Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

NIce but confusing

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: golf course and location seem fine
Cons: elevator or at least a ramp to 4th floor Gold villas
Location: well located , close to Omaha beach area
I parked and entered the reception with dragging my luggage to later find out I had been upgraded to the golf suites so I had to get back in my car with luggage. The entrance in the back area was not clearly marked. Finally ; I Was not advised that my unsolicited upgrade to the golf villas 4th floor had no elevator (I had 2 pcs of luggage in plain sight) So I had to hand carry my +60lbs of luggage up stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Came to see D-Day memorials

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Great proximity to Omaha and Utah beaches, the US cemetary and other memorials. Also, close to Bayeaux.
The room was clean and the bed was good. Also, shower worked well. However, we encountered three problems: First, there were flies in our room on two occassions. My wife was able to kill them but it was disappointing to find them as soon as we entered the room. Second, also, the people in the room below us must have had their heat turned up as high as possible because, even though we had the temp set at 19 (celcius), our room was so warm that we opened the sliding doors at night. Fortunately, we were on second floor with balcony so having the sliding door open was no problem. Third, we were disappointed in the dining room that served dinner. The salad bar was very good but my pasta was way too rich and my wife's duck was just not that good. However, breakfast was excellent. all three days. Would we stay again at Mercure? Probably but we would avoid the dining room. We chose this hotel because friends, who were with us in another room, had stayed at this hotel several years ago and were happy both this time and the previous time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Adequate for 1 night

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 1 night at this hotel, it was convenient to WWII Memorials and Museums. Pillows could have been better.
4 out of 5
by bruno from leicester

look elsewhere hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
awful and expensive restaurant buffet meal breakfast waiting for coffee machine to be refilled waiting for croissant to be baked waiting for cold milk to arrive dirty table left uncleared
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of London

Really good hotel close to the Landing Beaches

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, very comfortable and good car parking. Easy access to the coast and Landing beaches.
Cons: Minor issue but the plastic cover to the extractor fan over the bath was missing leaving a very unattractive hole in the wall, so attention to detail.
Location: We achieved everything we wanted, visiting Arromance, Pegasus Bridge, St Mere Eglise, Omaha Beach and the American War Cemetery all within easy reach.
I had previously asked for adjoining rooms given the age of the grandchildren but this had not been catered for. However, the Receptionist understood this requirement and on check-in managed to get us rooms virtually together. The hotel was very relaxed and easy for the children with a buffet breakfast and also a swimming pool. We would stay there again. Pity I didn't take my golf clubs as the two courses looked in great condition - perhaps another time!
3 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

It's in the middle of nowhere.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
If you want to play golf it's the place to stay. If you want to see Bayuex and the memorials and beach landings do not stay here. You have to constantly pay for a taxi at a cost of $60 euro return just to go to Bayeux or go on tour. It's not close to anything and it's misleading when they say Omaha beach as that beach is 10 miles away. Staff are very unhelpful and just rude and this is very unusual for regional France.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, North Caroina

Mercure Bayeux Omaha Beach hotel was a great place

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere and appearance. Did not play golf but would have liked to.
Cons: See above concerning receipt.
Location: Did not experience.
While hotel experience was very positive, Expedia experience was not so great.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Uttoxeter, England

Fantastic hotel - ticks all the right boxes!

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
One night stop off en route to our daughter's wedding in Toulouse. Really friendly staff and excellent hotel. Room was so comfortable and relaxing - just what we needed and breakfast the following morning was one of the best I have had abroad. Set us off just right for the next part of our trip. Highly recommended.