Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Paul from Quebec City, QC, Canada

Wasted money !

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All
Location: The only thing that is good
Don't go there ! Really expensive for what you have a room in a bunker. No free internet. Hot shower for 10 minutes et bad staff. They profit tobe the only hotel near the skaftafell park. It's a really waste of money !!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by suea from Australia

Basic hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were in a room out the back separate to the main building. The room was clean but very small. The rooms in the main building may be larger but we didn't see them so not sure. Heating was with oil heaters, one in the bathroom and one in the main room which were quite efficient. The windows could be opened to let in some fresh air. The bathroom was also very small and the hot water ran out after one shower. We could not get internet access in our room as it was out the back and windy. The best part about this hotel is the restaurant. Buffet breakfast was OK but the dinner here was great. The food is delicious and creatively prepared and the staff were very friendly and efficient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view, poor quality hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The cost considering facilities and quality of food and accommodation.
Location: Fantastic mountain views and right near glacier.
This hotel has one thing going for it, the location, its fantastic. Unfortunately its the only hotel in the area. As there is no competition the prices are high for what you get. Paid for a superior double room. Got a twin in a shack at the back with a great view. When I questioned it apparantly a double is sold even though it might be a twin at this hotel. I would possibly go back although I would seriously consider camping instead. Compared to other places we stayed this was way overpriced in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Edmonton Canada

Clean but dated

Posted May 29, 2013
Clean but very dated rooms. Disappointing in their claim of "view of glacier" we could see the glacier but we also looked into about 15 other hotel windows. Good breakfast buffet and of course the proximity to the glacier was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anita from Virginia Beach,VA

Nice area to visit

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: The restaurant and the location.
Cons: Need blackout curtains!
Location: Great for visiting the park, glacier, and glacier lagoon.
This hotel is Icelandic sparse, but clean and comfortable. I only wish the curtains were more light proof since it is daylight almost all night! The restaurant was surprisingly fantastic! We stayed there 2 nights and had the lamb one night and the fish the other and both were excellent. That was good since the only dining choices in the area are here and the gas station across the street! You could do one night here and keep on moving. We did an afternoon glacier hike (guided) and the next day drove to the glacier lagoon and then to Hofn (not really worth the drive to see...).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joel from Bloomington, Indiana

Simple but charming

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fosshotel Skaftafell sits in the shadow of a mountainous glacier off Highway 1. What it lacks in elegance, it makes up for in charm and friendliness. The food is good, the staff is helpful. The rooms are a bit small, and the layout feels a little confining. But overall, it's a good place to stay as you tour the southern section--and it's across the street from a 24-hour gas station. Always a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mike from New York, NY

Perfect for Skaftafell National Park, N Lights

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff is awesome but other than that nothing special. They are courteous, friendly, and accommodating. The option to get a wake up call if the Northern Lights appear made it worth what seemed like a steep price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by james from north hollywood

Fosshotel Skaftafell

Posted Mar 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very close to outdoor activities. Hotel provided basic amenities and a wake up call for seeing the northern lights. Hotel restaurant required reservations, but was never really full. Breakfast and dinner were good, but dinner was expensive. I would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by smi

Nice but not great

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I got separate beds, most of their rooms seem to have those. The location is very remote with just a petrol pump in front of it and nothing else but nature around. It is very scenic and only a handful of people around. The breakfast was quite good. Overall the stay was alright - nothing especially great or bad.