Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Needed hotel to visit friends

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Closeness to venue visiting
Cons: Breakfast staff, more alert. Napkins could be larger. Use of plates as saucers, why? Sauce bottles needed cleaning.
Staff friendly, breakfast staff could have been more alert. Didn't take order for food until I asked. When food arrived it was on cold plates. Toast brought before meal. All seemed a little mixed up!! Tops of sauce bottles needed cleaning. Napkins size of a postage stamp. A comfortable nights sleep, but disappointing breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Durham

Convenient stop-over

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfy beds, variety at breakfast.
Cons: Some advance guidance on checking-in, the soap dispenser in bathroom, net curtain or similar at window.
Location: Not staying for entertainment, but close enough to motorway, and plenty of dining choices only a couple of miles away.
My daughter and I needed to break our journey from north to south, staying not too far from main roads, get a good night's sleep and start next day with a hearty breakfast. All this was accomplished at the Midland, where staff are welcoming and helpful. Although attached to a pub, the accommodation is well designed - compact yet comfortable with everything provided, and no noise after 11pm. We probably didn't see it at its best, as the pub is undergoing refurbishment. Very reasonable rates, and the best tea (at breakfast) I've ever had away from home!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient for where I was working

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly
Friendly place but renovation work in progress when I stayed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North east england

Nice good value hotel.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Very accomidating staff who ensured our stay was pleasent. Good beds and clean large room. The rooms and decor are "old style" rather than a shiny modern hotel but i found it charming and it's well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Midland Hotel is a very pleasant stay, the room was lovely we stayed in room 1 it's a little smaller than the others by accounts but perfect for two ppl. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely too. All in all perfect for what we needed for the weekend, would stay there again and recommend thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GTfrom UK

Pub/Hotel with accommodation

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Railway connection and friendly staff
Location: Only stayed one night. Didn't go out as it was a nice, friendly place with good food.
Friendly staff and good food. Unusual but interesting decor in the pub! Great fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Roomy and comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MikeyKaneyfrom Swindon

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Have stayed before and will stay again. Room is very clean and comfy, adjacent pub have a great selection and food and drink. As the rooms are separate for the pub the was no noticeable noise. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
It may not be the cheapest in the area but it is worth every penny. Well worth a stay even if your passing