Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Value, cleanliness and safety
Cons: Have extra coffee and shampoo in the room
Clean and in a safe area. We did have to ask for more coffee and shampoo at the front desk but there was no problem in receiving amount requested. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good room for the price.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Great price.
Cons: The bed pillows are aweful....way too flat.
Location: Easy to find and close to all major area attractions.
I chose the Thunderbird Motel because I was looking for a cheap but decent room to sleep in for one night after enjoying a band at the nereby Pumphouse Bar. The check in was smooth considering it was a young boy (10 or 12) at the desk with his dad nearby. The room was clean and the flat panel TV was nice and had a great selection of TV stations. This is an older family run motel, but it is a great value considering how cheap the room was. Really my only complaint would be the bed pillows. The pillows are really flat and there were no extra pillows in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Skl weekend with family

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in Baraboo for a weekend of skiing at Devil's Head. Hotel was centrally located to the ski resort and Baraboo/the Dells area. Overall the room was clean, comfortable and a great bargain for price. The hotel owner was very helpful and eager for any suggestions to improve his hotel and keep us as customers. Definitely not something typical of a corporate hotel chain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prospect Hts., IL

Good Baraboo location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The room was nice.
Cons: The bedding - the fitted sheet was too small.
Location: Conveniently located to nearby restaurants.
The bathroom was clean and spacious with flat panel TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homer Glen IL

Cheap and Convenient

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Conveniently located, inexpensive
Cons: Higher shower head, make sure to replace towels and shampoo for multi-day stays, didn't see a box of tissues in the room. What is that smell?
Location: There's a bowling alley right next door... if you're into that. I went there cause my usual motel was book for a weekend at Devilshead Ski Resort.
Well, the location is right; near Devilshead, and between Log Cabin and Joses; my favorite restaurants when I go up there. The room was clean, although it had a funky odor.. like the rug had been cleaned or something; not overwhelming. Microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The shower head is made for people 5' ft and under (ok, maybe 5' 5" but if you're 6'3" it hits you about nipple height... if you're a guy), but water pressure is good and flows plenty. The beds were covered with a plastic lined mattress cover, and it crinkles like it's plastic when you lay down on it, but there was enough of a pad over it that it still breathed. We stayed two nights, and the towels did not get replaced and we didn't get a new packet of shampoo.. I'm guessing no one came into the room. Guess I could have asked for more towels and shampoo... didn't care that much. I paid $50 without tax. At that price it's good enough for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice affordable motel close to skiing.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, nice big beds, affordable.
Location: Located just a 10 minute drive from two ski hills - Cascade and Devil's Head.
Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the place for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by soro from slinger wi

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
nice room and Ho-Chunk offers shuttle pick up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: We liked the friendly service and receprtion.
Cons: Larger towels
The hotel is a vintage 50s/60s motor inn. The manager was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and very willing to give directions and other tips. Both the next doo restaurant and the Mexican restaurant done the road were enjoyable. The room was comfortable and smoke free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ankeny, IA

The hotel location was easy to find.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Low price.
Location: Circus World Museum, International Crane Foundation, and Devils Lake State Park are only minutes away.
We chose Thunderbird because it did not offer and charge for frills that we didn't want and wouldn't use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from waukesha

Very convenient to devils lake,and circus museum.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
made reservation for wrong day and staff were very nice about switching days even tho they were practically sold out.only thing is motel is right on very busey street .