Ratings based on 1,420 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Rustic hotel up on a hill overlooking the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Rustic hotel up on a hill overlooking the beach. We enjoyed the coziness and fireplace in our room. Behind us was a large field with cows in the hills .in front of us was the coast and harbor. it was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Our stay was lovely: hotel staff was polite and responsive when needed. The location is beautiful and the complimentary breakfast was filling and good deal . The pool and spa were great fun ! We plan to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice but overpriced

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Love closeness to ice machines, checkin was a breeze, complimentary wine, fire logs, breakfast a plus, pretty grounds/landscaping, plenty of parking (they were not busy), location was good. WiFi worked well for us in building 7. Food at the restaurant across the street was just ok, but the sunset view was amazing! Room was clean and comfortable, but no ac and a bit dated. The fireplace was awesome to have. There was a weird beeping for much of the evening. IDK where it came from, but was annoying since you have to open windows for cold air and it was coming from outside so that made it louder to us. Bed and bedding was comfortable and room is spacious. No PPV so could not watch a rented movie and they charge for phone calls...even local ones. We didn’t use pool but looked nice. Overall, a nice experience but a bit overpriced. A good updating would do wonders for this property. Has potential!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Horrendous Experience

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: New manager and maintenance to rooms and pool area.
Our family was evacuated from the devastating fires in Sonoma County. All hotels in the area, north of the Golden Gate, were booked, except for the Inn at the Tides. Boy do I know why!! All of us staying at the hotel were refugees from our homes, and the manager at the Inn could not have been more apathetic; she was rude bordering on hostile. But, of course, the manager is one thing. The rooms had windows that were rusted and wouldn't open. They refused to provide me a breakfast voucher for the 3 people in our 4 person occupancy room. We were told we had coupons for a discount at the accompanying restaurant; restaurant wouldn't honor the coupons. Room had towels for 1/2 of stated occupancy. The pool had no towels so we had to use the limited number of towels from the room at the pool. The pool area was also very moldy and neglected. Finally, when I checked out I commented that the Manager needed sensitivity training and she rushed out from behind the counter charging at me while I held my two year old daughter in my arms. I was shocked and frozen in space as she yelled at me to get out. I still cannot believe it happened! My family had no where else to stay, and the Inn at the Tides profited off of that while providing sub-par accommodations and service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Posted Oct 31, 2017
We were not told about additional offerings of hotel I.e. pool, sauna etc Our view was limited, facing and old building Room ok. Updates were noticed but overall dated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leland, NC

Beautiful views, nice pool

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The location, the views and the history.
Cons: We did have a noisy ice maker outside our room which was a little annoying.
Location: Sites related to the making of the movie 'The Birds' are in the area to visit, there are several good restaurants and shopping.
We stayed here two nights the sunsets were beautiful and dinner was on the property or across the street on the bay. The room was comfortable with easy access to parking and also a patio where we could sit and enjoy a complimentary bottle of wine, a very nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Rooms nice, although walls are thin and upstairs guests were a bother
Cons: Sound proof walls
Location: Great location, decent restaurants nearby.
We stayed at The Tides for a few nights following the fires and everyone was so nice and accommodating to us. We felt like we entered a sanctuary after a terrible experience. They were wonderful and took great care of us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not measure up for the price.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The check-in was great and the view was good. The surroundings were beautiful. The room was clean but the heating did not work. The drains were slow in the bathtub/shower. The bed was very marginal. Even though it was a king bed the bed seemed very old and was not comfortable. WiFi did not work in the room and the staff claimed there was nothing they could do about it. This room was on the lower end of what I would call acceptable and was the most expensive room we had on our entire 10 day trip! I expected so much more for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice room overlooking the bay!

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Nice location
Cons: There was only one window that had a screen. Being able to open another at night would have been better!
Being from the hot mid-west we were surprised that the rooms didn't have A/C! The front desk told us to open our windows and reassured us that as soon as the sun went down it would cool off...a lot! They were right! It was most pleasant shortly after dusk. Our room was nice, overlooking the bay and even had a complimentary bottle of wine on the table. The breakfast was served at the restaurant across the highway where we watched harbor seals swim as we enjoyed our delicious meal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from from Santa Rosa

Always been a pleasure.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The dinner we had at the Bay View was excellent. Very good service and the food was wonderful.
Cons: I hate to have to say cleanliness and maintenance, these should be a giving at a place as nice as this.
Location: A wonderful place on earth.
Very nice place to spend the night. Things have gone down hill a bit from the cleanliness and maintenance point of view however. There was hair in the shower (not ours) and light bulbs were out in the bath room. WiFi was spotty at best and why is the coffee pot in a place with no outlet. For what they charge you'd expect everything to be perfect. Unfortunatly it will be awhile before we stay there again.