Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst ever. Officially.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Never again. Pay 10 quit more and get a normal place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Decent value for the money

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Like the shuttle service to the airport and very reasonably priced compared to the taxi I had to get from the airport to the hotel.
Cons: More difficult as it should be to get a shuttle from Gatwick to the hotel. Calling the hotel was not very helpful..
Location: The location was fine for the airport.
Decent hotel but not as close to Gatwick as I had imagined. The staff was friendly and the condition of the rooms was acceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not as advertised

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Luckily we only stayed one night. The hotel is very dirty and rooms not well maintained or cleaned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal canada

Not a three stars as i expected

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I regreat to have booked this hotel, it was a three stars but the facilities were too old for me No lift for my 40 pds luggage Food was awfull Will never come back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for an airport overnight; nothing more.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Gatwick Airport and facilities on offer for those needing airport transport / parking.
Cons: This is not a resort hotel and would be incredibly disappointing for a family doing more than just waiting for a flight.
The Europa seems to be a bit confused as to what it is. The location close to the motorway and Gatwick Airport is a winner, along with the facility to leave a car for the duration of your vacation. But there are plenty of facilities which point to it being something of a family holiday resort; and that would be incredibly disappointing. Getting to our shabby room involved traversing corridors smelling alternately of swimming pool chlorine and cigarette smoke. And there was precious little once we got in there. Luckily we were just there for an overnight before heading to Gatwick the next morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hungerford

Really Easy To Find

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Staff are great!
Cons: Decor and cleanliness - EVERYWHERE!
Location: not far from Motorway
The hotel is 'well used' it is tired and there is a lot of dust and muck in the lobby and bar area under tables and chairs, so first impressions not great but the staff more than made up for it. For the price, we paid £50 for a night for 2 - it was not bad - room was very clean and comfy, bathroom spotlessly clearn although sink had a crack all the way around it. Restaurant is ok if you do not want to go out and breakfast was fine too - although I have never seen chips on a breakfast buffet before so that was a bit odd! - all in all if you want somewhere not far from the motorway, not too bothered about how it looks and to crash for the night this place is fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

What a disappointment!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. No joke.
Location: There's not much to do in Crawley, it's an airport hotel. Best to drive to Brighton and stay there.
Hard to believe this is a recommended hotel... Even the entry way was dirty! Flickering lights and outdated carpet and furnishings made it look a bit like the Shining. The toilet seat was broken. It costs 10 pence per minute to even call the hotel for any reason. There is a charge to use the pool/hot tub, the pool was freezing cold and the hot tub was broken. The room was filthy and there were dirty linens left in the hallway until the early evening hours. Television was small and had poor reception. The reception staff could not recode keys when they wouldn't work, and were unsympathetic to any of the customers' complaints at the desk (there were lots of complaints). I've stayed in a lot of places in England, this is by far the worst.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Location: Pretty far from downtown London
This was our first trip to Europe and we booked 7 nights at this hotel. We left after 3! Very nice people, but very poor facilities. You have to pay per person every time you want to swim...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: New beds and rooms could do with a lick of paint.
Had a room with a double and 2 singles in, the beds were very uncomfortable, lumpy and felt like they had springs sticking in your back,worst night sleep ever. Other members of our group had a different room and there beds were ok
2 out of 5
by Przemek from Dubai

Does what is says on the tin with a bit of a smell

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff, restaurant, bathrooms, smell, heating.
Location: There Gatwick Airport is just around the corner.
A very busy hotel. The room I've got was old, the loo was a bit smelly - the only solution that the staff could offer was an air freshener :/ Staff in the restaurant upstairs was almost helpful... Room was cold and I was told that the heating has already been switched off for the rest of the year. I was given an extra blanket as the only solution. Despite all that - the location is good - but do make sure you don't pay in advance. Pay when you leave - just to make sure you get a clean and nice room.