Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Louise from Canada

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room and location

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
We haas an exceptionally nice room. It was on one of the top floors with windows on 2 sides with a full city view. We really enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
by Yiquan from Singapore

Good Location but small

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
Good location but the hotel room is very small and the door lock is faulty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, comfortable and clean

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
Located very near the train station. Bus routes around the city are very easy to get used to and all the nearby locations are easy to get to. Hotel was clean with English speaking staff. Good price and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Nigel from England

top floor bar

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
Basic but good , upstairs bar 10th floor good view over Kiel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool, uk

Excellent location. Showing its age.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Located just a short walk from the main rail station (HBH) and bus station, this hotel ideal if youre arriving by train from Hamburg as we did. On arrival (we checked in late which wasn't a problem as I emailed prior to travelling) we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist who showed us to our room on the eigth floor and an almost 360° view of kiel. The room (no minibar) itself was clean and plenty big enough for two people, the wifi in the hotel was very patchy to say the least and sometimes would not connect all. The bathroom but to honest the bathroom was showing its age a bit. The bar/restaurant is located on the 10th floor but I can't comment as we didn't choose to have breakfast included with our room and when I tried to use the bar (21.00 Sunday) it was closed but this seems to be the norm in kiel, it's a very quiet place once the sun goes down. Nitpicking now but the only real complaint I could make about the nordic Astor is the lighting in the stairwell was non existent and walking down from the 8th floor wasn't much fun in the pitch dark. There are two perfectly good elevators so this wont be a problem for most but if you like to use the stairs like I do, it's not ideal. All in all the nordic Astor is a decent hotel and I'd have no problem staying again if I was to ever visit kiel again.
3 out of 5
by Bjorn from Sweden

Downtown Kiel…

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels
This was a good hotel for the price and the location couldn’t be more ”downtown” in Kiel. The rooms had been modernized somewhat, but all the fixed stuff such as heating, doors and windows where original. They were all functioning but it made up for a bit of old feeling. But it was clean, everything was working, and we got a corner room on the 7th floor with a spectacular view. Street was a bit loud and the windows not up to the job keeping it out, but choosing a hotel in the middle of town one should, in my opinion, expect a bit of that. Free Wi-Fi, and a pretty good speed on it too, is a plus and not a given in Europe. I think it should be mandatory, but since it’s not, ASTOR should be recognized for it. Front desk was friendly enough and they gave me no reason to doubt their readiness to help even thou I didn’t utilize it. Breakfast was very good, and if we liked the view in our room the one from the top floor where the breakfast room was topped it. Parking was OK but not great,. The shopping malls and streets of Kiel was literally just out the door and a good assortment of restaurants and cafés in striking distance. In terms of location it couldn’t been better. So summing up, would I stay there again? Yes definitely. Is it on my top-ten list of hotels? Not by a long shot. And the important question, would I recommend it? Yes I would.
5 out of 5
by O. from Aarhus

Verry good service

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect !
3 out of 5
by Dave from UK

Good Location

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
Very pleasant staff and good location in the city center very close to train and bus stations also close to the ferry terminal. Hotel is a little dated but the rooms are clean and well kept. Breakfast was 10 Euros each but there is a good choice. Downside was the wifi, it is free but terrible reception my connection was dropping every 5 minutes so it was impossible to work from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Markus Dickey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels