Ratings based on 1,695 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
My wife and I had a little alone time, and our stay at El Tropicano was just right. We searched around for other hotels But liked the history that this hotel had. We recommend this hotel. The bar was also excellent. And not that far from the Alamo. We used this distance to walk and see more of San Antonio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso

Near the riverwalk, felt like set to scarface

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel was average but handled a huge karate tournament well. Great experience for the kids. Staff was courteous and friendly. Could use some updating though. 3/5 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel, small rooms, quaint & quiet.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Came for the Riverwalk. Thought the hotel was closer to central area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Old and very smelly room , need to improve A/C systems , kind a far from fun part of river walk. Old and very smelly room , need to improve A/C systems , kind a far from fun part of river walk. Old and very smelly room , need to improve A/C systems , kind a far from fun part of river walk. Old and very smelly room , need to improve A/C systems , kind a far from fun part of river walk. Old and very smelly room , need to improve A/C systems , kind a far from fun part of river walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Hotel on the riverwalk

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel had nice accomodation for breakfast. The tiki bar on the riverwalk was a plus
Cons: My reservation request and the maintenance. Would like to try this experience again with better accomodation. A free night would be nice to try again.
Location: Riverwalk is nice, Trolly cars to catch down town, and Sea World was near by.
I was moved to 3 different rooms within 30 minutes of my arrival. Being exhausted and ready to relax made this a terrible beginning of a vacation. First room the door lock was broken. Second room was not compatible to the first room. I had requested a balcony. Third room was on the fifth floor next to the elevator, ice machine, that was very noisey. The balcony was on the roof with nothing but air condition units for scenary. The telephone did not work. Even after maintenance came in to fix it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Not worth the money

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Loud housekeeping and no hot water in the morning. The floor we got stuck on looked poor and run down. Probably because we chose the "pay at hotel" option instead of paying in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

excelent hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The staff was particularly pleasant , cordial, and friendly
Cons: nothing.
Location: walkin to dining facilities and shopping areas.
terrific location by the river walk. Pleasant dining area. Excellent swimming pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missouri

Pool

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Would be nice if they had a cabana to buy drinks and snacks poolside. Other than that, the pool area is nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

70's Style, in a Good Way

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Nice Hotel right on the Riverwalk. Cool 1970's Style Decor. A little walk to the Restaurants down the Riverwalk, but not to bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Relaxing tropicalesque mini getaway

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Affordable for a great experience. Pool is beautiful at night with the firepit lit up. The view from our room was awesome. Staff was excellent. The only complaints I'd have was that there were too many kids for my liking to swim in the pool. They were screaming and running everywhere.. AND the pool closed way too early. Keep in mind too, parking is a bit pricey. Nonetheless, I would definitely come back despite all this. :)