Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Location: Delmonico's restaurant was OUTSTANDING!
Nice older hotel...great location...Chubby Chipmunk truffles in lobby Yummy! The air conditioner in the room did not cool the room. We called maintenance and they promptly came and changed the filter but this did not correct the problem. Did not sleep well because the of the temperature of the room. Otherwise, would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown location a plus

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Cons: Bathroom by the bar could be cleaner.
We enjoyed the downtown location. It's in walking distance of restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed being down town

Posted May 16, 2014
Nice get away. Close to good restaurants and friendly bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Texas

OnlyThingAround

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Roof Top bar was nice. the food and drinks were good. The room was clean. coupons are always good.
Cons: Food and drinks were pricey. One Crown and Coke was the same price as a signature coctail. Drink/food Voucher was not easily used or explained.
Location: center of town. very nice hotel.
Literally the only thing worth looking at in this city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Downtown Rapid City, close to shopping/dinning.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Roof bar, ambiance. Nice coffee shop with friendly staff.
Cons: Check in
Location: Great boutiques and dinning, presidents sculptures and great bookstore.
Desk clerks need training. You stand and wait while they take reservations instead of taking a message and calling back. Very annoying! Free drinks for roof bar and great views add to experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teresa from G

Fun area, right downtown

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I liked the hotel, right in the middle of downtown and all kinda of activity. However, the plumbing has issues. The toilets needed to be flushed 4 times and the hot water was unreliable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: downtown location.
Cons: staff at ck in & out not friendly at all. was told could not get reciept of stay because booked online, which is un heard of.No safe place to walk dog
Location: Like that it was located downtown for walking to nearby shops and eating.
Check in the girl was not friendly at all. the room was smaller than expected but clean. cleaning staff very nice and friendly. No good place that safe to walk dog at night. check out girl was not friendly, waited quite some time before accknowledged. then was told could not get reciept because booked online, never heard of. Other than staff at desk stay was pleasing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Giovanni from Colorado

Reasonably priced hotel with some character downto

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Downtown location, charming historic hotel.
Location: Downtown Rapid City was surprisingly charming with quite of few good restaurants and interesting shops nearby.
We spent two days in Rapid City. We’re tired of the same old – same old with the chain hotels, so we thought we’d try a unique historic hotel downtown. After reading the other reviews we were a little concerned regarding the night time noise from the trains and some of the other complaints listed. We decided to give the Alex Johnson a try anyway and found it to be very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by . from Twin Cities

Perfect place for a short stay in Rapid City.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
We met up with friends; great place with character, small clean rooms, with comfortable beds. And a lovely bar upstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lots of history

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: historical, good dining options, great location
Cons: linens, bathrooms, separate elevators for wait staff
Location: centrally located, lots of little shops and eating close
Great place to stay if your are looking for a bit of history. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at all the available dining options was wonderful. The roof top bar is amazing. If I had to suggest a few improvements it would be softer towels, vents in the bathroom in the room, and separate elevators for the restaurant staff as we rode in the elevator with several staff hauling meals to either restaurant or delivering room service. This hotel was overall a great experience for us.