Ratings based on 1,074 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In mission bay but not in a nice part of it

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Some parts of the hotel looked nice but some parts were clearly a bit older. I like "charming" and "vintage" but you could tell some areas of the hotel were just older. The elevators smelled weird and part of the room was clearly a bit old. The toilet and faucet were half broken in our room and the entry way of the room looked a bit dated. I'll admit that once your in the part of the room with the beds and tv, it was more updated but I didn't enjoy the location of this hotel. It was "near" the beach part of the bay, however it is the most eastern part of the bay and right next to the freeway. I wouldn't recommend this hotel but that's because it's considered a "4-star" hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Room was dusty , curtains were teared , self parking was very expensive , they charged us for microwave even it wasn't mentioned when we booked the room ,public beach not private
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton

Room not ready

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: It was available during a big tradeshow
Cons: Front desk staff could use some coaching.
4:45pm checkin, get to room and maintenance is working on unclogging the tub. nice guy but still. 20 minutes later and he's done, bathroom is a bit of mess.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Hotel is Average...

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The location is right on the bay and right in the Tecolote shores area, which is beautiful. The pool was great and really nice.
Cons: Staff were ok, could've explained charges better. Rooms could use a microwave. Fees are outrageous.
Location: The location on the bay is nice. Attractions are not within walking distance. Lots to do within a 10 minute drive any direction if you have a car.
The rates for this hotel indicate high quality, but our stay overall was average. The prices look low but with $24.75/day in 'resort fees' to cover use of the internet, pool and fitness center (who charges extra for those??) and an additional $35/day for parking, it becomes quite expensive quite fast. They also held $100/night for incidentals, but did not really say what the holding charge was for initially. Staff was ok. There is also a fee for in-room delivery. Our room did not have a microwave, which definitely would have improved our stay (lots of leftovers).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Hotel Needs updating

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The location on the bay is very nice and views are great.
Cons: The service in the restaurant was very slow, we waited for 10 mnnutes after we were seated for breakfast before the server arrived. At lunch the same.
Location: Sea World, Balboa Zoo, Old Town Restaurants
Have stayed at this hotel previously, the location is very good, the room we were placed in was in dis repair. The lighting was very dark and the ceiling had a hole in it. I would say that the room and furnishings have not been updated for several years, same as when we stayed there a couple of years ago. Parking rates have increased and I don't understand why self parking would be $35.00 per day. You can park in New York City for $35.00 per day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay, but lots of hidden charges

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The bed
Parking was $35 a night which they didn't tell us beforehand, however, they didn't really enforce it. The hotel bed was comfortable, it was a nice dark room. The staff were ok. If you wanted to take the shuttle it was as expensive as a cab to go anywhere. There was no where to walk to for food or anything so if you want to go anywhere you must drive, take cab, or shuttle. Hotel food was soso.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Bad smell at enterence of hotel like waste Pay 35 dollars parking a night witch is not right Also a 22 dollar a night charge for amenities not worth it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Very nice hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Pool, bayview, shuttle service, and room.
Cons: The food. Its fine dining only and massively expensive. No standard food options like fingers, wings, hamburgers, etc.
Location: Location is nice and surrounded by a bay and parks. However, its not near anything, so your not within walking distance of any restaurants.
The hotel itself including the room was extremely nice. My family and I were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very nice and helpful and the view was pretty nice as well. Overall we really didn't have any problems with the hotel or the staff. The shuttle was free to and from Sea World. Anywhere else it was a small charge, usually cheaper than a taxi and much more comfortable to take. And the fact that it sat right next to the bay was nice, as was the pool. The only reason I gave this hotel a 4 star review was due to our only issue. Which was the lack of dining options at and within the vicinity of the hotel. The options were limited to say the least. We were really left paying a ton of money to eat in their restaurant which was almost as much as 2 nights at the hotel. Because we flew in and had no transportation we were left with the options to eat there, pay a hefty amount for a taxi, to and from, or try and find somewhere that delivered. We opted for the delivery option one of the nights. But were more or less forced to eat at their restaurant the other 2 nights. It would have been nice if they had a grille that offered the basic, simple, finger foods and options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel with boardwalk and beach

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Location and amenities
Location: Near Mission Beaches and SeaWorld. 10 minutes from downtown
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place that has a pool, firepits, beach and boardwalk. Excellent accomodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kamloops, BC

Hidden fees and spiders

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: No surprise fees, simple cleanliness, and upkeep
At check-in, we were informed that we would be responsible for a $22.00 per day fee to use their Internet, swimming pool, hot tub etc. This was non-negotiable, as it was hotel policy. We also had to pay $35.00 per night to park our rental car. Our room stunk to high heaven and was filthy, and they would not switch us to a cleaner room. It smelled like mould and bug spray. But the bug spray did not work, as there were spiders in the room. Hotel staff was indifferent to our simple concerns.