Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Not as nice as I had hoped

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The restaurant and location.
Cons: The quality of the room. The furnishings are nice and the bed was comfy. However there is a mold issue that needs to be addressed.
Location: The location is great. Close walking distance to most of Historic Savannnah's features.
When I arrived the staff was flustered. There was no one available to help me with my luggage immediately. When I went to my room it was very stuffy and smelled of mildew. After the first night my eyes were itching from the mold/mildew. When I got home my bags and clothes smelled like the room... It was gross. However the restaurant was nice and the food and waitstaff were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lagrange GA

Weekend Getaway.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Took my girlfriend for her first visit to Savannah. And knowing that she's loves old buildings and my previous knowledge of savannah and the 1790 inn. I knew she would love it!! And I was right!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Nice old hotel - lots of character

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Spent one night. Had great room with courtyard and parking just outside the door. Would return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old is fine, but....

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location, nice breakfast
Cons: Humidity problems
Location: Lots! We love Savannah! It was our 4th time there, enjoy the food, the antique shops, walking along the river and just exploring!
Great location, very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. A little weird with tour groups constantly going by all day and night pointing at the Inn were the ghost lives! Whatever. Reasonably clean, a/c worked on a 100 degree weekend. Problem was humidity! Room felt damp and humid all weekend. So much that everything was sticky and damp when we left. When I got home and unpacked, I could smell the room on my clothes....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
wonderful stay in historic downtown district of Savannah close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring Hill, FL

Really pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything except the narrow stairs. The outside afterhours entrance is much easier to use. We were on the 2nd floor and apparently there is a 3rd?
Cons: They cannot change this place as it's historically correct.
Location: I found it hard to figure out where things are in Savanna. Needed a better city map. This Hotel is at the corner of Lincoln and President streets.
Right near many walking sights. Including the riverwalk. Beautifully restored 1800's structure among lovely area buildings. This is a Class Act. They thought of everything and even gave us two free drinks at the bar before dinner. The Restaurant is top shelf. Don't miss out on that either. Room was large and beautifully period piece decorated. Even had hidden fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Excellent location - helpful staff - loved it!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: My only complaint was the lighting was too dim in the bathroom (room107).
We loved the city and the location of this inn. It was reasonably priced and we enjoyed using the side entrance. Everyone was friendly and we had drinks in the lounge several times. I have already recommended this place to a friend!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bexhill-on-Sea, UK

Genuine antique hotel in wonderful location

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Genuine pre-civil war building. Personal guest access, through side door. Friendly and very helpful Staff. Spacious room
Location: Very central to downtown Savannah. We were able to walk everywhere within the city limits.
Considering the building dates to 1790, the room we had with en-suite was very spacious and well-furnished. All Staff were welcoming despite our arrival in the middle of the busy lunch-time for the restaurant. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate for us, and we enjoyed the complimentary first, free drink at the bar. The restaurant was quite expensive but the food was superb and the place is extremely popular. Very central location, a stone's throw from Owens-Thomas House and two blocks from the interesting Colonial Cemetery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Great Inn first class staff.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at a great Inn it is a little run down but what do you expect when it is a Historic Savannah Landmark. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was a little pricey but quality and quantity was exceptional. Can't wait to head back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Very nice. Great location.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Great bed
Cons: Better parking
Location: Lots of tours. Trolleys come by every 20 min.
Staff was very nice. Great food. Only downfall is we stayed on 3rd floor with no elevators and narrow staircase. Overall great place to stay!!