Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Juliette from California

Great service

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great service hotel. The staff makes you feel very special. The rooms are very outdated especially the bathrooms. We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic but it still felt small because the bathrooms are very small. The decor in the room looked very cheap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Honeymooners from California

We loved this hotel and the service!

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived to a warm welcome, tour and glasses of prosecco. We really loved the service and food at this hotel. We had an issue with some things in the room we were first given (it was an upgrade which was so nice), but bed was horrible, and blow dryer didn't work. After informing the staff of our issues they quickly found another room for us and moved all of our things. They couldn't have been nicer. I definitely think the service and food at this hotel was 5 stars. The second room we had was also really modern and the bed was so much better. The pool is so nice and the wait service there is awesome. The free breakfast was also so good and there was something for everyone. They even made us iced coffees every morning as extras! The only other things negative was there really is no beach but it is a 10 euro taxi ride to a nearby lovely beach club Nammos. The other thing was waiting for taxis. I wish they would have a car or taxi on call always. It wasn't a long wait, but since nothing is in walking distance they need to offer better means of transportation. The said maybe we should rent a car but after seeing the roads and drivers we felt it wasn't the best idea. Overall we loved our stay here and would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC, USA

great location, very scenic, privacy

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The attention to detail in room, artwork and landscaping is very impressive. The staff was very helpful and attentive to all requests. The front desk service provides a welcoming meeting which provides helpful information on all amenities provided by hotel. The initial impression is of a quality, top level hotel and this theme plays out throughout the whole visit. Would recommend highly to travelers that want more than the standard expeirence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by VMAC from Melbourne Australia

Nice, but could be better.

Posted Sep 20, 2012
Pros: Breakfast was excellent, great location and proximity to ornos bay beacj
Cons: the fine details you'd expect at a 5 star hotel, comfortable beds, well laid out bathrooms etc were all lacking.
Location: A little far from Mykonos town but it you're after a more family friendly location it was perfect.
The hotel overall is very nice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Our initial room, whilst very nice in theory with a private pool, is prone to mosquitos and a number of issues with the electronic blind made it very difficult to enter and leave the room. The replacement room was very nice however the bed was very very uncomfortable and not what you'd expect from this type of hotel.
2 out of 5
by Mary from London, UK

I will never stay there again.

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Pros: Staff attitude, traditional authentic architecture, excellent breakfasts.
Cons: Rocky inaccessible beach, pollution on the beach, worn out leaky bathroom, lack of privacy.
Location: No pedestrian walkways around the hotel, have to get a car even if you could have walked for 10 minutes. Not far from the city and nightlife.
I came to stay at the Kivotos for a short 3-day holiday with my husband. The staff attitude was excellent - it is obvious that they are trying to excel. However, we were given a room where the only daylight source was coming from a transparent glass door in a glass wall, thus, our entire room was exposed to the public area. The only curtains were heavy, so if we didn't want people to stare at us, we could pull the curtains and turn on electrical light. The furniture and bathroom were visibly worn with the bathtub leaking water onto the floor. The worst, however, was the beach: difficult access for swimming because of the rocks and sharp, small stones, the immediate area is well-populated by sea urchins, forcing the intrepid swimmer to take their own chances. The most outrageous thing was not even the quality of the beach, but as we settled on the hotel-owned deck chairs on this beach someone in a neighboring building (not part of the hotel) somewhere above us discharges some waste water which ran down the rocks and terraces, forming a foul and malodorous stream right underneath our deck chairs, pouring over my belongings and shoes. This discharge ran for about a minute then stopped. On complaining to the hotel staff they responded that they have no control over their neighbor's actions and can not help this. They also said that this is the first time anything like this happened. However, in the succeeding days, I could see fresh traces of new discharges at that same location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

My worst hotel experiance

Posted Jul 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Kivitos is shockingly over priced, and thats not even accounting for the awe inspiring cost of food and beverage on site (12 euro bottles of what, simple drinks that are 18 euro - after the exorbitant cost of the hotel). The truth is I can handle cost when you get what you'e paid for, but Kivitos felt run down, the room was small, the bed unimaginably uncomfortable. We were so upset with our lousy first room that we insisted on being moved (after they refused to let us check out and go elsewhere). The second room was marginally better, but the shower didn't work, the walls were stained, there was plaster dust from recent work everywhere, and tiles were missing from the wall. While the hotel staff are all nice, the quality of service and attentiveness is well below what you would expect given the price point of this hotel In many ways it was one of my worst ever hotel experiances despite also being one of my most expensive (we spent over $800 USD per night). I would avoid this spot at all costs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luba

Romantic luxury!

Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
What a gorgeous hotel. The pictures on the websites don't do it justice. This was our fourth stop on our Greece holiday and we weren't disappointed. The grounds and the hotel rooms were well kept and recently renovated. Our room was just stunning. We got an upgrade to a suite. Wonderful attention to detail. Service is amazing. They really do go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The staff is very attentative! The vibe of the hotel is romantic and very soothing. Absolutely gorgeous. The breakfasts and food is wonderful. Try the pizza! 7-8 euro and 10 min to town by cab. But withing a 5 minutes walk to ornos beach with a short cut! They also do have their own little beach you can swim and relax at. Also a beautiful spa! And gym. And even a little Chappell. Overall impression magically romantic and relaxing! Can't wait to go back again. Thank you Kivotos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from istanbul

kivotos, ornos, mikonos , best of ever

Posted Sep 10, 2010
from beginning to the end, all the stuff and the owner of the hotel did great everything for us. I think it was the best hotel of the island. Everyththing- Rooms, retaurant, spa , swimming pool, beach etc. was perfect. Roomservice, airport transfer, reception , all stuff are very good. everyboyy was so hospitable, friendly and genially. we all say with my wife and friends " Kivotos, Ornos, Mikonos is the best of ever."