Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

All around horrible experience

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Booked hotel thru expedia, by mistake we booked a smoking room. Asked to change rooms, was told they were booked solid. Sure didnt appear that way. Hotel located directly across street from Boone Speedway, which you could hear the loud cars and the PA announcer thru the walls of the hotel, even turning on air conditioner didnt work. Races every Saturday night from Memorial DAy to Labor Day and runs until 1130pm. Bath tub wouldnt drain, missing smoke detector, room reeked of smoke. Breakfast wasnt fit for Fido.. we have done alot of traveling for hockey and college, worst stay ever at a hotel. Will not ever go back...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs, IA

Good Value

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Easy access, quiet and peaceful.
Cons: AC Unit could use updated.
Location: Boone, Iowa. Loads of local charm. Enjoyed riding the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad.
Our room was clean, comfortable and affordable. The room was a surprise as it came with a great television, cable, microwave and refrigerator/freezer. Room was handicap/wheelchair accessible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Not recommended! Unsecure location.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The room itself was well maintained and comfortable.
Cons: Beside those issues noted in the Experience section...the attitude of the staff! Felt like we were imposing on them if we asked for something.
Location: There are several restaurant choices across the street. Also close to a very large city park that is quite nice.
Best part of this hotel was the check-in process. Since we prepaid via Expedia it only took a minute to get our card keys and head for the room. It was puzzling that although the hotel had very low occupancy we were given a room on the third floor; there are no elevators. Neither the front or rear access doors were secure. Their locks were not functioning and remained unlocked and open to the public 24x7. One night upon returning we found a half dozen young men partying in a cozy nook at the back side of the hotel with car stereo blaring and one of them urinating in the corner! The grounds had trash and debris surrounding the building the entire stay. Excess room appliances were stored in the hallways. Apparently no one who works there takes any pride in the hotel's appearance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE Iowa

Getting Run Down

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Price was reasonable, was just looking for a place to crash for the night.
Cons: New paint and Carpet will improve this a lot.
Location: Good location to Boone and Ames.
Hotel needs updating, Kind of the dingy feeling,,, Broken equipment in halls,, AC unit wakes you at night like a diesel engine starting. Beds were comfortable enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Kansas City, Kansas

Good Place to Stay-Convenient

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
This was a typical Super 8 on the edge of town, right off the highway on the main drag. Convenient to restuarants and other amenities and not far from down town and our destination at the Boone and Scenie Railroad. The staff were courteous and professional. The room was clean. No complaints.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ralph from Ny

Hotel mistake

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel sign was hidden by a tree . The covers had hair it and hair was in the shower. The lounge chair and ottoman was stained, looked very nasty and was dirty. On Saturday night there is drag racing across from the hotel and of course it was noisy .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by denise from Illinois

Nice Hotel in good Location!!

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
pleasantly surprised with this Super 8!! Clean and updated. Breakfast was good. -plenty to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by denise from Illinois

Nice place in quiet Iowa town!

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 1 night for our son's ISU graduation. I was pleasantly suprised - quiet hotel, updated decor. Clean bathrooms. Rooms were very adequate. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KCMO

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The price
Cons: I don't know if there is anything that can be done about the smell, short of a complete remodel...new carpet and linens etc.
Location: I had to stay in Boone because everything in Ames was booked. Went to Iowa State for a clinic.
The room was fairly cheap, but I would unfortunately never go back. The entire hotel had an unpleasant smell. The room was comfortable enough, plenty of hot water for a hot shower on a very cold night. The continental breakfast was decent. Staff was pleasant.