Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Great location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Hotel pratic. Bad internet No wash cloths No elevator 6 floors One glass for two people No fridge No safe Very small rooms Noisy No ac No ice Not good for older or heavy people Bed and floor sloped Superficially clean Good points. Convent location Generally safe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great Price for the Location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
This hotel is located in a lovely little plaza about a minute walk away from the St Paul metro station. The general area was quiet even with the window open, though the walls are thin so you may hear people talking while they walk up the staircase. I stayed in a single room -- it was tiny but not too bad honestly. Reasonable size bed, tiny bathroom, no lift so you may have to climb a few floors of stairs. Fantastic price for the location and I'd recommend it immediately to a savings-conscious traveler, especially if you're traveling alone. You need to leave your room key at the front desk whenever you leave the hotel (it's attached to this big clunky metal thing) which isn't really a big deal but it sort of irrationally annoyed me because I'm a bit antisocial and I don't like having someone monitor my comings and goings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shall we call it a hostel instead?

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Hospitality skills among the staff, cleanliness, room facilities...
Location: Location was good, the little square outside has a bunch of good restaurants and Rivoli street is seconds away.
Upon arrival the hotel door was closed, it was for at least 10 minutes... which concerned me very much. The receptionist that finally let me in had no hospitality skills, he even insisted on the fact that my surname should be pronounced in a different way, because that was the French phonetics! I asked him for the WiFi details and he ignored me, he asked me to request them later. The room was disappointing, no wardrobe, loads of metal hangers (the ones from the dry-cleaners), the bathroom was very basic and was dirty, the complimentary shampoo sachets and the soap was not replenished. The lamp was hanging too low, which made me strike it every time I got up. The duvet cover had blood stains... Only one out of the 5 receptionist, the tallest Algerian guy, was nice and with eye contact. The rest of them totally ignored me, some of them would not even greet back! The location was the only positive thing, but it was also an issue because it was noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location. Friendly staff.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
It was great! Lots of cafés near hotel, staff are very friendly. Long winding staircase was my only fuss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England

Good central location for seeing Paris.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Excellent central location for seeing Paris. Also overlooking a small square with a choice of several bistros, handy for your evening meal.
Cons: Some drinking facilities in the room would be good.
Location: Within walking distance of Place de la Bastille, Place des Vosges, Louvre, Seine, Notre Dame & Pompidou Centre. Also near the metro station.
The 2 rooms that we booked for 4 nights were clean, with comfortable beds which were very welcome after a full day of sightseeing. The staff were friendly & polite. We originally decided when booking the hotel to find somewhere else to have breakfast each day but changed our minds when we arrived. Really glad we did. The breakfast was certainly good value compared to prices if eating at a café/bistro. Breakfast consisted of a croissant, a pain au chocolat, a baguette, hot drink & orange juice, all for 7euros each a day. The hotel was happy for us to leave our luggage at reception after check out time and collect when we were ready to travel back to the Gare du Nord for the journey home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Great location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
The location was great, but the superior room overlooked a busy dining area and it was very very noisy , as there was no fans or ac it was really hot to shut the windows! We spent three sleepless nights, so unless you plan to be out most of the night or you are a very heavy sleeper I would not recommend this hotel. The staff were ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

OK hotel in a perfect location, good price

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect - quiet street, across from a perfect little square full of cafés, a block from Rue de Rivoli and a Metro station
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Central Paris location in Le Marais, with lots of places to shop and eat nearby, walking distance to the Louvre, Ile Saint-Louis and Ile de la Cité
The location was perfect - quiet street, across from a perfect little square full of cafés, a block from Rue de Rivoli and a Metro station. The reception staff was very courteous and helpful. However, Room #2 was tiny! Narrow hallway between WC and shower, nowhere to put your suitcases, very little room to unpack and you could not walk around the bed. The window opened into an interior light shaft, and you could only see the sky if you put your head out the window. It was noisy because it was right on the staircase. (I think all the rooms are.) There were some noisy guests too -- who drags a rolling suitcase down a spiral staircase?? The cleanliness could be improved. The bathroom walls on either side of the sink need a good scrubbing to get rid of toothpaste spatter from previous occupants. Stained (not by us) sheets should be replaced. The blowdryer was a weird, ineffective hose contraption that didn't work very well, but seems to be what is supplied in Paris hotel rooms ... and as is the norm in Europe, bring your own face cloth, if you want one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México

Great location for a low price

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: ligths at the stairs and corridors
Location: You have the Malais ambient near, and places to visit as Notredam, Louve just minutes walking
The hotel is ok for sleeping over at night, to have a confortable shower and thats it. Its too dark in the stairs and corredors and dificult for carring laguage. The localtion is excelent!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Good boutique with a few difficulties

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We loved the hotel. Sooo close to St. Paul Metro and a very quaint square just outside but with no AC in July it was hot. Now we have the hottest weather Paris usually gets so that isn't always an issue. But some of the other reviews about noise are true IF you have your windows open. Very noisy. But closed the windows keep out about all of the noise. So it is a small Paris room but it served our purpose for a good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the view from my room and the proximity to the metro and Notre Dame area.
Since the hotel is narrow and tall, there are a lot of stairs. This wasn't a problem for me, but it could be for some.