Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill

Very good location! Friendly staff, clean rooms

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Nothing much to complain about with this hotel-- staff was friendly, rooms were clean, and location is very good. Easy access to the subway, and walking distance from Central Park, Times Square, and Madison. There's also a Duane Reade around the corner so it's very convenient. Just 2 minor setbacks-- the bathroom door was broken when I checked-in; it wouldn't close because the door would hit the room wall. But after two nights, the hotel staff were able to fix it. The front desk also didn't get to return my ID that I had to leave with my security deposit (I didn't have a credit card). So that could've been my fault for forgetting to ask when I checked-out, but some hotels don't need the reminder. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay, and I would definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: The bathrooms just don't provide much privacy given the types of doors they have.
The location was just great. We were able to shop, get to Central Park and other points of interest easily. The beds very comfortable and the rooms were adequately large for two. Also complimentary coffee great. We felt safe in this location and the staff were all very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shoreham hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Staff were extremely polite, nice clean room, only downside was the fact that you had to go down to the lobby in the morning to get a coffee as no kettle/coffee machine in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jorge from Chicago

Close to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: service and shower
Cons: internet connection
Location: lots of restaurants and 5th ave shops are literally steps away.
The rooms are small, yes, but really, who goes to NY and stays IN their room? What matter is that is nice and it's in the middle of it all, I walked everywhere. The shower is the BEST ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price in NYC

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Location: Great location, a few blocks south of Central Park, a few blocks north of the theater district, right in the middle of the island.
I would put this at the bottom of the 4 star range for NYC. It was pretty barebones, but nice and clean and the staff was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Los Angeles

Great midtown option

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Right across from the Peninsula, the Shoreham is a great location and friendly/efficient service for a fraction of the price. Staff is accommodating and rooms are clean and comfortable. I'd recommend the Shoreham to anyone who wants a well-priced hotel without a lot of the overhhead of larger hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Midtown hotel with lots of background noise

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean. The cleaning staff were friendly.
Cons: Improve front desk staff and also turn down the bar music.
I was given room 215 on the second floor directly above the bar. The room was noisy as you could hear the music from the bar below and also the disco next door. I complaint two days in a row because of the noise and the hotel staff were unwilling to move me. They turned the music off at the bar but still, you could hear the noise from the disco. It was tough to sleep through. I stayed 5 nights. The location is brilliant in mid town and is really accessible. Unfortunately you also have to pay per device for wi-fi which is a bit stupid given that wi-fi per device is already $15 a day. I do not think I would stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Windermere, FL

Fantastic location!!!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
This was our first trip to New York, and the Shoreham was kind of a stab in the dark, but what a pleasant surprise! The staff was wonderful, the location was perfect (walking distance to Times Square, Central Park, most Broadway theaters), and the accommodations were clean and comfortable. The only nitpick I have is not necessarily against the hotel, but if you have a "city view" room (we were in room 417 which overlooks 55th St) prepare for some noises from the many vehicles that go up and down that street at all hours of the night, and apparently like to back up a lot, as the beeping was what woke me up most mornings. Don't know if its possible to soundproof the windows any better, but other than that, a truly perfect stay in New York City!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Toronto

Stylish hotel, well located

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: A quietly bustling, stylish hotel in the heart of the shopping district.
Cons: TV reception was poor,and there was no supplementary bathroom exhaust fan.
Location: Parking tricky near the hotel. Great restaurants at all price points very close. Amazing Fifth Ave. shops. Central Park and the MOMA right there.
This hotel is just a few blocks from Central Park, the MOMA, Rockefeller Centre! The staff were helpful and the room was cozy and modern. Parking is tricky near the hotel, but the valet helped us check in smoothly and gave us advice on long-term lots in the vicinity. Great restaurants at all price points very close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, right off 5th ave

Posted Mar 27, 2014
The staff was very nice, and helpful. Answered all my questions about the subway.