Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from New Jersey

Beautiful setting

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The setting and location
Cons: The fact we had not had our room cleaned by 4 PM was annoying
Location: All of Taos is readily available
This is a beautiful resort with a helpful and pleasant staff. We enjoyed a relaxed and enjoyable time. It can be a romantic getaway or a family vacation for sightseeing or skiing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Duncanville

A great place to relax during vacation.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: I loved the cleanliness and decorations. It had a feel of home. I also like the spa treatments that were offered.
Cons: TV had some channels that were blurry. Would have liked a DVD player. Mentioning the paid parking and shuttle bus would have been nice on internet.
Location: Not too close to the town, so that the hotel was in a quiet environment, but close enough to walk to the center of town.
The experience I had was relaxing. I loved the garden that was near the pool and in the dining room. All the staff was courteous and pleasant, especially the on that attended the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BG from Santa Fe

Very Nice Stay

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got tired of awful Taos hotels and decided to upgrade. I enjoyed everything about this hotel, except the nickel and diming. The internet advertised valet parking but did not say that you had to pay $20 for all parking--a pretty steep fee when all other hotels have free parking. Similarly, WiFi was $14 a night. Room Service $5 fee plus automatic gratuity. None in themselves outrageous, more the nickel and diming that is outrageous. The business office, including printing, was free, however.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dana from Albuquerque

Wonderful accommodations, but horrible service!

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The accommodations continue to be fabulous. We stay, along with 5 other families, 4-5 times per year and I am always amazed at the horrible service we receive. One of these days, I'm going to stop staying here because it is so frustrating! If they could just get better service, it would be an amazing place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Cons: Charging extra for wifi access is annoying.
We stayed in Taos for a ski vacation 12/31 - 1/03/14. The El Monte was comfortable and convenient. The staff was responsive and helpful. No unpleasant surprises. We did not utilize the dining facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexxx from Lone Star

Stunning facility!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Stellar service, fantastic art throughout and can't say enough about the huge tub, fireplace and view! Great hot stone massage! The negatives: a big thumbs down on $20 a day for parking and some &15 a day for wi-fi! Come on! Also, only 4 stars on food--chicken was dry and hard. It must have led a harsh life. Also, spa is superb but be prepared to fork out some dough! Not crazy about the automatic 20% "tip." Even without it, it can get pretty pricy. Why not just add 20% to the price and let customers decide what to add for good service? We got engaged in our robes in front of the fireplace. It was about 12F outside but inside the heat was on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deonna from Texas

Wonderful!

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had been to their spa before and lived it so I just had to stay there this time. It was exactly what I hoped and the spa was great again too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Denver, CO

Awesome!

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful room and grounds
This hotel was amazing. The staff was welcoming and professional, the room was impeccable, and food was great. I would DEFINITELY stay here again and would recommend this place to everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting property

Posted Dec 23, 2013
The ambiance was wonderful, the people terrific. It was unfortunate that they were having problems with their septic system making it a bit unpleasant. We were shocked to see a $20 a day parking fee added to our bill. We were disappointed that we would be charged to park on the very same property. It left a bad impression with us and as annual visitors to New Mexico we will think twice about staying there again.