Ratings based on 1,244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was a great stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
the room was clean, nothing was wrong. it was beautiful inside and out. I love the old feeling of it. bartender was real nice! we enjoyed the stay. we liked the nice walk to the busy part of riverwalk. we will be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waco TX

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It is a nice clean average hotel.
Cons: See comments in Experience.
Location: San Antonio Riverwalk
The El Tropicano is a nice clean hotel staffed with very professional and friendly people. The two complaints I have are: Early Saturday morning the outdoor music started playing loud which made it impossible to sleep any later. Also, we were not made aware of the additional $18.00 per day parking fee until after we had made a non-cancellable reservation. No wonder the rate looked more attractive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great atmosphere

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The Pool, Tiki bar, hotel staff was very nice
Cons: More WINE choices and better signs for room numbers.. room was hard to locate we kept going in circles to a dead end.. boo!
Really Pleasant, so glad we were allowed to check in early and hit up the pool..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Great hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great hotel we enjoyed the city. The hotel overall was great the beds slept really good the buffy breakfast was great for a great price. This k you for making our stay GREAT!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Not worth the price!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Valet Staff Excellent!! The rest of the hotel was horrible. Horrible smell in hallways and elevators. Unclean room and had to practically beg for towels and amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Very loud hotel!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Room smelled like dirty feet! Kids running up and down the halls, people slamming doors, no upgrades available, the birds we're cute in the lobby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lubbock, tx

Great Experience

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This hotel was wonderful and we will definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Okay. Near enough to River-walk

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of staff
Cons: The check in time was too late for my schedule, and I think an aspect that can be improved is the draining system in the bathroom, it was a bit rough.
Location: 1 mile or so from The Alamo, close by the river walk with all the restaurants, tours and art museums.
Overall my experience was okay, the service was like advertised. Not the most luxurious but definitely comfortable, with plenty of amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacations

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I like the location and especially the pool. Would of preferred the pool to close at a later time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so nice.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
It wasn't as nice as it seemed. The hotel was pretty old and the hotel employees did not accommodate me. There was never anyone there for the valet parking. It was so far away from restaurants. Not worth staying in.