Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

Smaller Hotel that provides everything you need

Posted Dec 9, 2014
We spent our honeymoon at Villa Taina and absolutely loved it. We did not want the all inclusive experience because we wanted to explore the country and get an authentic feel of the Dominican and the people. While the hotel is located in a "tourist town", we still feel that we got to experience the locals and all the area has to offer. The bartenders at the hotel bar are outstanding and very fun to be around and the beach crew is very friendly. You can Kiteboard, Windsurf, Paddleboard and sometime surf right in front of the hotel.....as well as rent all the equipment to do so from the hotel. There are 8-10 Bars/Restaurants on the beach next to the hotel and are all within about 300yds of the hotel. If you want to explore and go other places you can talk to the hotel travel agent and they can set up any activity you would like to participate in.....Whitewater kayaking, horseback riding, swimming with dolphin at Ocean World, 27 waterfalls excursion, etc. THIS PLACE IS AWESOME!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montpellier

hôtel en plein centre, bien situé et au calme

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: sa déco sobre et de bon gout, sa propreté, son calme
Cons: salle de gym? pas essayée
Location: plein centre, la rue et son effervescence, la plage bordée de cocotiers pour ses longues balades,
la chambre était confortable, avec grand lit (mais en fait 2 matelas), la chambre ne donnait pas côté plage, soleil sur la terrasse mais pas de bruit de la rue, ouf.piscine au calme pour bronzer et se détendre; l'hotel donne directement sur la plage, la belle baie de cabarete, le soir on peut se promener sur celle ci le long des restos et bar de plage, trés agréable. sur la plage, on trouve location des tous les sports nautiques (surf, kite, paddle) des transats à disposition, le bar est trés agréable, le resto a un bon rapport qualité prix. remarque : pour le kite, en francais et même dans toutes les langues, s'adresser au club star kite (qui a son bureau à 50 m de l'hotel dans la petite rue à gauche); Alexie et Damien vous donnerons des cours ou des conseils si location, prof de qualité et sympa, foncez avec tranquilité.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new Jersey

Posted Nov 26, 2014
I did not stay in this hotel because day lied about everything. No free drinks all meals. When to although hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Good hotel in unpleasant town, on beautiful beach

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: Air conditioner in bedroom was temperamental and keeping that room cool at night was a challenge. The pool needs a handrail for entry/exit.
Location: A little further from the main street would have made it more pleasant since the street was loud, polluted and the panhandlers/vendors bothersome.
All staff were excellent in professionalism, courtesy and helpfulness. The restaurant was obviously well managed and observed cleanliness standards. The food was always tasty with a nice presentation and good sized servings. Our room was like a one bedroom apartment, and very light and bright. Everything was easy to use and there was space for our belongings to be put away. The refridgerator was a perfect size, it and the cooktop worked well. A good walk to the beach, but not too far. The security presence was maintained and welcome. The hotel architecture was lovely and the placement of it amid the tropical vegetation could not be better. The hotel provided for quick and easy access to a market for obtaining water, juice etc. Everyone worked hard (including delivery people) to keep the hotel functioning at its optimum. Musical entertainment provided on a few occasions with special dinner nights was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Hotel right on beach in central Cabarete

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Very convenient location. Serenade restaurant was quite good, prices moderate for on the beach. Great for windsurfing or kite surfing with equipment on site. ATM machine across the street. Small supermarket close by. Plenty of restaurants nearby on beach. 25 minutes from Puerto Plata airport - $35 taxi ride. Great wifi. Rooms basic but very clean and functional, with nice balcony. Be prepared for hawkers soliciting you on beach, on street and while eating - fact of life in DR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicky

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014
The hotel is located near all the restaurants and on a great spot on the beach The stuff ia very friendly and helpfull
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elinefrom Norge

Trivelig og delikat hotell

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Beliggenheten. Ikke prangende, men delikat og masse atmosfære!! Hyggelig betjening både i resepsjon/restaurant/rengjøringsperonalet.
Cons: Mengden håndklær endret seg fra dag til dag, ha like mange håndklær som gjester. NB! kondens fra AC-anlegg, vann dryppet!
Location: Nærheten til stranden og å spasere langs stranden var et stort pre. Dernest var det veldig praktisk at sentrum lå rett utenfor inngangen til hotellet.
Begeistret over beliggenheten av hotellet. Perfekt beliggende rett ved stranden, med rikelig mulighet til å sitte i sanden og nyte frokost/lunsj/middag! Veldig fornøyd med beliggenheten av rommet vårt. Bestilte et oceanfront rom som lå "høyt"og luftig (3 etg.). Rommet hadde en stor og fin balkong som var et perfekt sted å nyte en tidlig morgenstund eller slappe av etter en dag i sola... Vi var tre voksne gode venner (ingen par) i vårt følge og vi skulle gjerne sett at det var en sovesofa/ekstra seng, slik at alle tre fikk hver sin seng. Fornuftig løsning mht. strandhåndklær, levere inn/få nytt rent. Det var solsenger nok til alle. Naturens egne parasoller - palmene - sørget for passelig med skygge :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reidfrom Virginia

Nice comfortable clean and convenient

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Convenience, hotel services, pool.
Cons: material condition could use updating but considering the location and comparable hotels, this is not a big concern.
Location: La Terasse restaurant a few blocks down the beach in alley way was 5 star. Local shopping. Numerous water sports and tours.
Better than expected hotel. We didn't get a room on the beach side due to suspect noise. Boy were we pleased. Our suite was on the first floor with private patio area equipped with chaise lounges, patio table and chairs. Pool was also relatively private from the beach area, clean and refreshing. Restaurant had nightly specials that we appealing and reasonably priced compared to others along the beach. We only ate breakfast there one morning which was no par with any US based chain breakfast buffet. Be ware no real milk products available on the island. Evening local entertainment was very good and seating on the beach at no extra charge. Staff were very polite, accommodating and spoke fluent English. Bathroom has nice hot water shower but could use some upgrading. Cold air conditioning with in room controls. Based on local area, this was probably the nicest hotel on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Nice facilities for a decent price, wind and kite surfing rentals right at the beach along with chairs for lounging. Restaurant is decent.