Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by single dadfrom Elkhart, IN

Clean Cozy Rustic Lodge Retreat

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Out of the beaten path, which the trade off is great scenery,no Stressful Busy Traffic or Noise.Quaint Quiet surroundings.VeryPleasantPeaceful. Check In fast/easy. In room in mins. TastyContinentalBreakfast included"Waffle Bar" fun for kids. Rooms r spacious clean. Matress is wonderful,great sleep. bath roomy&clean. Rustic,well kept,could use suttle updates. Unfortunately we had our heater go out in the dead of winter. The front desk moved us to a different room quickly. Over all the experience for a 1st timer here was pleasant. It's not a 5 star, but it's not Buget Hotel either. I'd give it a rating above average and clean. For the Expedia Deal,I would return in a heartbeat. We stayed for 2 days,long weekend -it's a short hop MichCity Outlets/Dunes/BluChpBoat. Relished calm settings Nice getaway. Don't have to stress&worry about a bad neighborhood and your safety! Staff is accommodating. I'm will be a repeat customer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bobfrom Kalamazoo, MI

Quiet off the Beaten Path Location

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: The location was great. Certainly not next to a major highway with the accompanying noise, but easy enough to get to. Just use a GPS.
Cons: The breakfast could have used a little more variety but it was enough to get you started and out the door early.
Location: Lake Michigan! Also not far off I-94 about half way across Northern Indiana.
I was looking for a place to get in to late and leave early so my main criteria was cleanliness and price. This hotel fit the bill on both counts. It's a bit hard to find, located in a residential wooded area and it looks more like an apartment complex from the 1970s than one of the typical hotel chain buildings but the common areas and the rooms proved to be spacious and comfortable, if a bit outdated. There is an indoor pool and exercise room and a fair breakfast. I seen better of each elsewhere but not at this price. I imagine in the summer the place is packed due to its proximity to the Indiana Dunes Lakeshore, but in the winter it was quiet and peaceful just as I wanted. The price was better than some places that had terrible reviews for cleanliness and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again if price was a main criterion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a Resort

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Beautiful wooded setting, warm and welcoming lobby, spacious an comfortable room
Cons: Problems finding reservation at check-in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rlfrom Chicago, IL, USA

Forest View-great value

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Pool, sauna, great view out the back patio.
Cons: Stale smell when we first walked into the room. It cleared up in minutes when we turned the fan on.
Location: Quiet. Make sure you check out the Mexican restaurant less than a mile away. Great food at a great price.
This was a last minute purchase on the way to our destination. We chose it because we like "off the beaten path" kind of places at a great price. When we walked into the room, it smelled kind of stale, but after a few minutes with the fan on, there was no trace of the smell. It was quiet, woodsy and the staff was very friendly. I loved feeling like we were in the forest. It has a cozy, cabin kind of feel.
3 out of 5
by Bobbiefrom Indiana, USA

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 7, 2012
Pros: They did offer a breakfast which wasn't bad. Did save us money by not having to eat out for breakfast.
Cons: Dirty look and feel to it. They never cleaned the windows or patio doors so it had cob webs everywhere.
Location: Kind of off the beaten path.
Although the employees were nice we had trouble from the start with our checkin. We had booked two rooms which one was to be a king. When we arrived, they had it as a double queen, which was more expensive. They were able to accomodate us for two nights but had to move rooms for the last two nights. Then it wasn't booked correctly which caused confusion for the next staff person because I had to "check in" again and I had to repeat the same story over again. No one could figure out how to adjust the rate so I could get the king rate. They finally charged me correctly. When I checked out the final day they said I still owed $20 on one room and $66 on the other. They assured me I had been charged correctly but she couldn't figure out how to make the adjustment on their system. I haven't seen my credit card statment to make sure I was not charged more after the fact. We had four people in our room but they only allowed three towels and three wash clothes. So in order to get more I had to take my dirty ones to the front desk to get replacements. The rooms were in need of updating badly and a good cleaning and new paint. I guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a gem!

Posted Jun 26, 2012
A total gem at the Dunes! And the hotel staff are very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Pickerington, OH

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 26, 2011
I was at this hotel years and ago and other people have reviewed that it's an "outdated" hotel. It is exactly as I remember. It's rustic and maybe a little outdated, but our stay was wonderful. The rooms are huge. (We had a room with King bed), there is a little wood balcony on each and every room looking out into the woods. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Best of all, it was VERY clean! We had a wonderful free breakfast of biscuits and gravy and it was great. I hope they can manage to get through the tough times and stay in business. It would be a shame if they had to shut down. The pool was open and clean and the sauna was working as well. The only thing that was not working was the jacuzzi. We looked at the weight room and it was nice also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

nice cozy hotel

Posted May 9, 2011
the hotel over all was nice clean rooms and nice and secluded in the woods with belconys on every room with a veiw of a nice creek
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

A Good Hideaway

Posted Jan 19, 2011
This is a good hideaway. It's off from the main road and offers lots of privacy. I like how each room has its own balcony. but, if you have trouble walking up/down stairs, this hotel does not have an elevator. You can request first floor rooms. The price is right and the rooms are clean. I have used this hotel twice and would definitely go back for a short weekend get-away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Getting better and SO close to the dunes

Posted Sep 15, 2010
Though this hotel appears to be in the midst of bad times and apparently has changed ownership, it's still a decent place and a good deal. I like the fact that it's located in a forested area on a quiet street, unlike most hotels that are on busy highways. The hotel itself is attractive and mostly clean. We've stayed at Spring House Inn for many years because we love Indiana Dunes State Park. If the breakfast was better organized and the spa and sauna were opened and with a little TLC this hotel would be great.