Ratings based on 3,892 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peabody MA

Friendly staff...

Posted Oct 22, 2014
I went to new York for just one night, I had 5 more people with me from Brazil, they loved the location also the room was very cleaning, big enough for 6 people and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great Times Square location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Breakfast pricey unless you are a Hilton Honors member. Only ate there one morning.
Location: Times Square - theaters and multiple restaurants - Walking distance to Central Park, 5th Ave., Empire State Bldg., Rockefeller Center, Subway.
We enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree. The only complaint was that the mattress on the sofa bed was thin and not very comfortable for my 6.2 grandson. Other than that the accommodations and staff were excellent. Great location right in the heart of Times Square within walking distance of most of the theaters and many wonderful restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Right in the middle of times square!
Location: Perfect location for broadway shows!!
Great location!! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

excellent location for the hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: breakfast
With a 4 children family, able to rent one room and enough space for everybody to sleep. Perfect location, walking distance from everything. don't think that they will offer you a sightseeing tour as advertised ! only a couple of coupons ! if you come by car, you have to pay full price everytime you take your car outside/inside of the parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Comfortable Hotel located close to everything!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location & just a really nice atmosphere to come back to after a day of exploring
Cons: Look, I must say that we were really spolit with the views from our room that Gingers was less attractive eating dinner in a windowless space.
Location: Like I said above, the location allows you to enjoy everything NYC has to offer, not just in walking space but further if you want.
We had travelled over 20hrs so when we finally arrived to check into the hotel we were tired & Willie was exceptional. The staff were always friendly & helpful. We had the best view overlooking Times Square,there was always something going on down there & we had a great view of it all. Our room was really spacious, had block out curtains & when the windows were shut, it was quiet....except the odd siren but you would hear that where ever you were. Our room was always clean & tidy. It is really the best location, 5min walking or less to many shows, the TKTS office was right outside the door, The Greylines Red hop on hop off bus & staff are also right outside the door & I will say its best to buy your tour with them on the street - they give great deals. Central Park was a 20min stroll or 5mins on the metro. There is a metro station next door but the main lines we wanted to use were generally 42nd St (or 50th) again about 7-10min walk depending on the volume of people on the street. Times Square is super busy Thursday through to Sunday & less intense the rest of the week, we stayed for 12 days & had the best time. Statue Of Liberty was about a 20min taxi ride at 8am & cost us around $20-25usd. What we enjoyed was basing ourselves at Double Trees & not be limited to where we could go thanks to the wonderful public transport - Metro. We enjoyed shopping then whipping stuff up to our room & heading out again. Lastly, Thanks to Willie & The team for an amazing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Thanks to the Double Tree for making our vacation wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Right on Times Square !

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great experience. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone. My view from the room was overlooking Times Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for subway and broadway shows

Posted Oct 19, 2014
While staying right in Times Square can be confronting , once you get your bearings there are pluses to this . Can walk home easily from broadway shows at night. Can easily escape crowds to your hotel room quickly. We bought a subway pass and uptown station right next to hotel and downtown across the road .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Fall Break in the City

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast buffet. The room was quiet, even though we faced Times Square. Loved having a suite for the cost of a regular hotel room.
Cons: Wash the windows
Location: Times Square, Broadway Theatres, Discovery Museum, TKTS, shopping, great restaurants
The hotel could not be in a better location (be prepared for a crowd the second you exit) right in the heart of Times Square. We had no more than a few blocks to walk in either direction for any of our Broadway shows. The staff was friendly and efficient. We received free WiFi during our stay (I was told it was because we booked for 5 nights?) and chose a package which included a free breakfast buffet each morning. (Including made-to-order omelets, French toast, waffles & pancakes). The buffet had scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and potatoes each day, with fresh fruit and a wide assortment of pastries, bagels and muffins. Very good food with attentive staff to refill our juice requests. The hotel has a bar in the third floor lobby. (From the entrance you take an elevator to the third floor lobby, then must transfer elevators to access guest rooms. Lots of elevators so we never had to wait long) We did not eat any other meals at the hotel. The room was perfect for our family of three. A very nice bedroom with a comfy King bed, and a separate living area with a pull-out bed. Each room had a nice flat screen TV with a good assortment of cable channels. A nice sized mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker were in the room, as well as a safe. We were on the 32nd floor, facing Times Square. We had a great view, but our windows were filthy. (Although I can't imagine how they would keep them clean given the weather and air quality, with all of the construction in the city.)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Couldn't even swing a cat!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The location was really good.
Cons: The room should only be let to singles, couples or family with small child, certainly not 5 adults.
Location: We were at heart of Times Square, so right in middle of mid town, we could walk uptown or downtown.
After my friend recovered from a long illness, we decided to celebrate her health with a trip to New York, 5 females, itinerary full of shopping and restaurants. I booked a 2 bedroom suite with a sofa bed as we wanted to stay together to have fun getting ready for day/night out.I even e-mailed Hilton prior to stay to plead for a nice room with a lovely view. They responded that we would be taken care of. How disappointed were we! It was not 2 bedrooms, but had 2 beds in 1 room, sofa bed taken entire floor space of sitting room, so we had to sit in bed. We couldn't unpack as they had only 1 wardrobe. They had only 1 toilet. I repeat there was 5 of us!! We went back to reception to ask for bigger room/another additional room and offered to pay extra.Receptionist politely declined offer, said they didn't have any bigger rooms or extra rooms as they were overbooked and were busing customers to other hotels. To say this ruined our experiance of New York is an understatement. We have been friends for 40 years, but constant walking in on each other in toilet got on all our nerves, along with living out of the suitcases. We will hopefully go back to New York, but it certainly wont be to stay at Double Tree suites.