Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Very very dirty

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Your feet get black from walking on the carpet. The bathroom was dirty around toilet and the shower I cleaned with shampoo
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Super 8 for your recent stay in Lancaster. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. And hope you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. We strive hard to make our guest stays as pleasant as possible and we are working on getting the issue resolved as we speak. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kindly! Jeanette Wright
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meme

Nice Hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
There were Roaches outside the room door. Than again it was 1 am in the morning. But no roaches inside. Overall experience was fine. The Breakfast there is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Super 8 for you recent stay in Lancaster. We are sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant,we strive hard to make our guest stays as pleasant as possible and we are working on getting the issue resolved as we speak. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kindly! Jeanette Wright
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night and dissatisfied.

Posted May 25, 2014
Price was entirely too high for the quality of the room and hotel in general. Our nonsmoking room smelled like smoke and the air condition did not work. The cleanliness was questionable and beds were uncomfortable. Even to "make do" for one night it was disappointing. We will not stay here again. Pictures online make this appear to be a nice place to stay and we were very disappointed with the actual facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Super 8 for you recent stay in Lancaster. We are sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant,we strive hard to make our guest stays as pleasant as possible. I do hope that you made the front desk aware of the problem so we can get this problem resolved. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kindly! Jeanette Wright
3 out of 5
by Sherry from Florida

Close to everything

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: close to where I needed to be. Multiple food places nearby
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom. Better breakfast choices
Upon checking in I was informed that they only had a smoking room for me as Expedia made a mistake and should not have booked my non smoking room. I asked what else was available and was told there was a non smoking king suit. The clerk called her manager at home to upgrade me to the non smoking room at their expense. I informed her that I either wanted a refund or I wanted the King suite at the same price. The room was big and ok. bathroom was not as clean as it should have been. Hair on floor and in bathtub. Breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by laura from Myrtle beach

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great. The only problem was the wifi did not pick up very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Crystal, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for staying here at Super 8 in Lancaster,SC with us and we are sorry to hear you had a issue with the wifi and we are looking into the problem to try and figure out why the wifi is not working properly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Hazel from Lloyd

Lancaster S.C. Super8 Ok, could have been better

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quality of service was good however there were a few problems with my room. The coffee maker did not work and the microwave did not work, could not get either to work. The wireless connection was so slow as to be useless, I did all my work over my smart phone. Bottom line, please upgrade the amenities in the room to get a better rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2014 by Crystal, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for staying at Super 8 in Lancaster, SC with us, We are sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant stay with us and hope when you checked out you let the front desk know the issues you had in the room so they could check into it. We are looking into the wifi problem. Have a nice day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Laura from Florida

Nice, but too far from highway!

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was comfortable. Outdated bathroom and furniture. Staff was friendly. When I booked the room I had no idea it was so far from the highway. It was too far out of the way, but I had prepaid so we didn't want to lose the money. Everything was what I expected for the great price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by P & C from Stanhope, NJ

Good hotel stay

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased with our stay overall. The mattress was not as comfortable as we would like, but otherwise we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Great
1 out of 5
Recommended
by yolanda regid from bronx ny

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room needs to be more luxury. ...