Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel but noisy.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Very clean and great location.
Cons: Noise.
Great clean and well located hotel. But its not quiet. Door lock access cards have binging sound and it echoes through entire floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, staff
Cons: Furniture in the rooms is flimsy and old
Location: The best. Garota de Ipanema (restaurant) is right around the corner.
The best feature of this hotel is the location, and the breakfast every morning. When you are in a great neighborhood, it's hard to make a big mistake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Location was great.
Location is great. 2 short blocks from Ipanema beach and three long blocks to the subway station. Plenty of nice restaurants and bar very near the hotel. Room clean but basic. Staff was helpful and plenty to choose from at breakfast. If you had a noisy neighbor it could be a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from London

Good location but basic

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location for Ipanema beach Breakfast quality and extended timings
Cons: Refurb
Location: great for Ipanema and beach
Reasonable for price and location but room furnishings a bit tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean convenient hotel near ipenema beach

Posted May 20, 2014
The hotel was clean and conveniently located a few blocks from ipenema beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Ipanema is just expensive?

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Great location. You can walk out and have lots of shopping and restaurant options. Although the restaurants I tried also seemed to be overpriced.
Cons: At least explain to your guests the options of using public transit...
Location: Expensive shopping and restaurant, the beach, people watching...
Given the price per night of the hotel, and it's Expedia rating, I was somewhat surprised by the quality of the rooms which I would say is more congruent with low-end 3-star hotels. I think I expected something similar in an expensive city like Venice, but I clearly underestimated how much it costs to stay in Ipanema? Hotel staff were generally helpful but when I first arrived, they tried to sell me some local tours, all costing more than 150 reals. The hotel is conveniently located by the subway station and there are lots of buses that run through Ipanema. All you need is Google Maps to use the bus or the subway to get to wear you need to go for 3-4 reals. I think that's a major selling point of the hotel and the staff should have mentioned that option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic tired looking hotel but good location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: location and breakfast
Cons: everything else
The location of this hotel is very good, only a couple of blocks from the beach, safe and close to bars and restaurants of Ipanema. However, the hotel itself does not have much to offer, other than the breakfast which was quite good (tropical fruit, yoghurt, bread, cakes, bacon and eggs). Bad points of the hotel are as follows: the bed in our room was very soft and not supportive, the wifi connection worked but annoyingly you had to log in each time even if you had only stopped browsing for a few seconds, the air con units are very noisy, the shower pressure was weak and did not adjust to a proper temperature easily (it was either scalding hot or too cold), the toilet flush did not work well and the sink was not attached to the wall properly. The walls of our room were very thin so you hear people coming and going all the time. There was also an unpleasantly strong smell of lemon cleaning fluid when you entered the hotel that made me feel nauseous each time. I also do not recommend getting taxis to the airport from the hotel (or any other hotel in Brazil) as they are 40% more than the fee charged by a taxi you can hail down on the road. We stayed in the Atlantis Copacabana for three days prior to this hotel and although the location was worse we found it to be a better in every other way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by al from l

Nice hotel

Posted May 2, 2014
Overall a nice hotel and great location. We were given a room which was next to air conditioners which was quite loud without a view of anything nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was okay. The staff were friendly, but my basic room had two twin beds, rather than the single double bed I'd reserved and the air conditioning wasn't working. It was not a comfortable place to get any work done in the evening, which was unfortunate for a business trip. Breakfast was acceptable and the location was only a few blocks from the beach, so I'd definitely consider it for a vacation where I didn't plan to spend much time in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S_gafi from Montreal, QC

Nice clean hotel close to beach restaurants & more

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was clean, comfortable and the staff was very helpful and resourceful. It was also very close to the beach and many local restaurants.
Location: There are a number of shops and good quality restaurants nearby, some more affordable than others. The beach is just about 5 minutes away.
The hotel is very decent, clean and meets all basic needs. Breakfast buffet was provided with a great variety of options. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and resourceful. The hotel location is great, 5 minutes away from the Ipanema beach and at walking distance from a great variety of different restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it. It is also right between Copacabana and Leblon, which allows for a very pleasant walk to visit different areas.