Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Francisco from Costa Rica

Regular hotel - nothing extraordinary - rude staff

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Comply with room type and description reservation.
I have stayed in this property several occasions in the last 6 years. This hotel, is not really focused in retaining their good staff, and the constant change of personnel in critical areas such as front desk and reservation is obvious that it is not receiving the appropriate attention and care. This last occasion, I have reserved a queen bed, request which was overlooked and no options were offered.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Rude front desk and hidden fees!

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I arrived 40 mionutes before check-in and was told I could pay for half of my room rate to check in early? I can understand hours before ckeck-in, but less than an hour? I waited until 1050 and tried agian and insisted I be allowed to check-in. The room safe was not so safe. First, the front desk wants to know if you are going to be using the safe and has you sign a form indicating yes or no. I indicated yes and while I was able to put my things in the safe, I was not able to get them out! I had to call the front desk each and everytime I wanted into my safe and had to wait for someone to unlock it. Did I mention that the room service doesnt speak english, thier response to a room service order was to hang up on me! The location was good, but that was it for this Not So Golden Tulip location! This hotel is 2 Star at best, dont be fooled!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bill from Scottsdale, AZ

Good hotel for business travelers

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice, clean & comfortable hotel. Great breakfast buffet included.
1 out of 5
by Pablo from ARGENTINA

Dirty carpets high priice!

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Cleanless
Location: Good
Sao Paulo it is a big City with a lot of hotel options. This is one of the worst I have Everest been. Carpets every floor are dirty and the prive does not match the bad quality of the hotel. Thankfully I had a show in town and I día not spent to much there. Keep Away from this hotel next timé in Sao.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Simon

Not a great place

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Overall a disappointing stay. The rooms are tired and the beds very uncomfortable. The location is great ... but then that is the best i can say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Miguel

A good hotel in a good neighbourhood albeit pricey

Posted Apr 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in this hotel many times before. I like the location and the rooms are spacious. Recently the rooms went through some redecoration (Carpets, tvs). Finally, they make the Internet freely available (before you had to pay!). I stay at this hotel because it is usually for a 1-2 nights. As it is quite expensive for a 3 star hotel, I would look for an alternative if I was going to stay for longer periods in São Paulo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for a business trip..

Posted Mar 28, 2012
The neighborhood where the property is located is not really close to Ave. Paulista (taxi) but otherwise it was quiet and peaceful experience. While I speak Portuguese, I found the staff to be uninterested in their clients. Breakfast was the same every day (wet runny eggs) and vienna sausage were their only hot items. Breads/Fruit and juices were plentiful. No real lobby area to lounge in. Adjacent was a bar with table / chairs and the occasional Soccer match. All in all the property was maintained for a 3* location and yes I would stay at Golden Tulip, but probably their other property on Frei Caneca street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing

Posted Mar 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Honestly, I was quite underwhelmed by this hotel, it's not at all as it's advertised. I was traveling on business and reserved a room with a queen bed to ensure a quality night s sleep after a long flight. I took special note of the line about an iron available on request, as it was important to press my suit before a long day of meetings. I was given a room with a twin bed on a floor under construction. The AC unit was broken, stuck on 18 degrees. I had to alternate between freezing, then turning it off and broiling. Housekeeping failed to emtpy the trash and replace towels throughout my stay, but succeeded at parking their cart sideways in the hall to block access from my room. The iron? They had none, and didn't expect to find any. At least they knew a place where I could buy one. (If you get a cheap all-white iron with no steam, you can thank me, I left it behind for you...) Trying to iron a dress shirt on a towel on a round table is not so easy. The breakfast staff is completely overwhelmed, 2 of my 3 nights I had to sit at a table with someone else's dirty dishes, and hope that the silverware I was using wasn't used by those people as well. Clearly, management is more interested in cutting labor costs than in providing a sanitary dining room experience. I wonder what happened behind the kitchen doors? It wasn't a problem, but the minibar food is also quite indicative of how much this hotel actually cares about its' guests. The minibar snack selection consisted of a pack of gum, a sample sized candy bar, and a collection of three foil wrapped chocolates. Beware all the positive reviews here, it was not my experience at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I have had much better for Less

Posted Feb 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel Room was relatively clean. Had to request someone to clean up in the bathroom when I arrived, There was a pungent smell (which lingered on throughout the entire 5 days). Room was very dated and poorly lit and so was the hallway which also smelt horrible. There was rennovations being done on the hotel at 8:00AM!!! WAS RUDELY AWAKEN BY THE HAMMERING SOUND OF DRILLING AT 8:00AM into the walls which seemed to come from the very next room! I cannot understand why this hotel was advertised as free internet for the duration of the stay. When I arrived I had to pay for this service which cost 15reais per day for TERRIBLY CONNECTION that kept dropping every few minutes. Food was oK; Needs to have more variety. Service was ok, Asked for some additional pillows and did not receive them. Approx a 1 km steep uphill walk to Ave. Paulista, uphill. apporx 15 to 20 min walk. NOT WORTH THE PRICE.