Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MW from Washington DC

Fourt day weekend R&R

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: The restaurants were very expensive and there was no alternative -- convenience store, snack shop, etc.
Location: Other beaches, islands, fishing, snorkeling, shopping, diving, etc.
From the moment I stepped out of my taxi on arrival to the moment I stepped in to my taxi to leave, Ritz Carlton St. Thomas exceeded my every expectation. The facilities are beautiful as one would expect at any Ritz Carlton resort property, but also impeccably maintained with with no detail overlooked. My room was upgraded from garden view to ocean front, it was very nicely appointed, comfortable and very clean. Every member of the staff that I encountered was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The spa was fabulous, the tennis courts pristine, the pools and beach very clean (and there were more than enough beach chairs!!), the water sports facility had ample boats, etc for rental, and the restaurants were excellent. The hotel has it's own catamaran that is available for rental and also offers sunset cruises daily. This was one of the best resort vacation experiences I have had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Wonderful staff! Perfect weather

Posted Mar 2, 2014
2nd visit. We will probably always come back! 1st class hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff were terrible!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
At arrival, room was not ready. And no place to change! Daily, it was a challenge to have the room cleaned. Restaurants staff did not know the menu. The island was great but the hotel resort was aweful!!! Ritz Carlton St Thomas was not 5 stars!! Terrible experience!
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and the service deficiencies you experienced while a guest at our property. I was very disappointed to learn that our service and our facility are not to normal Ritz-Carlton standards. I appreciate the fact that you brought this to my attention and I sincerely apologize on behalf of our entire staff for the inconvenience and disappointment we have caused you. Obviously, we fell short of fulfilling your expectations, as well as our own. I assure you that the litany of circumstances you encountered is not indicative of the service and attention that we strive to provide our guests. Our mission was for you to enjoy a flawless and memorable stay. Please rest assured that we will use your comments constructively and in the spirit of continuous improvement. We hope that we will regain your trust and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas in the future. Sincerely Bernd Kuhlen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Texas

Wonderful setting, but pricey.

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: The setting and comfort.
Cons: More waitstaff.
Had a great stay, a few times they seemed a bit short staffed. Fantastic setting, Great Bay is fabulous. The downside is the hotel is overpriced. The prices are commensurate with Hawaii, and they should be more in line with Mexico.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Room Service and in room dining

Posted Feb 5, 2014
The room service food was extremely slow. Once they told us the food would be there in 30 minutes. At an hour they called and said it would be there in five minutes - it showed up in fifteen minutes - a total of 75 minutes. Because they include the gratuity and a room service charge you pay the tip whether the food is slow or the service terrible. They did not clean the room effectively every day. One time they had not cleaned the room by 4:30 pm and when they did come they did not give new glasses, did not empty the trash cans and did not wipe off the bathroom. The fitness facility is great and the beach is excellent. The food is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by e from boston

One of the nicest I have ever been to.

Posted Nov 16, 2013
One of the nicest places I have been to. I have been to most of the Carribean islands . It is similar to la Semanna in st Martin but bigger, more restaurants and the food was better here. Although it didn't matter the stores which were in the hotel didn't measure up. There were only 3 and very weak. Could have been an ice cream shop up there would have made an improvement but that is nitpicking bc the property, facilities, setting, beaches are spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from Atlanta

Superb!

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, attention to the small details
Cons: The chicken soup ordered from in-room dining. It was horrible.
Location: St. John is close, which is nice.
Always a great stay at the Ritz! The St. Thomas location is no exception. Warm staff and gorgeous scenery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com