Ratings based on 2,740 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice location in midtown.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Only problem I have is some bed bugs and faulty key card for our hotel room. 🙁
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AWESOME

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING! VERY COZY AND FRIENDLY STAFF
THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL!!!! THE HOTEL WAS KEPT VERY CLEAN!! IT IS IN THE MIDDLE OF EVERYTHING AND HAS EASY ACCESS TO A LOT OF PLACES TO VISIT. I WILL RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Convenient for getting around New York

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: They cleaned the room and replaced the towels daily
Cons: Bathroom attached to each room. Or choice!
Location: Near to Lord &Taylor for shopping and Lincoln centre!
This hotel had shared bathroom facilities. There was faeces on the floor of the bathroom on saturday morning when I went to have a shower.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northborough, MA

Cheap Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It was convenient and unpretentious.
The Americana is a very inexpensive, no frills hotel experience. I wish I had done more research before booking it. I was not aware there still were hotels without private bathrooms or a desk even. Boy was I wrong. However, I do not fault the staff or the owners. I do fault Expeience.com for not excluding this hotel from the set they offered me for consideration. Experience knows of dozens of hotels I have stayed at. The software should have prevented me from choosing something so different from my norm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Great location walking distance to major sites

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Even though it was shared bathrooms. There are several bathrooms through out the floor. Conviently there is a sink to wash your hands and face in individual rooms. Location is the beauty of thd place. Hotel is near good resraurants, Times Square and Broadway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton

Convenient hotel in the centre of Manhattan.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Its central location.
Cons: Wi-Fi could be offered for free as part of the room rate.
Location: Close to all the attaractions of central New York.
I selected this hotel because it was the cheapest one I could find in the centre of Manhattan that could offer a single room as opposed to a bed in a shared dormitory. The facilities were basic but quite clean and comfortable. There was no en-suite, but the restroom was just across the passage. The room had air conditioning as well. Being in the centre of Manhattan, there was plenty of background noise, especially the honking of horns which seems to be a feature of New York. Wi-Fi is available, but only if you pay $5.95 a night for it - a better option is to go into one of the many Starbucks, buy a coffee and use their Wi-Fi for free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very old and basic and needed updated , and it was not very clearly stated on the web site that it had a shared bathroom which in this day is unusual
5 out of 5
by Lisa

Great Value, Friendly Staff

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and very affordable. Our room was small but expected. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and bright. The washroom was right outside the room and was very clean. The front desk was very helpful and courteous. We were able to check in early which was a huge bonus! The downside was the noise. We could hear traffic all night- honking, sirens etc. but the location was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solo is primo at this hotel. Best price!

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The room was small, bare necessities. I didn't expect no bathroom in the room. Shared hallway bath/toilet only. There was a sink, towels, tv, a/c in the room. However, it was nice, Very clean, quite . I felt safe. And it was great for an over night. The price cannot be beat! AND bonus, you at prime location for Times Sq. and cheap rate. All you can do here is sleep. Good for solo, or couple. Not good for family with young children.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Just a step above a hostel

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: If you don;t mind the shared bathroom and paying extra for wifi, go for it. The price is low for the location.
Cons: It would be helpful if they mentioned the shared bathroom and wifi charge when I checked in.
I wish I'd read the reviews before booking this hotel. I booked it because I needed an inexpensive place to stay in midtown until my early morning meeting. Which it was. I arrived to find a small room that had a bed, a tv on the wall, and a sink. That's it. And a window that was broken and stuck open, which I had to fix. The bathroom was outside of the room, and was shared with everyone else on the floor, and it was not kept up with. Oh yeah, and wifi is an extra charge. Seriously?? Don't waste your time. Pay a little bit more and you get a real hotel room.