wonderful lunch and some great cocktails. staff very accomodating and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Rustic Lodge High On the Mountain

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Warm atmosphere, beautiful vistas made our stay very pleasant.
Cons: A few small windows had lost their weather seal and should be replaced - - not really a bid deal!!
Location: Pacific Crest Trail passes within a few hundred feet of the Lodge. Visiting Trillium Lake & a hike to Mirror Lake are well worth the effort.
Had a wonderful time. While the rain kept us from hiking the longer trails, we had ample time to take shorter hikes between the rain. The main room was a perfect place to read a book while sipping some wine and watching the Mountain top peaking out among the clouds. Dinner was very good, but pricy. Breakfast buffet was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sarah from portland, OR

very simple hotel rooms in a gorgeous setting.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: location, location, location.
Cons: Longer happy hour. TV/DVD player in rooms (had to pay to rent movies at the desk b/c I didn't have a TV in my room)
Location: Gorgeous mountain -- great for skiing in the winter and hiking in the summer. Several restaurant options in the lodge, as well as in Government Camp.
Spent two nights at Timberline -- the rooms w/ bathrooms and fire places were quite expensive, so I stayed in one that just had a bunk bed. It was simple, but comfortable and the coziness of the lodge & the setting was gorgeous
1 out of 5
by Traveler from Florida

Outdated Lodge

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Location, at the mountain
Cons: Not sure, feels like everything needs to major restoration.
Location: Mountains, skiing, hiking trails
Our room was smaller than a closet, with 2 banked beds. There is no ladder to claim over to the upper bed. So, to get up and get down from the bed, politely saying, very challenging. Also, beds attachment is very scrappy. I was afraid that the “whole construction” will fall down when my husband was tossing and turning in this “hammock”. The walls are paper thin, we could not sleep the whole night, because we can hear everything what is going on in hallway and in other rooms. You have to search for the bathrooms, as we were told they are in “un-marked” rooms. Every time we needed to use bathroom or shower they were occupied. Additionally, there was this awful smell that permeates the entire lodge. So, I could not even eat at the lodge restaurant. Needless to say, we only could survive there for one night and cancel the other 3 we suppose to stay at the Timberline lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel on the mountain

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Beautiful historic hotel perched on the side of Mt. Hood. The hotel is beautifully maintained as much as original as possible. The building was built by the WPA in the late 30's and is a terrific example of craftsmanship. Restaurants provide a high quality of food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Poppy from Knoxville, TN

Living History

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: We enjoyed the simplicity of our room and feeling like we had stepped back in time and sharing that rare opportunity with our 3 teenage girls!
Cons: We noticed how many day visitors there were and were wondering if some parking fee should be required and/or preferential meal arrangements for guests
Location: Even though its not convenient to anything else, that's part of the magic of getting to it! We drive from Bend, which is worth visiting as well.
We loved learning about the history of the Timberline Lodge and what hope was brought to the artisan people of the region during its construction phase despite being in the throws of the Great Depression. The craftsmanship is amazing and it definitely was designed and constructed as a true labor of love! We were also amazed how quickly it fell into ruins after a brief period of bad management but just as quickly was rejuvenated to its original glory. This was one of my favorite stops on our Oregon vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Ten Sleep, WY 82442, USA

Great place for skiers and snowboarders

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: The architect of the lodge.
Cons: The food selection.
Location: The road, even with the storm, was well maintained.
The hotel was very comfortable. The free coffee in the mezzanine was a Godsend. Some of the rooms have fireplaces and keurig coffee makers which were nice. The beds were awesome; feather beds with down comforters. The only complaint was the room was too warm for good sleeping. With the storm going on, you couldn't open the window be ause of the snow. All in all, though, a nice place to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with amazing views

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: The history and the views
Cons: No outdoor activities for kids who don't ski.
Location: You can't top it!
This historic hotel near the top of Mount Hood is a must-see! It was fun to get to spend the night there. The rooms are a bit rustic, which is cool for skiers. It's wonderful to get to use the sauna and outdoor hot tub after a day on the slopes! The breakfast buffet in the Cascade Dining Room was good with awesome views. We wished there were small areas outside where kids could play in the snow or sled--and more kid-friendly food. It's an excellent place for adults! If you can't spend the night, at least go up there for lunch! The views are worth the trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Portland, OR, USA

Charming rustic lodge

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: Ski in, ski out, charm, beauty
Cons: Lack of privacy
Location: Stunningly beautiful.
We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The Lodge is charming and the staff attentive. We ate in two different restaurants in the Lodge, and both were excellent both in quality and value. The only drawback was the lack of a sense of privacy in our room. Though the adjoining doors were closed, sound traveled freely from the next room. When the woman next door sneezed, it sounded like she was in bed with us. Conversations were not only audible, but understandable. If we stayed again, we would inquire about a room without connecting doors. That said, we were there to ski, the conditions were perfect and we had a great experience.